Kazakhstan backs WTO reform initiative

On 23 and 24 July 2019, a meeting of the General Council of the World Trade Organization was held in Geneva with the participation of Ambassadors and Permanent Representatives of the Member States to the Organization.

The agenda included issues of the WTO negotiating pillar, Aid for Trade initiatives, the Work Program on E-Commerce and transparency.

Permanent Representative of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the UN and other international organizations in Geneva, Ambassador Zhanar Aitzhanova spoke in favor of an urgent need to resolve the issue related to the appointment of new members of the WTO Appeal Body and also expressed support to proposals aimed at reforming the Organization so that it would become relevant to the current world trade realities.

In addition, the representative of Kazakhstan encouraged WTO member to continue active negotiations with the Republic of Belarus in order to complete the country's accession to the WTO by the 12th Ministerial Conference of the WTO, which will be held in Nur-Sultan in June 2020.

Ambassador Aitzhanova assured those present that Kazakhstan, as the host country of the conference is ready to cooperate constructively with all WTO member countries, both on substantive and on organizational issues of the Ministerial Conference.

Many WTO members welcomed active discussions in plurilateral initiatives on e-commerce, investment promotion and domestic regulation in the field of trade in services and expressed hope that they would end up as substantive results of the 12th WTO Ministerial Conference.

Created at : 26.07.2019, 17:30, Updated at : 26.07.2019, 17:30

Казахстан поддержал инициативу реформирования ВТО

23 и 24 июля 2019 года в Женеве состоялось заседание Генерального совета Всемирной торговой организации с участием Послов и Постоянных представителей стран-членов при Организации. 

В повестку дня вошли вопросы переговорной функции ВТО, инициативы помощи в торговле, рабочей программы по электронной коммерции и транспарентности. 

Постоянный представитель Республики Казахстан при ООН и других международных организациях в Женеве, Посол Жанар Айтжанова высказалась в пользу срочной необходимости разрешения вопроса о назначении должностных лиц в апелляционный орган ВТО и выразила поддержку предложениям по реформированию Организации с тем, чтобы она соответствовала современным реалиям мировой торговли. 

Кроме того, представитель Казахстана призвала страны-члены ВТО продолжить активные переговоры с Республикой Беларусь с тем, чтобы завершить присоединение страны к ВТО к 12-й Министерской конференции ВТО, которая состоится в Нур-Султане в июне 2020 года. 

Посол Айтжанова заверила присутствующих, что Казахстан как страна принимающая конференцию готова конструктивно сотрудничать со всеми странами-членами ВТО, как по субстантивным, так и по организационным   вопросам Министерской конференции. 

Большинство членов ВТО также приветствовали активные обсуждения в рамках плюрилатеральных инициатив по электронной коммерции, содействию инвестициям и внутреннему регулированию в сфере торговли услугами   и выразили надежду на то, что они завершатся субстантивными результатами на 12-й Министерской конференции ВТО.


Добавлено : 26.07.2019, 17:30, Изменено : 26.07.2019, 17:30