Kazakhstan and US have discussed possible outcomes of the WTO Ministerial Conference in Nur-Sultan

Ambassador Zhanar Aitzhanova, Permanent Representative of Kazakhstan to the UN Office and other International Organizations in Geneva, met with Assistant USTR Dawn Shackelfeld in order to discuss potential substantive outcomes of the 12th WTO Ministerial Conference, scheduled for 8-11 June 2020 in Nur-Sultan.

The parties exchanged their expectations on the upcoming negotiations on various issues pertaining to the reforms rules area of multilateral trade, and also touched upon elements of mutual interest of the two countries.

Representatives of Kazakhstan and the United States recognized the need to improve transparency in WTO regulatory work and agreed to take coordinated actions to achieve this goal in the near future. In addition, issues of the WTO Appellate Body, special and differential treatment, fisheries subsidies and the moratorium on customs duties on electronic transactions were discussed.

Ambassador Aitzhanova assured the American side that Kazakhstan is ready to constructively support the initiatives and proposals of the WTO member countries, which will contribute to improving the multilateral trading system.


Created at : 27.09.2019, 16:45, Updated at : 27.09.2019, 16:45

Казахстан и США обсудили возможные итоги Министерской конференции ВТО в Нур-Султане

Постоянный представитель Казахстана при отделении ООН и других международных организациях в Женеве, Посол Жанар Айтжанова встретилась с Помощником торгового представителя США г-жой Даун Шакелфелдом с целью обсудить потенциальные субстантивные итоги 12-й Министерской конференции ВТО, запланированной на 8-11 июня 2020 года в Нур-Султане. 

Стороны обменялись своими ожиданиями о ходе предстоящих переговоров по различным вопросам из сферы реформирования правил многосторонней торговли, а также затронули элементы, представляющие обоюдный интерес для двух стран.

Представители Казахстана и США признали необходимость улучшения транспарентности в регуляторной деятельности ВТО и договорились вести скоординированные действия для скорейшего достижения данной цели. Кроме того, были обсуждены вопросы апелляционного органа ВТО, специального и дифференцированного режима, субсидий на рыболовство и моратория на введение таможенных пошлин на электронные транзакции.

Посол Ж. Айтжанова заверила американскую сторону в том, что Казахстан готов конструктивно поддержать инициативы и предложения стран-членов ВТО, которые будут способствовать улучшению многосторонней торговой системы.

Добавлено : 27.09.2019, 16:45, Изменено : 27.09.2019, 16:45