Astana will host the first Meeting of the Parties to the Water Convention in the Asia

On April 27, 2018 a briefing was held in Geneva for the representatives of the diplomatic corps and international organizations devoted to the preparation for the Eighth Session of the Meeting of the Parties to the Convention on the Protection and Use of Transboundary Watercourses and International Lakes (Water Convention), which will be held in Astana from 10 to 12 October 2018.

During the briefing organized by the Permanent Mission of Kazakhstan to the United Nations Office in Geneva jointly with the UN Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE), the Permanent Representative of Kazakhstan Zhanar Aitzhanova informed that the meeting in Astana will be the first Meeting of the Parties to the Water Convention in the Asian region during which Kazakhstan will take the chairmanship in the Water Convention for the period from 2019 to 2021 years.

Noting the importance of strengthening transboundary water cooperation for peace and stability, the Permanent Representative called on the countries sharing transboundary waters to actively participate in the Eighth Session of the Meeting of the Parties to the Water Convention in Astana to discuss global challenges of water policy and further actions to promote the objectives and principles of the Water Convention.

The Kazakhstan's diplomat stressed that in the Address "Kazakhstan-2050" Strategy» President Nursultan Nazarbayev marked the projected severe water scarcity as one of the 10 global challenges of the 21st century.

Kazakhstan joined the Water Convention on October 23, 2000. Given that 45% of water resources in the Republic of Kazakhstan are replenished from neighbouring countries, cross-border cooperation for our state is vital to water security, requiring a comprehensive, integrated and strategic approach.

According to the Kazakhstan's diplomat, the issue of climate change and its impact on water resources, being an important aspect of water security, is among the priorities of Kazakhstan's future chairmanship in the Water Convention.

In conclusion, the Ambassador Zh. Aitzhanova informed the representatives of diplomatic missions in Geneva about the opening of the International Water Assessment Centre (IWAC) in Astana in 2017, whose activities are aimed at supporting the Water Convention, strengthening cooperation with international organizations on water issues, and also to support Astana during its chairmanship in the Water Convention.

Deputy Executive Secretary of the UNECE Andrey Vasilyev and Secretary of the Water Convention Francesca Bernadini also delivered speeches during the briefing, wherein they welcomed Kazakhstan's initiatives to take up the Chairmanship of the Water Convention for a three-year period, on holding of the Eighth Session of the Meeting of the Parties to the Water Convention in Astana, and also establishment of IWAC in Kazakhstan.

Created at : 27.04.2018, 20:15, Updated at : 27.04.2018, 20:15

В Астане состоится первое Совещание Сторон Водной конвенции в Азиатском регионе

27 апреля 2018 года в Женеве состоялся брифинг для представителей дипломатического корпуса и международных организаций, посвященный подготовке к Восьмой сессии Совещания Сторон Конвенции по охране и использованию трансграничных водотоков и международных озер (Водная конвенция), которая пройдет в Астане 10-12 октября 2018 года.

В ходе брифинга, организованного Постоянным Представительством Казахстана при Отделении ООН в Женеве совместно с Европейской экономической комиссией ООН, Постпред Казахстана Жанар Айтжанова сообщила, что встреча в Астане станет первым Совещанием Сторон Водной конвенции в Азиатском регионе, в ходе которой Казахстан примет председательство в Водной конвенции на период с 2019 по 2021 годы.

Отметив важность укрепления трансграничного водного сотрудничества в целях обеспечения мира и стабильности, Постпред призвала страны, делящие трансграничные воды, принять активное участие в Восьмой сессии Совещания Сторон Водной Конвенции в Астане для обсуждения глобальных вызовов водной политики и дальнейших действий по продвижению целей и принципов Водной конвенции.

Казахстанский дипломат отметила, что в Послании «Стратегия «Казахстан - 2050» Президент Нурсултан Назарбаев назвал прогнозируемый острый дефицит воды одним из десяти глобальных вызовов XXI века.

Казахстан присоединился к Водной конвенции 23 октября 2000 года. Учитывая, что 45% водных ресурсов Казахстана поступают из сопредельных государств, трансграничное сотрудничество для нашей страны является жизненно важным для обеспечения водной безопасности и требует комплексного, интегрированного и стратегического подхода.

По словам казахстанского дипломата, проблема изменения климата и его влияния на водные ресурсы, являясь важным аспектом водной безопасности, входит в число приоритетов будущего председательства Казахстана в Водной конвенции.

В заключение, Постпред Ж. Айтжанова информировала представителей дипломатических миссий в Женеве об открытии в Астане в 2017 году Международного центра по оценке вод (МЦОВ), деятельность которого направлена на поддержку Водной конвенции, укрепление сотрудничества с международными организациями по водной тематике, а также на поддержку Астаны в период ее председательства в Водной конвенции.

В ходе брифинга также выступили заместитель исполнительного секретаря ЕЭК ООН Андрей Васильев и секретарь Водной конвенции Франческа Бернардини, которые приветствовали инициативы Казахстана о принятии председательства в Водной конвенции на трехлетний период, о проведении Восьмой сессии Совещания Сторон Водной Конвенции в Астане, а также о размещении МЦОВ в Казахстане.

Добавлено : 27.04.2018, 20:15, Изменено : 27.04.2018, 20:15