Delegation of Kazakhstan made a statement in the plenary meeting of the Conference on Disarmament

In commemoration of the International Day against Nuclear Tests the Permanent Representative of Kazakhstan to the UN Office and other international organisations in Geneva, Zhanar Aitzhanova, made a statement at the plenary meeting of the Conference on Disarmament.

In her statement the representative of Kazakhstan stressed the unique contribution of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan - Leader of the Nation Nursultan Nazarbayev to the global processes of nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation, including the closure of the Semipalatinsk nuclear test site and the creation of the nuclear-weapon-free zone in Central Asia.

The participants of the Conference were informed about the meeting on fostering cooperation and enhancing consultation mechanisms among all existing nuclear weapon free zones that had started in Nur-Sultan on 28 August and awarding the Nazarbayev Prize for a Nuclear-Weapon-Free World and Global Security by the President of Kazakhstan, Kassym-Zhomart Tokayev, to the late Director General of the IAEA, Yukia Amano, and to the Executive Secretary of the Preparatory Commission of the CTBTO, Lassina Zerbo.

The representative of Kazakhstan concluded her statement by inviting everyone to a panel discussion on cooperation between nuclear weapon free zones to be held on 2 September 2019 in Geneva with participation of the Director-General of the UN Office in Geneva, Tatiana Valovaya.

Created at : 29.08.2019, 19:00, Updated at : 29.08.2019, 19:00

Делегация Казахстана выступила на пленарном заседании Конференции по разоружению

29 августа в ознаменование Международного дня действий против ядерных испытаний Постоянный Представитель Казахстана при отделении ООН в Женеве Жанар Айтжанова выступила на пленарном заседании Конференции по разоружению.

В выступлении был отмечен вклад Первого Президента Казахстана - Елбасы Нурсултана Назарбаева в ядерное разоружение и нераспространение, в первую очередь, закрытие Семипалатинского испытательного полигона, добровольный отказ от четвертого в мире по размеру ядерного арсенала, создание зоны свободной от ядерного оружия в Центральной Азии.

Участники Конференции были проинформированы о встрече представителей всех безъядерных зон, которая состоялась 28-29 августа в г. Нур-Султане и вручении Президентом Казахстана Касым-Жомартом Токаевым Назарбаевской премии мира за мир без ядерного оружия и глобальную безопасность бывшему Генеральному директору МАГАТЭ Юкия Амано и Исполнительному секретарю Подготовительной комиссии ОДВЗЯИ Лассине Зербо.

В завершение выступления участники были приглашены на панельную дискуссию по сотрудничеству между зонами, свободными от ядерного оружия, которая состоится 2 сентября т.г. в Женеве с участием Генерального директора Отделения ООН в Женеве Татьяны Валовой.

Добавлено : 29.08.2019, 19:00, Изменено : 29.08.2019, 19:00