Valikhan Turekhanov. Central Asia’s Path towards Harmony

Valikhan TUREKHANOV

CENTRAL ASIA'S PATH TOWARDS HARMONY

The development of comprehensive cooperation relations with the countries of Central Asia and the promotion of the region's profile in the modern system of international relations are among the key priorities of the foreign policy of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

This vision is based on fundamental factors – historical, geographical, cultural, linguistic and religious similarity of the peoples of the region and is aimed at creating legal, economic and organisational conditions for sustainable socio-economic development of Central Asia; free movement of goods, services, capital and labor; improving the living standards of the population and its security and effective fight against external threats.

The special role of Central Asia in the further development of our state is indicated in the Kazakhstan 2050 Strategy. It is adequately reflected in the Foreign Policy Concept of the Republic of Kazakhstan and other strategic documents.

As President Nursultan Nazarbayev noted, “Kazakhstan has always sought close cooperation with its neighbours, especially with the countries of Central Asia, which share a common history, culture, world view and outlook."

Astana considers the economic potential of the region as a common resource which could be used in the most rational and efficient manner only by a collective effort.

Currently, there is a growing desire of the regional states to resolve the issues that are piling up. Today, the countries of Central Asia are united in understanding the need to develop regional cooperation on a wide range of issues – from security to economy.

Over the past two years, interstate and interregional relations have reached a new level of active cooperation; the political will of the regional leaders played a major role in making a breakthrough in five-party relations.

Leaders of the Central Asian states in Astana, July 6, 2018

An important common achievement in the Central Asian vector was the Working Consultative Meeting of the Presidents of Central Asia, which was held on March 15, 2018 in Astana. This was the first meeting in many years in such a format, where the leaders of our countries identified the basic priorities of five-party cooperation and outlined plans for the future.

As a result of the forum, there was agreement to hold such meetings at the highest level on an annual basis on the eve of the Nauryz holiday. Currently, the parties are preparing for the next summit in Tashkent (Uzbekistan).

There was a decision to coordinate efforts to ensure regional stability and security and fight terrorism, religious extremism and drug trafficking.

The sides expressed readiness to intensify trade and economic cooperation, including through the development of interregional and cross-border relations, improvement of conditions for investment cooperation, transition of economies to a new innovative digital platform, optimisation of tariff policy and simplification of administrative procedures in transit traffic.

At the same time, it is important to emphasise that the mechanism of consultations does not have a block orientation or ideas of positioning the region against external players. Central Asian countries are interested in developing cooperation with all partners, including China, Russia, the United States, the European Union and other countries.

In fact, the March summit recognised and supported the point that only close cooperation and interaction of all countries in the region can ensure its political and economic self-sufficiency.

Thus, the Central Asian countries managed to build a solid system of good-neighbourly relations in the region. Our fruitful five-party cooperation has been intensified in almost all areas.

Thus, the five-party meetings of the foreign ministers of Central Asia have become regular. At the meetings within the 72nd session of the UN General Assembly in New York in 2017 and Cholpon-Ata (Kyrgyzstan) in 2018, the ministers adopted joint statements. An important step was the adoption on the initiative of Kazakhstan of the 2018-2019 Programme of Cooperation between the Ministries of Foreign Affairs of the region in November 2017 in Samarkand (Uzbekistan).

The security councils of Central Asia establish regular consultations at the bilateral level. Quite noticeable are the increased contacts in the field of regional security and anti-terrorist activities. Our countries have the same or similar approaches in this area.

Regional states strengthen cooperation at the level of special services and law enforcement agencies in the fight against illegal migration, drug trafficking, organised crime and other challenges and threats. On October 5-7, the Ministers of Internal Affairs of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan successfully held the first meeting in Cholpon-Ata, where the parties agreed to consider the possibility of creating a permanent regional advisory body - the Central Asian Ministerial Meeting for Internal Affairs – designed to coordinate the efforts of the ministries of internal affairs in the fight against trans-regional crime.

Efforts are being coordinated to stabilise the situation in Afghanistan. After being elected to the UN Security Council, Astana began to use the opportunities of this most influential international organisation to promote the interests of all five Central Asian states.

During its presidency of the UN Security Council in January 2018, Kazakhstan initiated substantive and productive discussions on the situation in Afghanistan and measures to strengthen peace, security and development in Central Asia.

Serious progress has been made on the issue of international legal registration of borders with the states of Central Asia. Today, our external borders in the region are the borders of good-neighbourliness and cooperation.

In 2017, the delimitation of the state border with the Republic of Uzbekistan was completed. The signing of the agreement on the State Borders Junction Point of Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan in Samarkand in November 2017 fully completed the process of delimitation along the entire perimeter of the Kazakh land border.

In December 2017, during the official visit of President of Kyrgyzstan Sooronbay Jeenbekov to Astana, the states signed historical documents - the agreement on the Demarcation of State Borders and the agreement on the Regime of State Borders.

Economic cooperation with the countries of Central Asia, which is the engine of regional cooperation, is developing steadily. Over ten months of the last year, the volume of mutual trade between Kazakhstan and the regional countries increased by 30 percent and amounted to $3.4 billion. At the same time, according to our estimates there is huge potential for further growth in trade, including through the strengthening of private sectors and small and medium-sized businesses in the region.

Interregional and cross-border cooperation is developing dynamically; the number of mutual visits between the regional administrations of our countries is increasing. The states hold large-scale business forums annually and create trading houses and joint ventures. There are already a number of positive examples of effective industrial cooperation between the enterprises of our countries.

In order to establish direct links between business communities, the states established successful business councils held for the first time last year.

Investment cooperation between our countries also has considerable potential. Over the past 13 years, direct investment from Kazakhstan to Central Asia amounted to more than $1.1 billion. The governments of the regional states are constantly working in this direction to find and study promising projects. According to our estimates, there are great opportunities for joint investment in the mining industry, in the field of water and agriculture, engineering, energy, food industry, transport and communications.

The countries increase their transport links and launch new flights and high-speed trains. The development of transit and transport potential has become one of the most priority areas of cooperation. In the future, Central Asia will be able not only to connect the subcontinents, but also to become one of the most important trade hubs in the Eurasian area.

There is a significant increase in the level of cultural and humanitarian cooperation. Cooperation in this dimension is a pillar for building a common atmosphere of trust between our Central Asian peoples.

In March2018, Astana opened the Year of Uzbekistan in Kazakhstan. Such a large-scale event between our countries was carried out for the first time. This year is planned to be the Year of Kazakhstan in Uzbekistan.

In September2018, Cholpon-Ata hosted the third World Nomad Games, which were attended by all countries of Central Asia, and held significant events dedicated to the anniversary of the great writer of Kyrgyzstan Chingiz Aitmatov.

The countries of the region regularly exchange delegations in the fields of culture, sports, tourism and health.

* * *

In general, our region is one of the dynamically developing regions of the world which occupies an important strategic position and has significant human and high aggregate economic potential and natural and industrial resources.

In light of the tasks set by President Nazarbayev in the Kazakhstan 2050 Strategy, we believe that the importance of Central Asia in the foreign policy of our country will consistently increase.

Today, we can already say that there is an emerging basis for the formation of an autonomous region. The countries of Central Asia demonstrate a strong commitment and huge potential in the development of constructive cooperation in all areas on the basis of the principles of good neighbourliness, mutual benefit and respect with regards to mutual interests.

The relations between them have reached the level of a deep strategic partnership with specific vectors in the political, economic, cultural and humanitarian spheres.

Answers to the existing challenges in Central Asia can be found only through further development of cooperation, coordination of joint efforts and continuation of the course towards dialogue both within the region and with external partners.

In this regard, Kazakhstan will continue to take consistent measures to ensure the sustainable development of the region, strengthening its stability and security.

________________________________________________

ABOUT THE AUTHOR. Valikhan Turekhanov – Director of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Turekhanov has been in the diplomatic service since January 1994. He worked in various capacities in the central office of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and embassies of Kazakhstan in Russia and Uzbekistan.

He has the rank of Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Envoy of Second class.

Created at : 29.03.2019, 12:10, Updated at : 29.03.2019, 12:10

Валихан Туреханов. Центральная Азия на пути к гармонизации взаимоотношений

Валихан ТУРЕХАНОВ

ЦЕНТРАЛЬНАЯ АЗИЯ НА ПУТИ К ГАРМОНИЗАЦИИ ВЗАИМООТНОШЕНИЙ

Развитие всесторонних кооперационных связей со странами Центральной Азии и укрепление значимости региона в современной системе международных отношений являются одними из ключевых приоритетов внешней политики Республики Казахстан.

Это видение основывается на фундаментальных предпосылках – исторической, географической, культурной, языковой и религиозной общности народов региона и направлено на создание правовых, экономических и организационных условий для устойчивого социально-экономического развития Центральной Азии, свободного перемещения товаров, услуг, капитала и рабочей силы, повышения уровня жизни населения и его безопасности, эффективной борьбы с внешними угрозами.

Особое значение Центральной Азии для дальнейшего развития нашего государства закреплено в Стратегии «Казахстан-2050». Оно нашло адекватное отражение в Концепции внешней политики Республики Казахстан и других стратегических документах.

Как отметил Президент Нурсултан Назарбаев, «Казахстан всегда стремился к тесному сотрудничеству с соседями, особенно со странами Центральной Азии, с которыми мы имеем общую историю, культуру, миропонимание и мироощущение».

Астана рассматривает экономический потенциал региона как общий ресурс, наиболее рациональное и эффективное использование которого достижимо только в коллективном формате.

Демонстрация главам государств Центральной Азии интеллектуального робота Софии в рамках презентации МФЦА. «Конгресс-центр ЭКСПО»,

г.Астана, 6 июля 2018 г.

В настоящее время наблюдается растущее стремление государств региона к разрешению накопившихся вопросов. Сегодня страны Центральной Азии едины в понимании необходимости развития регионального сотрудничества по широкому спектру вопросов – от безопасности до экономики.

За последние два года межгосударственные и межрегиональные связи вышли на качественно новый уровень активного взаимодействия, сделан прорыв в пятисторонних отношениях, большую роль в котором сыграла политическая воля глав государств региона.

Важным общим достижением на центральноазиатском направлении стала Рабочая консультативная встреча глав государств Центральной Азии, которая состоялась 15 марта 2018 года в Астане. Это – первая за многие годы встреча в таком формате, в ходе которой лидеры наших стран определили базовые приоритеты пятистороннего сотрудничества и наметили планы на будущее.

По итогам форума достигнута договоренность о проведении подобных встреч на высшем уровне на ежегодной основе накануне праздника Наурыз. В настоящее время сторонами прорабатывается вопрос организации следующей встречи на высшем уровне в Ташкенте (Узбекистан).

Принято решение координировать усилия по обеспечению региональной стабильности и безопасности, борьбе с терроризмом, религиозным экстремизмом и наркотрафиком.

Выражена готовность активизировать торгово-экономическое сотрудничество, в том числе через развитие межрегиональных и приграничных связей, улучшение условий для инвестиционного взаимодействия, переход экономик на новую инновационно-цифровую платформу, оптимизацию тарифной политики и упрощение административных процедур при транзитных перевозках.

При этом важно подчеркнуть, что механизм консультаций не имеет блоковой направленности либо целей противопоставления региона внешним игрокам. Страны Центральной Азии заинтересованы развивать сотрудничество со всеми партнерами, в том числе с Россией, КНР, США, Евросоюзом и другими странами.

Фактически на мартовской встрече глав государств получил признание и поддержку тезис о том, что только тесная кооперация и взаимодействие всех стран региона могут обеспечить его политическую и экономическую самодостаточность.

Таким образом, странам ЦА удалось выстроить прочную систему добрососедских отношений в регионе. Наше плодотворное пятистороннее взаимодействие было активизировано практически на всех направлениях.

Так, регулярными стали пятисторонние встречи министров иностранных дел Центральной Азии. На встрече в рамках 72-й сессии ГА ООН в Нью-Йорке в 2017 году и в Чолпон-Ате (Кыргызстан) в 2018 году министры приняли Совместные заявления. Важным шагом стало принятие по инициативе Казахстана Программы сотрудничества между министерствами иностранных дел стран региона на 2018-2019 годы в ноябре 2017 года в Самарканде (Узбекистан).

Налаживаются регулярные консультации между аппаратами Советов безопасности стран Центральной Азии на двустороннем уровне. Заметную интенсивность приобрели контакты в области региональной безопасности и антитеррористической деятельности. Подходы наших стран в этом направлении совпадают или близки.

Укрепляется взаимодействие на уровне спецслужб и правоохранительных органов в борьбе с нелегальной миграцией, контрабандой наркотиков, организованной преступностью и другими вызовами, и угрозами. 5-7 октября 2018 года в г.Чолпон-Ате (Кыргызстан) успешно состоялась первая встреча министров внутренних дел Казахстана, Кыргызстана, Узбекистана и Таджикистана, на которой стороны договорились рассмотреть возможность создания постоянно действующего регионального совещательного органа -Совещания министров внутренних дел ЦАР, призванного координировать усилия министерств внутренних дел в борьбе с трансрегиональной преступностью.

Координируются усилия по стабилизации ситуации в Афганистане. После избрания в Совет Безопасности ООН Астана стала использовать возможности этой самой влиятельной международной организации для продвижения интересов всех пяти центральноазиатских государств.

Казахстан во время своего председательства в Совете Безопасности ООН в январе 2018 года инициировал содержательные и результативные дискуссии по ситуации в Афганистане и мерам по укреплению мира, безопасности и развития в Центральной Азии.

Удалось серьезно продвинуться по вопросу международно-правового оформления границ с государствами Центральной Азии. Сегодня наши внешние границы в регионе – это рубежи добрососедства и сотрудничества.

В 2017 году завершилась делимитация государственной границы с Республикой Узбекистан. Подписание в Самарканде в ноябре 2017 года Договора о точке стыка государственных границ Казахстана, Туркменистана и Узбекистана полностью завершило процесс делимитации по всему периметру казахстанской сухопутной границы.

В декабре 2017 года в ходе официального визита Президента Кыргызстана Сооронбая Жээнбекова в Астану были подписаны исторические по своей значимости документы – Договор о демаркации госграниц и Соглашение о режиме госграниц.

Поступательно развивается экономическое взаимодействие со странами Центральной Азии, которое является «локомотивом» регионального сотрудничества. За 10 месяцев прошлого года объем взаимной торговли Казахстана со странами региона вырос на 30% и составил 3,4 млрд. долл. По нашим оценкам, имеется огромный потенциал для дальнейшего роста товарооборота, в том числе за счет укрепления частных секторов, малого и среднего бизнеса в странах региона.

Динамично развивается межрегиональное и приграничное сотрудничество, увеличивается количество взаимных визитов между областными администрациями наших стран. Ежегодно проводятся масштабные бизнес-форумы, создаются торговые дома и совместные предприятия. Уже существуют ряд положительных примеров эффективной производственной кооперации между предприятиями наших стран.

В целях налаживания прямых связей между бизнес-сообществами созданы и плодотворно функционируют со странами региона Деловые советы, первые заседания которых состоялись в прошлом году.

Значительным потенциалом также обладает инвестиционное сотрудничество между нашими государствами. За последние 13 лет прямые инвестиции из Казахстана в страны Центральной Азии составили более 1,1 млрд. долл. В данном направлении правительствами государств региона ведется постоянная работа по поиску и изучению перспективных проектов. По нашим оценкам, имеются большие возможности для совместного инвестиционного взаимодействия в горнодобывающей отрасли, в сфере водного и сельского хозяйства, машиностроения, энергетики, пищевой промышленности, транспорта и коммуникаций.

Усиливается транспортная взаимосвязь между странами, запускаются новые авиарейсы и скоростные поезда. Развитие транзитно-транспортного потенциала стало одним из наиболее приоритетных направлений кооперации. В будущем Центральная Азия способна не только соединять субконтиненты, но и превратиться в один из важнейших узлов торговли на евразийском пространстве.

Отмечается значительный рост уровня взаимодействия в культурно-гуманитарной сфере. Сотрудничество в этом измерении является естественным фундаментом выстраивания в Центральной Азии общей атмосферы доверия между нашими народами.

В марте 2018 года в Астане стартовал Год Узбекистана в Казахстане. Подобное масштабное мероприятие между нашими странами осуществлено впервые. В текущем году намечено открытие Года Казахстана в Узбекистане.

В сентябре 2018 года в Чолпон-Ате прошли ІІІ Всемирные игры кочевников, в которых участвовали все страны Центральной Азии, проведены значимые мероприятия, посвященные юбилею великого писателя Кыргызстана Чингиза Айтматова.

Страны региона на постоянной основе осуществляют взаимный обмен делегациями в сфере культуры, спорта, туризма и здравоохранения.

* * *

В целом, наш регион – один из динамично развивающихся регионов мира, который занимает важное стратегическое положение, имеет значительный человеческий и высокий совокупный экономический потенциал, природные и промышленные ресурсы.

В свете задач, поставленных Президентом РК Нурсултаном Назарбаевым в Стратегии «Казахстан-2050», полагаем, что значение Центральной Азии во внешней политике нашей страны будет последовательно повышаться.

Сегодня уже можно говорить о появлении основы для формирования автономной субъектности региона на мировой арене. Страны Центральной Азии демонстрируют твердую приверженность и огромный потенциал в развитии конструктивного сотрудничества по всем направлениям на основе принципов добрососедства, взаимной выгоды и уважения, учета обоюдных интересов.

Отношения между ними вышли на уровень углубленного стратегического партнерства, которое наполняется конкретным содержанием как в политической и экономической, так и культурно-гуманитарной сферах.

Ответы на имеющиеся вызовы в Центральной Азии могут быть найдены только через дальнейшее развитие кооперации, координацию совместных усилий и продолжение курса на поддержание диалога как внутри региона, так и с внешними партнерами.

В этой связи Казахстан продолжит принимать последовательные меры по обеспечению устойчивого развития региона, укрепления в нем стабильности и безопасности.

_________________________________________________

ОБ АВТОРЕ. Валихан Туреханов – Директор Департамента СНГ Министерства иностранных дел Республики Казахстан. На дипломатической службе с января 1994 года. Работал на различных должностях в центральном аппарате МИД РК, посольствах Казахстана в России и Узбекистане. Имеет ранг Чрезвычайного и Полномочного Посланника II класса.


Добавлено : 29.03.2019, 12:10, Изменено : 29.03.2019, 12:10