Geneva marked International Day against Nuclear Tests

On August 29, 2017 an event dedicated to the International Day against Nuclear Tests and the 26th anniversary of the closure of the Semipalatinsk nuclear test site was held in the building of the United Nations Office at Geneva.

Representatives of international organizations, diplomats, media, non-governmental organizations and academia took part in this event organized by the Permanent Mission of the Republic of Kazakhstan in Geneva in cooperation with the Geneva Disarmament Platform.

In welcoming remarks, H.E. Mrs Zhanar Aitzhanova, Permanent Representative of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the United Nations Office in Geneva, noted the outstanding contribution of Kazakhstan and its President Nursultan Nazarbayev, to the process of nuclear disarmament and nonproliferation.

The Kazakh diplomat informed participants about the approaches of Kazakhstan in nuclear nonproliferation and paid special attention to the 62nd Pugwash Conference on Science and World Affairs held in Astana on August 25-29, 2017, the outcome of which was the adoption of the Astana Declaration.

In the statement of the Permanent Representative of Austria to the Conference on Disarmament, H.E. Mr Thomas Hajnoczi, a number of positive achievements of the negotiation process on nuclear disarmament were raised. The Austrian diplomat also noted the historical role of Kazakhstan in nuclear disarmament and nonproliferation.

The representative of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) Ronan Le Bras informed the participants about international monitoring system to detect nuclear testing and gave his assessment of the situation around the CTBT.

A special guest of the event was the famous Kazakh artist, Honorary Ambassador of the antinuclear project ATOM Karipbek Kuyukov. He shared his personal experience of the tragic consequences of nuclear weapons tests on the land of Kazakhstan.

The event participants also exchanged views on the problems of disarmament and the nonproliferation of weapons of mass destruction.

Created at : 29.08.2017, 18:00, Updated at : 29.08.2017, 18:00

В Женеве отметили Международный день действий против ядерных испытаний

29 августа в здании Женевского отделения Организации Объединенных Наций состоялся семинар, посвященный Международному дню действий против ядерных испытаний и 26-летию закрытия Семипалатинского ядерного полигона.

В мероприятии, организованном Постоянным представительством Республики Казахстан в Женеве совместно с Женевской платформой по вопросам разоружения, приняли участие представители международных организаций, дипломатического корпуса, СМИ, неправительственных организаций и академических кругов.

В своей приветственной речи Постоянный представитель Республики Казахстан при Отделении ООН в Женеве Жанар Айтжанова отметила яркий вклад Казахстана и Президента Нурсултана Назарбаева в процесс нераспространения и ядерного разоружения, свидетельством чему стали отказ от четвертого по величине в мире ядерного арсенала и закрытие Семипалатинского ядерного полигона.

Казахстанский дипломат информировала о перспективах Казахстана в вопросе ядерного нераспространения и уделила отдельное внимание состоявшейся 25-29 августа 2017 года в Астане 62-й Пагуошской конференции по науке и глобальным проблемам, основным итогом которой стало принятие Астанинской декларации.

В выступлении Постоянного представителя Австрии при Конференции ООН по разоружению Томаса Хайноци был приведен ряд позитивных моментов в процессе переговоров по ядерному разоружению. Австрийский дипломат также отметил историческую роль Казахстана в деле ядерного нераспространения.

В мероприятии также принял участие представитель Организации Договора о всеобъемлющем запрещении ядерных испытаний (ОДВЗЯИ) Ронан Ле Бра, который информировал участников о процессе ядерного нераспространения в целом и дал свою оценку создавшейся ситуации вокруг ДВЗЯИ.

Специальным приглашенным гостем мероприятия стал известный казахстанский художник, Почетный посол антиядерного проекта АТОМ Карипбек Куюков. В своем выступлении он поделился личным опытом трагических последствий испытаний ядерного оружия на земле Казахстана.

Добавлено : 29.08.2017, 18:00, Изменено : 29.08.2017, 18:00