C5+1 Ministerial Meeting was held in New York

NEW YORK, September 22, 2019 - Ahead of President Kassym-Zhomart Tokayev’s visit to the United States for the 74-th UN General Assembly, Foreign Minister of Kazakhstan Mukhtar Tileuberdi took part at the C5+1 Dialogue meeting. The participants of the Dialogue also included the US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, Foreign Minister of Kyrgyzstan Chingiz Aidarbekov, Foreign Minister of Tajikistan Sirojiddin Muhriddin, Foreign Minister of Uzbekistan Abdulaziz Kamilov and Ambassador of Turkmenistan to the United States Mered Orazov.

The parties discussed ways to expand trade and investment ties as well as integration processes and joint efforts to address common challenges in Central Asia. 

Foreign Minister Mukhtar Tileuberdi emphasized that C5+1 platform is increasingly becoming an effective mechanism to boost economic cooperation within Central Asia and attract the US resources to develop the region’s transit infrastructure, protect the environment as well as strengthen the regional security and stability. 

The Minister also highlighted the importance of continuing the work within the C5+1 dialogue to attract American investments and technologies to Central Asia. The progress made within the C5+1 Dialogue platform should be signalled to the business communities of the US and Central Asia. 

The U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo noted that Central Asia serves as an example to the international community on repatriating its citizens from war zones. The U.S State Secretary highlighted the importance of economic partnership of the Central Asian countries and noted the prospects of the US cooperation with the region in infrastructure development, including through the United States International Development Finance Corporation.

As one of the factors to establish stability and sustainable growth in the region Mike Pompeo noted the need to strengthen cooperation between Central Asian countries and Afghanistan. 

The C5 format is a multilateral mechanism for interaction between the five Central Asian countries and the United States. The inaugural meeting of the six foreign ministers took place in New York in September 2015 in the margins of the UN General Assembly. 

The last high level meeting with participation of Central Asian foreign ministers and US Under Secretary of State David Hale took place in Nur-Sultan a month ago.

Created at : 23.09.2019, 10:20, Updated at : 23.09.2019, 10:20

В Нью-Йорке состоялась Министерская встреча в формате «C5+1»

НЬЮ-ЙОРК, 22 сентября 2019 года – В преддверии визита Главы государства в США для участия в работе 74-ой сессии Генеральной Ассамблеи ООН Министр иностранных дел Республики Казахстан Мухтар Тлеуберди принял участие в Министерской встрече диалога «С5+1». В Диалоге также приняли участие Государственный секретарь США Майкл Помпео, главы внешнеполитических ведомств Кыргызстана Чингиз Айдарбеков, Таджикистана Сироджиддин Мухриддин, Узбекистана Абдулазиз Камилов и посол Туркменистана в США Меред Оразов.

Стороны обсудили пути расширения торгово-инвестиционных связей, а также интеграционные процессы и совместные усилия по реагированию на вызовы в Центральной Азии.

М. Тлеуберди подчеркнул, что платформа «С5+1» становится эффективным средством наращивания экономического взаимодействия внутри Центральной Азии и привлечения ресурсов США в развитие транзитной инфраструктуры региона, работы по сохранению окружающей среды, а также укрепления региональной безопасности и стабильности.

Глава казахстанского внешнеполитического ведомства подчеркнул важность продолжения работы в рамках диалога «С5+1» по привлечению американских инвестиций и технологий в Центральную Азию, отметив что прогресс на площадке «С5+1» должен транслировать сигнал деловым сообществам США и Центральной Азии.

Государственный секретарь США М. Помпео отметил, что Центральная Азия является примером для всего мира по возвращению граждан из зон боевых действий. Госсекретарь США подчеркнул значимость экономического партнерства стран Центральной Азии и отметил перспективы сотрудничества региона с США в сфере инфраструктурного развития, в том числе посредством средств создаваемой Корпорации по финансированию международного развития США.

В качестве одного из факторов установления стабильности и устойчивого роста в регионе М. Помпео обратил внимание на необходимость укрепления сотрудничества стран Центральной Азии с Афганистаном.

Формат «С5+1» представляет собой многосторонний механизм взаимодействия между пятью странами Центральной Азии и США. Установочное совещание руководителей внешнеполитических ведомств шести стран состоялось в сентябре 2015 года на полях Генеральной Ассамблеи ООН в Нью-Йорке. 

Последняя встреча высокого уровня с участием глав внешнеполитических ведомств Центральной Азии и Заместителя госсекретаря США Дэвида Хэйла состоялась в Нур-Султане ровно месяц назад.

Добавлено : 23.09.2019, 10:20, Изменено : 23.09.2019, 10:20