Bilateral relations

Political cooperation
On January 2, 1992, the Kingdom of Norway has recognized the state independence of the Republic of Kazakhstan. June 5, 1992 diplomatic relations were established.
On June 21, 2004, the Diplomatic mission of Kazakhstan in Oslo was established. President Nazarbayev’s Decree upgraded the mission’s status to the Embassy of the Republic of Kazakhstan in the Kingdom of Norway in March 2012. Yerkin Akhinzhanov is a current Ambassador of Kazakhstan to Norway. The Ambassador of Norway to Kazakhstan (with residence in Oslo) is Ole Johan Bjørnøy.

The first President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Nursultan Nazarbayev, paid an official visit to Oslo in April 2001. Meetings were held with King Harald V, Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg and Vice President of the Storting Hans Johan Røsjorde. A number of bilateral agreements were signed during the visit, including the Joint Statement on the further development of friendly relations and cooperation between Kazakhstan and Norway. The head of state gave a lecture on Kazakhstan’s foreign policy at the Norwegian Institute for International Affairs (NUPI). He also held a Round table session with participation of Norwegian companies engaged in spheres of oil and gas, telecommunication, shipping, tourism and construction.

Prime Minister of Norway Kjell Magne Bondevik made a visit to Kazakhstan in 2004, and Crown Prince of Kingdom Haakon Magnus visited in 2010. During the ASEM Summit in Brussels in October 2018 President Nursultan Nazarbayev met with Prime Minister of Norway Erna Solberg.

The legal base of bilateral cooperation includes the Convention on avoidance of double taxation and prevention of tax evasion on income and capital, the Agreement on the readmission of citizens and citizens of third countries, Agreement on exemption of visa requirements for holders of diplomatic passports, International Automobile Transportation Agreement and a number of other agreements.

The chairman of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defense of the Norwegian Storting Anniken Huitfeld and a member of the Standing Committee on Energy and Environment Åsmund Aukrust visited Kazakhstan as part of the framework of inter-parliamentary dialogue.

Norway and Kazakhstan are active supporters of non-proliferation and nuclear safety. Both parties hold similar stances regarding global nuclear safety issues. This field unites scientific and academic spheres, civil society of the two countries. Recognizing the special contribution of Kazakhstan to strengthening international security and the nuclear non-proliferation regime, joint analytical studies are being conducted, international events are being held with the participation of NGOs and the general public of Kazakhstan and Norway.

Kazakhstan and Norway make a significant contribution to the cause of non-proliferation and nuclear disarmament, both are key players in the nuclear energy field. Norway is one of contributors of the Project to establish International bank of low-enriched uranium. Initiated in 2006 by the American “Nuclear Threat Initiative” Foundation.

Contributors of the project are USA (49 million USD), EU (25 million Euro), Kuwait (10 million USD) UAE (10 million USD), Norway (5 million USD) and Kazakhstan (400 thousand USD and in facility contributions). Due to the fact that the establishment of a Nuclear Fuel Bank would help strengthen the nuclear non-proliferation regime, enhance the role of the IAEA and the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT), Kazakhstan expressed its support for this project, by placing the International bank of low-enriched uranium on its territory. (In 2011, Kazakhstan applied to the IAEA to place the International bank of low-enriched uranium on its territory. June 11, 2015 the Board of IAEA approved the draft Country Agreement with the Republic of Kazakhstan to place the International bank of low-enriched uranium.) On August 27, 2015, the signing ceremony of the package of agreements between the Republic of Kazakhstan and the IAEA on the establishment of the International bank of low-enriched uranium took place, dated to August 29 - the closing date of the Semipalatinsk testing ground in Kazakhstan.

Trade and economic cooperation

The volume of trade turnover between Kazakhstan and Norway in 2018 was totaling 60,4 million dollars, of which 15,4 million dollars is Kazakh export to Norway and 45 million dollars is Norwegian export to Kazakhstan. Norway supplies fish and fish products to Kazakhstan - 72%, equipment (transportation, generator, office, telecommunications) - 19.7%, silicon dioxide - 6.7%, chemical products (organic and inorganic chemistry, plastic, rubber and metal products) - 1.6%. Kazakhstan exports to Norway by 85.9% consist of grain, cereals and oilseeds of agricultural producers, 6.1% - equipment for various industries, 5.3% - non-ferrous metal, 2.7% - professional and scientific equipment (data provided by State Revenue Committee of the Ministry of National Economy of Kazakhstan).

Since 2015, the Council of the Norwegian-Kazakhstan Chamber of Commerce and Industry (NK CCI) has been operating, headed by the CEO of Nord Development Alexander Khrol. The institute of the Honorary Consul was established, which was aimed at facilitating trade and economic cooperation, attracting small and medium-sized businesses to participate in the implementation of joint investment projects.

As one of the largest exporters of hydrocarbons, Norway is of great interest to Kazakhstan in terms of the development of the oil and gas sector. The experience of Norway was carefully studied upon establishment of the National Fund of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Kazakh oil and gas specialists work and receive qualifications in Norway. Norwegian service companies are involved in servicing the oil and gas industry in Kazakhstan.

The introduction of new technologies in agriculture, the development of transportation and logistics, the sustainable economy, the tourism industry and mass sports are very promising areas for cooperation between the two countries.

Cultural and humanitarian cooperation

In 2002, UNESCO, in cooperation with the Norwegian Trust Foundation implemented a project regarding the management, conservation and presentation of Tamgaly petroglyphs. As a result, petroglyphs were included in the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2004. A joint project “Kurgan DNA” is being implemented to study the hypothesis regarding the ethnographic and cultural ties of the peoples of Kazakhstan and Norway. An analysis of the collected genetic materials confirmed that more than 50% of the Norwegian population on the paternal side have a close genetic connection with those who inhabited the territory of Kazakhstan in ancient times.

King of Norway Harald V highlighted the importance of studying the common history and development of sports during an audience with the Ambassador of Kazakhstan Yerkin Akhinzhanov after the ceremony of presenting credentials in May 2019.

Created at : 6.11.2016, 18:50, Updated at : 30.05.2019, 04:50

О казахстанско-норвежских отношениях

Политическое сотрудничество

2 января 1992 г. Королевство Норвегия признало государственную независимость Республики Казахстан. 5 июня 1992 г. установлены дипломатические отношения.

21 июня 2004 г. учреждена Дипломатическая миссия Казахстана в Осло. В марте 2012 г. Указом Президента Н.Назарбаева Дипломатическая миссия преобразована в Посольство Республики Казахстан в Королевстве Норвегия. С апреля 2019 г. Послом Казахстана в Норвегии является Еркин Ахинжанов. Послом Норвегии в Казахстане (с резиденцией в Осло) является Оле Йохан Бьерной.

Первый Президент Республики Казахстан Нурсултан Назарбаев посетил с официальным визитом Осло в апреле 2001 года. Состоялись встречи с Королем Харальдом V, Премьер-министром Йенсом Столтенбергом и Вице-президентом Стортинга Xансом Росъордом. Подписан ряд двусторонних документов, в том числе, Совместное заявление о дальнейшем развитии дружественных отношений и сотрудничества между Казахстаном и Норвегией. Глава государства прочел лекцию о внешней политике Казахстана в Норвежском институте внешней политики и международных отношений (NUPI). Состоялся Круглый стол с участием норвежских компаний, занятых в областях нефти и газа, телекоммуникаций, судоходства, туризма и строительства.

В Казахстане с визитами побывали Премьер-министр Норвегии Кьелл Бондевик (2004 год) и Крон-Принц Королевства Хаакон Магнус (2010 год). В октябре 2018 года на полях Саммита АСЕМ в Брюсселе состоялась беседа Президента Нурсултана Назарбаева с Премьер-министром Норвегии Эрной Сульберг.

Договорно-правовая база двустороннего сотрудничества включает Конвенцию об избежании двойного налогообложения и предотвращения уклонения от уплаты налогов на доход и капитал, Соглашение о реадмиссии собственных граждан и граждан третьих государств, Соглашение об освобождении владельцев дипломатических паспортов от визовых требований, Соглашение о международных автомобильных перевозках, ряд других документов.

В рамках межпарламентского диалога в 2018 году состоялся визит в Казахстан председателя Постоянного комитета по иностранным делам и обороне норвежского Стортинга Анникен Хютфилд и члена Постоянного комитета по энергетике и окружающей среде Османд Аукрюст.

Казахстан и Норвегия являются активными сторонниками режима нераспространения и ядерной безопасности. Стороны придерживаются схожих позиций по вопросам глобальной ядерной безопасности. Данная сфера объединяет научные и академические круги, гражданское общество двух стран. Признавая особый вклад РК в укрепление международной безопасности и режима ядерного нераспространения, ведутся совместные аналитические исследования, проводятся международные мероприятия c участием НПО и широкой общественности Казахстана и Норвегии.

Казахстан и Норвегия вносят весомый вклад в дело нераспространения и ядерное разоружение, являются важными игроками в области атомной энергетики. Норвегия является одним из доноров Проекта по созданию Международного банка низкообогащенного урана (МБНОУ). (Инициирован в 2006 г. американским Фондом «Инициатива по сокращению ядерной угрозы» (Nuclear Threat Initiative – NTI). Донорами проекта являются: США (49 млн.долл.), ЕС (25 млн.евро), Кувейт (10 млн.долл.), ОАЭ (10 млн.долл.), Норвегия (5 млн.долл.) и Казахстан (400 тыс.долл. и взносы в натуральной форме). Исходя из того, что создание Банка ядерного топлива будет способствовать укреплению режима ядерного нераспространения, повышению роли МАГАТЭ и Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия (ДНЯО), Казахстан выразил свою поддержку данному проекту, разместив МБНОУ на своей территории. (В 2011 г. РК подала заявку в МАГАТЭ на размещение МБНОУ на своей территории. 11 июня 2015 г. Совет управляющих МАГАТЭ одобрил проект странового Соглашения с РК о размещении МБНОУ.) 27 августа 2015 г. состоялась церемония подписания пакета соглашений между РК и МАГАТЭ о создании МБНОУ, приуроченная к 29 августа – дате закрытия Семипалатинского испытательного полигона в Казахстане, с участием норвежской стороны.


Торгово-экономическое сотрудничество

Объем товарооборота между Казахстаном и Норвегией по итогам 2018 года составил 60,4 млн.долл., из которых казахстанский экспорт в Норвегию - 15,4 млн.долл., норвежский импорт в Казахстан – 45 млн.долл.. Норвегия поставляет в Казахстан рыбу и рыбную продукцию - 72%, оборудование (транспортное, генераторное, офисное, телекоммуникационное) - 19,7%, диоксид кремния - 6,7%, товары химической промышленности (органическая и неорганическая химия, пластик, резиновые и металлические изделия) - 1,6%. Казахстанский экспорт в Норвегию на 85,9% состоит из зерновых, злаковых и масличных культур сельхоз товаропроизводителей, 6,1% - оборудование для различных отраслей промышленности, 5,3% - цветной металл, 2,7% - профессиональное и научное оборудование (данные Комитета государственных доходов Министерства национальной экономики Казахстана).

С 2015 года действует Совет Норвежско-казахстанской Торгово-промышленной палаты (НК ТПП) во главе с Генеральным директором компании «Nord Development» Александром Хролем. Учрежден институт Почетного консула, нацеленного на содействие торгово-экономическому взаимодействию, привлечению малого и среднего бизнеса к участию в реализации совместных инвестиционных проектов.

Являясь одним из крупнейших экспортеров углеводородов, Норвегия представляет большой интерес для Казахстана с точки зрения развития нефтегазового сектора. Опыт Норвегии внимательно изучался при создании Национального фонда Республики Казахстан. В Норвегии работают и получают квалификацию казахстанские специалисты нефтегазовой сферы. Норвежские сервисные компании задействованы в обслуживании нефтегазовой отрасли Казахстана.

Внедрение новых технологий в сельском хозяйстве, развитие транспорта и логистики, "зеленой" экономики, индустрии туризма и массового спорта являются весьма перспективными направлениями для сотрудничества двух стран.


Культурно-гуманитарное сотрудничество

В 2002 году ЮНЕСКО совместно с Норвежским трастовым фондом выполнили проект по менеджменту, консервации и презентации петроглифов Тамгалы. В результате, в 2004 году петроглифы были включены в Список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Реализуется совместный проект «Курган ДНК» по исследованию гипотезы об этнографических и культурных связях народов Казахстана и Норвегии. Анализ собранных генетических материалов подтвердил, что более 50% норвежского населения по отцовской линии имеют тесную генетическую связь с нашими предками, населявших в древности территорию Казахстана. 

Важность изучения общей истории и развития спорта выделил Король Норвегии Харальд V в ходе аудиенции с Послом Казахстана Еркином Ахинжановым после церемонии вручения верительных грамот в мае 2019 года.


Images: 

1. President Nursultan Nazarbayev and King Harald V. Oslo, April 2001. Source: Aftenposten / Cornelius Poppe NTB Scanpix

2. President Nursultan Nazarbayev and Prime Minister Erna Solberg. Brussels, October 2018. Embassy archive 

Добавлено : 6.11.2016, 18:50, Изменено : 30.05.2019, 04:50