Statement by Kazakhstan`s Foreign Ministry on the Treaty on the Elimination of Intermediate-Range and Shorter-Range Missiles

ASTANA, February 5, 2019 - The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan expresses concern regarding the United States of America's decision to suspend its participation in the Treaty on the Elimination of Intermediate-Range and Shorter-Range Missiles (hereinafter - the INF Treaty) which mirrored the decision taken by the Russian Federation.

The Republic of Kazakhstan, as a member to the INF Treaty, supports the maintenance and strict compliance of the Treaty by all parties and confirms its continued value as a unique historical agreement that allowed the joint efforts of the parties to eliminate an entire class of missiles, which were capable of carrying nuclear weapons. Since its conception, the Treaty has helped to deliver significant progress in nuclear disarmament in accordance with article VI of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons.

The denunciation of the INF Treaty, which is one of the most essential policies in the maintenance of international security, has the potential to trigger a new arms race in many regions of the world and poses a serious threat to global peace and security.

Noting the relevance of the global anti-nuclear initiatives of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev, aimed at achieving a nuclear-weapons-free world by 2045, the Republic of Kazakhstan stands behind the strict compliance of the Treaty by all parties in the spirit of strengthening mutual confidence-building measures.

In order to maintain the INF Treaty, the Republic of Kazakhstan calls on the United States and the Russian Federation to make all necessary efforts to resolve existing problems through constructive negotiations within the framework of existing bilateral and multilateral mechanisms, including the format of a Special Verification Commission as set out under the Treaty.

Created at : 5.02.2019, 20:10, Updated at : 5.02.2019, 20:10

​Заявление МИД РК в отношении ситуации вокруг Договора о ликвидации ракет средней и меньшей дальности

АСТАНА, 5 февраля 2019 года - Министерство иностранных дел Республики Казахстан выражает озабоченность в связи с решением Соединенных Штатов Америки о приостановлении своего участия в Договоре о ликвидации ракет средней и меньшей дальности (далее - ДРСМД) и зеркальным решением Российской Федерации.

Республика Казахстан, будучи участницей ДРСМД, выступает за сохранение и неукоснительное соблюдение Договора всеми сторонами, а также подтверждает его неизменную ценность как уникального исторического соглашения, позволившего совместными усилиями сторон ликвидировать целый класс ракет, способных нести ядерное оружие, и достичь значительного прогресса в ядерном разоружении в соответствии со статьей VI Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия.

Денонсация ДРСМД, являющегося одним из важнейших факторов поддержания международной безопасности, способна спровоцировать новую «гонку вооружений» в различных регионах мира и несет серьезную угрозу глобальному миру и безопасности.

Отмечая актуальность глобальных антиядерных инициатив Президента Республики Казахстан Нурсултана Назарбаева, направленных на достижение к 2045 году мира, свободного от ядерного оружия, Республика Казахстан выступает за неукоснительное соблюдение Договора всеми сторонами в духе укрепления мер взаимного доверия.

В целях сохранения ДРСМД Республика Казахстан призывает США и РФ предпринять все необходимые усилия для разрешения существующих проблем посредством конструктивных переговоров в рамках имеющихся двусторонних и многосторонних механизмов, включая формат Специальной контрольной комиссии в рамках Договора.

Добавлено : 5.02.2019, 20:10, Изменено : 5.02.2019, 20:10