Kazakhstan chaired the WTO meeting to discuss trade liberalization in environmental services

On September 30, 2019 at the headquarters of the World Trade Organization (WTO) Permanent Representative of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the WTO Zhanar Aitzhanova chaired the 5th session of the Special Session of the Council for Trade in Services. At the meeting the proposal of Australia, Canada, Mexico, New Zealand and Switzerland on trade liberalization in environmental services was discussed.

Five Members called to reinvigorate discussions to update commitments of WTO Members in the sector for opening market for international trade in environmental services and goods, to attract investments as well as harness innovation in the industry.

Environmental services are a growing sector in world services trade. With a compound annual growth rate of 4 percent from 2008 to 2015, global trade in clean technology, for which environmental services play an important role, has doubled during this period to more than $1.15 trillion in exports.

A vast majority of WTO Members expressed support to the new proposal and shared information on national experiences on the development of environmental sector, ongoing policies and initiatives to improve ecology and ensure environmental protection. WTO members supported the proposal to renew commitments in environmental services and expressed their interests in such potential areas as monitoring of pollution and air quality control, water management, waste management, energy efficiency and other sectors.

Kazakhstan in its accession package undertook broad commitments in the environmental services sector in order to encourage investments in the industry. Kazakhstan also attaches great importance to taking actions on mitigating the effects of climate change, as well as ensuring a clean environment to achieve SDGs.

Created at : 2.10.2019, 09:55, Updated at : 2.10.2019, 09:55

Под председательством Казахстана в рамках ВТО состоялось очередное заседание по вопросам либерализации торговли в области экологических услуг

30 сентября 2019 года в штаб-квартире Всемирной торговой организации (ВТО) Постоянным Представителем Республики Казахстан при ВТО, Жанар Айтжановой проведено Пятое заседание Специальной сессии Совета по торговле услугами. В ходе заседания члены ВТО рассмотрели предложение Австралии, Мексики, Канады, Новой Зеландии и Швейцарии по либерализации торговли экологическими услугами. 

Cтраны-инициаторы призывают начать обсуждения по обновлению обязательств стран-членов ВТО в указанной сфере с целью открытия рынка для международной торговли экологическими товарами и услугами, привлечения инвестиций, а также развития инноваций в отрасли. 

Экологические услуги – это растущий сектор в мировой торговле услугами. С совокупным годовым темпом роста в 4 % в период с 2008 по 2015 годы мировая торговля экологически чистыми технологиями, для которых экологические услуги играют важную роль, за этот период удвоилась и экспорт в сумме составил 1,15 трлн. долларов США.

Большинство стран-членов ВТО выразили поддержку новому предложению, а также информировали о национальном опыте развития сектора экологии, о текущей политике и инициативах для улучшения экологической среды и обеспечения охраны окружающей среды. Члены ВТО поддержали предложение по обновлению обязательств в данном секторе и среди потенциальных сфер интереса отметили такие направления, как мониторинг уровня загрязнения и контроля чистоты воздуха, управление водными ресурсами, переработка отходов,обеспечение энергоэффективности и другие.

В рамках присоединения к ВТО Казахстаном приняты обширные обязательства с целью привлечения инвестиций в экологическую отрасль. Казахстан также придает важное значение вопросам преодоления последствий изменения климата, а также обеспечению чистой экологии с целью достижения ЦУР. 

Добавлено : 2.10.2019, 09:55, Изменено : 2.10.2019, 09:55