UN High Commissioner for Human Rights

The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights was created by a General Assembly resolution in 1993. OHCHR has its Headquarters in Geneva and its field representations in more than 25 countries. The High Commissioner appointed for a four years term heads the OHCHR. Since September 1, 2014 His Highness, Prince Zeid Ra'ad Al Hussein from Jordan holds this position.

The official web-site: www.ohchr.org.

The cooperation with OHCHR is one of the priorities of Kazakhstan's foreign policy.

Since June 2008 the OHCHR Regional Office for Central Asia operates in Bishkek. The Regional Office holds events on pertinent issues in the area of human rights protection, which are attended by the Government representatives and non-governmental organizations from Central Asia. Among those, the Regional Conference on "Promoting minorities' rights in Central Asia", the Workshop on "Individual communications through UN mechanisms for human rights", and the Conference on "Implementation of UN Human Rights bodies' recommendations towards the Republic of Kazakhstan".

In 2013-2015 the Republic of Kazakhstan has been a member of the United Nations Human Rights Council. In 2015 Kazakhstan was a member of the HRC Bureau as one of the Council's Vice-Presidents. The Republic of Kazakhstan is regularly represented at the High Level Segment of the HRC's March session at the level of Minister of Foreign Affairs (in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015) and Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs (in 2013, 2014 and 2016).

National Reports of the Republic of Kazakhstan have been recently examined in several UN Committees: the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child (in May 2007 and September 2015), the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (in May 2010), UN Human Rights Committee (in July 2011), UN Committee on Elimination of Racial Discrimination (in February 2014), UN Committee on Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (in February 2014) and the UN Committee Against Torture (in November 2014). In 2016 Kazakhstan's National Reports in the UN Committee on Enforced Disappearances (March) and the UN Human Rights Committee are to be reviewed.

The Republic of Kazakhstan has recognized the competence of the UN Committee against Torture, the UN Human Rights Committee, the UN Committee on Elimination of Racial Discrimination and the UN Committee on Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women to receive individual complaints from the citizens of Kazakhstan and foreigners on violation of the rights enshrined in those conventions.

Since the extension by the Republic of Kazakhstan of the “standing invitation” towards all the HRC Special Procedures mandate holders, our country received visits from:

-an OHCHR experts delegation in 2011;

-the Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights in 2003;

-the UN Special Rapporteur on independence of judges and lawyers in 2004;

-the UN Special Rapporteur on human rights and terrorism in 2006;

-the UN Special Rapporteur on torture in 2009 and 2010;

-the UN Independent Expert on minorities issues in 2009;

-the UN Special Rapporteur on adequate housing in 2010;

-the UN Special Rapporteur on the right to education in 2011;

-the UN Special Rapporteur on contemporary forms of slavery, including its causes and consequences in 2012 and 2014;

-the UN Special Rapporteur on freedom of religion or belief in 2014;

-the UN Special Rapporteur on the right to freedom of peaceful assembly and of association in January 2015;

-the UN Special Rapporteur on hazardous instances and wastes in March-April 2015.

The visit of the members of the Working Group on the issue of human rights and transnational corporations and other business enterprises is planned for 2016.

Kazakhstan's active dialogue with OHCHR has passed on to the level of fruitful cooperation in the course of visits to Kazakhstan of the OHCHR Experts delegation (2001), the Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights B. Ramcharan (2003), and the High Commissioner on Human Rights Ms. Louise Arbor in 2007.

In July 2012 the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights N.Pillay has paid an official visit to Kazakhstan in the framework of which she held numerous meetings with government officials and civil society representatives.

In February 2010 Kazakhstan has successfully presented its first National Human Rights Report under the HRC Universal Periodic Review mechanism. As result, Kazakhstan has accepted 112 out of 128 recommendations formulated herein. On October 30, 2014 the Republic of Kazakhstan has presented with success its Second National Human Rights Report under the UPR. Out of the 194 recommendations received by Kazakhstan 47 were accepted as already implemented and 96 as being in the process of implementation.

Starting from 2008 Kazakhstan has been making annual voluntary contributions to the OHCHR Budget. In 2015 Kazakhstan has contributed 150 000 US Dollars. In addition to this, starting from 2013, the Republic of Kazakhstan has been contributing 10 000 US Dollars to the UPR Voluntary Fund for states in need of financial assistance.

Created at : 29.03.2017, 16:10, Updated at : 29.03.2017, 16:15

Управление верховного комиссара ООН по правам человека

Управление Верховного комиссара ООН по правам человека было учреждено в соответствии с резолюцией Генеральной Ассамблеи ООН в 1993 году. УВКПЧ располагает штаб-квартирой в Женеве и представительствами в более чем 25 странах мира. Руководителем УВКПЧ является Верховный комиссар ООН по правам человека, который назначается на четырехлетний срок. C 1 сентября 2014 г. этот пост занимает Зейд Раад Зейд аль-Хуссейна из Иордании.

Официальный веб-сайт: www.ohchr.org.

Сотрудничество с УВКПЧ является одним из приоритетных направлений внешнеполитической деятельности Казахстана.

С июня 2008 года действует Региональное отделение УВКПЧ по Центральной Азии в Бишкеке. Региональным отделением проводится ряд мероприятий по актуальным вопросам в области защиты прав человека, в которых принимают участие представители государственных органов и неправительственных организаций Центрально-азиатских стран, такие как региональная конференция «Продвижение прав меньшинств в Центральной Азии», семинар «Индивидуальные сообщения в рамках механизмов ООН по правам человека», конференция «Реализация рекомендаций органов ООН по правам человека в отношении Республики Казахстан».

Республика Казахстан являлась членом СПЧ ООН в период с 2013 г. по 2015 г. В течение 2015 г. Казахстан был членом Бюро СПЧ ООН в качестве одного из четырех Вице-председателей Совета. На высоком сегменте мартовской сессии СПЧ Казахстан регулярно представлен на уровне министров иностранных дел РК (2010, 2011, 2012, 2015) и заместителей министра иностранных дел РК – 2013, 2014 и 2016 годы.

За последнее время были рассмотрены доклады Республики Казахстан в Комитете ООН по правам ребенка (май 2007 г., сентябрь 2015 г.), в Комитете по экономическим, социальным и культурным правам (май 2010г.); в Комитете по правам человека (июль 2011 г.); в Комитете по ликвидации расовой дискриминации (февраль 2014 г.); в Комитете по ликвидации всех форм дискриминации в отношении женщин (февраль 2014 г.) и в Комитете против пыток (ноябрь 2014 г.). В 2016 г. ожидается защита периодических докладов в Комитете ООН по насильственным исчезновениям (март) и Комитете ООН по правам человека (июнь).

Республика Казахстан признала компетенцию Комитета против пыток, Комитета по правам человека, Комитета по ликвидации расовой дискриминации и Комитета по ликвидации дискриминации в отношении женщин принимать индивидуальные жалобы граждан РК и иностранцев о нарушении прав по соответствующим договорам.

С момента направления в 2009 г. постоянного приглашения всем держателям мандатов Специальных процедур Совета по правам человека нашу страну посетили:

- делегация экспертов УВКПЧ (2001 г.);

- Заместитель Верховного комиссара ООН по правам человека (2003г.);

- Спецдокладчик по независимости судей и адвокатов (2004г.);

- Спецдокладчик по правам человека и терроризму (2006г.);

- Спецдокладчик ООН по вопросам пыток (2009 г. и 2010 гг.);

- Независимый эксперт по вопросам меньшинств (2009г.);

- Спецдокладчик ООН по вопросу о достаточном жилье (2010 г.);

- Спецдокладчик ООН по праву на образование (2011 г.);

- Спецдокладчик ООН по вопросу о современных формах рабства, включая его причины и последствия (2012 г. и 2014 г.);

- Спецдокладчик ООН по вопросу свободы религии или убеждений (2014 г.);

- Спецдокладчик ООН по вопросу о праве на свободу мирных собраний и праве на ассоциацию (январь 2015 г.);

- Спецдокладчик по вопросам токсичных и опасных отходов (март-апрель 2015 г.).

В 2016 г. ожидается визит членов Рабочей группы по вопросу о правах человека и транснациональных корпорациях и других предприятиях.

Казахстан ведет активный диалог с УВКПЧ, вышедший на уровень плодотворного сотрудничества в ходе визитов в Казахстан делегации экспертов УВКПЧ (2001 г.), Заместителя Верховного комиссара Б.Рамчаран (2003 г.) и Верховного комиссара ООН Луизы Арбур (2007 г.).

В июле 2012 г. Верховный комиссар Наванетем Пиллэй находилась с официальным визитом в Казахстане, в рамках которого провела многочисленные встречи с представителями государственных органов и гражданского сектора.

В феврале 2010 г. в Женеве Казахстан провел успешную защиту Первого национального доклада о выполнении международных обязательств в области защиты основных прав и свобод человека в рамках Универсального периодического обзора (УПО) в Совете ООН по правам человека. По итогам защиты Казахстан принял 112 рекомендаций из полученных 128. 30 октября 2014 г. Казахстан успешно защитил Второй национальный доклад по УПО. По итогам было получено 194 рекомендаций, из которых 47 были приняты Казахстаном как выполненные, 96 - приняты как находящиеся в стадии имплементации.

Начиная с 2008 г. Казахстан ежегодно выделяет добровольный взнос в бюджет УВКПЧ. В 2015 г. было выделено $150 000. Кроме того, с 2013г. РК выделяет $10 000 в Добровольный фонд УПО для стран, нуждающихся в финансовой поддержке.

Добавлено : 29.03.2017, 16:10, Изменено : 29.03.2017, 16:15