University College London hosts fifth annual scientific forum on Central Asia

The fifth annual scientific forum on Central Asia, organised by the Kazakhstan PhD Association in the UK, was titled "Collaborative work for a sustainable future". The forum was attended by scientists and teachers, as well as undergraduate students from leading British universities such as University College London, Imperial College London and the universities of Cambridge, Leicester, Edinburgh, Cardiff, Birmingham, Newcastle, Liverpool, Aberdeen and Nottingham. Forum guests also included representatives of Nazarbayev University and the Nazarbayev Intellectual Schools.

In his speech at the opening ceremony, the Ambassador of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the United Kingdom, Erlan Idrissov, noted that the forum on Central Asia has become an interactive platform where Kazakhstan's doctoral students studying in British universities discuss important fundamental and applied issues, and demonstrated the results of their scientific research. The Kazakh diplomat stressed that every year, the Kazakhstan PhD Association in the UK plays an increasingly important role in strengthening close co-operation between scientific and educational institutions of the United Kingdom and Kazakhstan.

At the forum, the Professor of Genetic Evolution and Development at Imperial College London, Arhat Abzhanov, noted the growing potential of the event. According to Professor Abzhanov, the Kazakhstan PhD Association in the UK is becoming an important scientific and intellectual force, whose activities are already of great interest both inside the UK and abroad.

Presentations were also made by the Dean of the Faculty of Education of Cambridge University, Professor Jeff Heyward, Professor of Geology, Geophysics & Tectonics at Cambridge University, James Jackson, and Deputy Chairman of the Board of Nazarbayev Intellectual Schools, Nazipa Ayubaeva.

During the forum, PhD students presented reports and presentations on various topics, including in the fields of energy, chemistry, electrical engineering, biology, hydrology, and law.

The Scientific Forum on Central Asia was established in 2014 by the doctoral students of the international programme "Bolashak", who studied at Cambridge University, with the support of the faculty of education. The main goal of the annual forum is to unite scientists, teachers, researchers, undergraduates and doctoral students to discuss ideas and opinions on the contemporary issues of Kazakhstan and Central Asia.

The Kazakhstan PhD Association in the UK has 58 PhD students, of which 32 are women. The majority of doctoral students are trained in technical specialties, which are of primary importance for the needs of the Kazakhstan's economy, such as electrical engineering, energy, chemistry, biochemistry, hydrology and information technology. The head of the Association is Aliya Sembaeva, a doctoral student of chemistry at the University of Liverpool. Other key activists in the organisation include Khalida Azhigulova from Leicester University, Adina Kadyrbekova from Lancaster University, Symbat Moldabekova from Edinburgh University, Saule Kemelbaeva from Newcastle University, and many other young scientists who actively participate in Kazakhstan's public initiatives.

Created at : 27.03.2018, 11:15, Updated at : 27.03.2018, 12:15

В Университетском колледже Лондона состоялся пятый ежегодный научный форум по Центральной Азии

Нынешний форум, организованный Ассоциацией казахстанских студентов-докторантов в Великобритании, прошел под названием “Совместная работа в интересах устойчивого будущего". В форуме приняли участие ученые и преподаватели, а также студенты-докторанты ведущих британских вузов, таких как Кембриджский университет, Университетский и Имперский колледжи Лондона, университеты Лестера, Эдинбурга, Кардиффа, Бирмингема, Ньюкасла, Ливерпуля, Абердина, Ноттингема и других. В качестве гостей форум посетили представители Назарбаев университета и Назарбаев интеллектуальных школ.

В своем выступлении на открытии мероприятия Посол РК в Великобритании Ерлан Идрисов отметил, что форум по Центральной Азии стал интерактивной площадкой, на которой студенты-докторанты Казахстана, обучающиеся в британских вузах, обсуждают важные фундаментальные и прикладные вопросы, демонстрируют результаты своих научных исследований, способствуя решению актуальных проблем. Казахстанский дипломат подчеркнул, что с каждым годом Ассоциация казахстанских студентов PhD играет все более важную роль в укреплении тесного взаимодействия между научно-образовательными учреждениями Соединенного Королевства и Казахстана.

На форуме также выступил преподаватель по вопросам эволюции и развития генетики Имперского колледжа Лондона Архат Абжанов, который отметил растущий потенциал форума по Центральной Азии. По его словам, Ассоциация казахстанских студентов-докторантов становится важной научно-интеллектуальной силой, деятельность которой уже сейчас вызывает большой интерес как внутри Великобритании, так и за ее пределами.

На форуме с докладами выступили декан Факультета образования Кембриджского университета профессор Джеф Хейуорд, профессор геологии, геофизики и тектоники Кембриджского университета Джеймс Джексон, а также заместитель председателя правления АОО “Назарбаев интеллектуальные школы" Назипа Аюбаева.

В рамках сессий форума студентами-докторантами были представлены доклады и презентации по различным темам, в том числе в сферах энергетики, химии, электротехники, биологии, гидрологии, юриспруденции и т.д.

Научный форум по Центральной Азии был создан в 2014 году студентами-докторантами международной программы “Болашак", обучаюшимися в Кембриджском университете, при поддержке факультета образования данного британского вуза. Основной целью ежегодного форума является объединение ученых, преподавателей, исследователей, студентов магистрантов и докторантов с целью обсуждения, обмена мнениями и идеями касательно современных проблем Казахстана и Центральной Азии.

На сегодняшний день Ассоциация казахстанских докторантов в Великобритании насчитывает 58 студентов PhD, из которых 32 – представительницы прекрасного пола. Большинство докторантов обучается по техническим специальностям, представляющим первостепенную важность для нужд казахстанской экономики, таким как электротехника, энергетика, химия, биохимия, гидрология, информационные технологии и другие. Руководителем Ассоциации является Алия Сембаева - докторант химического факультета Университета Ливерпуля. Среди активистов Ассоциации можно также отметить Халиду Ажигулову из Лестерского университета, Адину Кадырбекову из Ланкастерского университета, Сымбат Молдабекову из Эдинбургского университета, Сауле Кемельбаеву из Университета Ньюкасла и многих других молодых ученых, деятельно участвующих в казахстанских общественных инициативах.

Добавлено : 27.03.2018, 11:15, Изменено : 27.03.2018, 12:15