​An event against nuclear testing was held in Prague

On September 12, 2017, the Embassy of Kazakhstan and Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament (PNND) organized a thematic evening devoted to the International Day against Nuclear Tests and foreign policy initiatives of President Nursultan Nazarbayev to achieve a nuclear-weapon-free world.

Deputies of the Czech Parliament, Government and State body representatives of the Czech Republic, representatives of the diplomatic corps, Czech public figures, and representatives of the Czech media attended the event.

During his speech, Ambassador Serzhan Abdikarimov talked about the recognized peacekeeping contributions of President Nursultan Nazarbayev in the Anti-nuclear movement, the historic decision of closure of the Semipalatinsk test site and Kazakhstan's voluntary renunciation of world's fourth largest nuclear arsenal. He also mentioned the opening of the Low-Enriched Uranium Bank in Kazakhstan under the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and other disarmament initiatives of Kazakhstan as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council for 2017-2018.

During the event, a documentary film "Where the Wind Blew" by the British documentary filmmaker, André Singer, was presented to the guests. The film tells the stories of populations of Kazakhstan and the United States affected by the devastating impact of nuclear tests, conducted during the Cold War in Semipalatinsk and Nevada. The main narrative comes from the well-known activist of the international Anti-nuclear movement, the Kazakh artist Karipbek Kuyukov.

PNND Global Coordinator, Alyn Ware, and the film director, André Singer, talked about the global nuclear disarmament movement which is being conducted jointly with Kazakhstan and the history of the creation of this film.

In the framework of the event, signatures in support of the online petition of the ATOM Project "Abolish Testing. Our Mission" were collected, consequently precipitating an active discussion of this issue with the Czech participants and foreign diplomats.

Created at : 12.09.2017, 22:25, Updated at : 12.09.2017, 22:25

В Праге состоялось мероприятие против ядерных испытаний

12 сентября 2017 года в Праге Посольством Казахстана совместно с глобальным форумом «Парламентарии за ядерное нераспространение и разоружение»(PNND) был организован тематический вечер, посвященный Международному дню действий против ядерных испытаний и внешнеполитическим инициативам Президента Казахстана Нурсултана Назарбаева по достижению мира без ядерного оружия.

В мероприятии приняли участие депутаты Парламента, представители Правительства и государственных структур Чехии, дипломатического корпуса, а также общественно-политические деятели и представители средств массовой информации Чешской Республики.

Посол Сержан Абдыкаримов подробно рассказал гостям о признанном миротворческом вкладе Главы государства в глобальный процесс антиядерного движения, историческом решении закрытия Семипалатинского полигона, добровольном отказе от четвертого в мире по мощности ядерного арсенала, а также об открытии Банка низкообогащенного урана в Казахстане под эгидой МАГАТЭ и других разоруженческих инициативах страны, в том числе в качестве непостоянного члена Совета Безопасности ООН на 2017-2018 годы.

В рамках мероприятия гостям был представлен документальный фильм «Where the Wind Blew» («Куда дул ветер») британского кинорежиссера Андре Сингера, повествующий о тяжелой доле граждан Казахстана и США, пострадавших от губительных последствий ядерных испытаний в Семипалатинске и Неваде. Основное повествование о событиях в фильме идет от известного активиста международного антиядерного движения, казахстанского художника Карипбека Куюкова.

Глобальный координатор форума «Парламентарии за ядерное нераспространение и разоружение» Алин Варе и директор фильма Андре Сингер рассказали о проводимой совместно с Казахстаном деятельности в области глобального ядерного разоружения и истории создания этого фильма.

По итогам тематического вечера были собраны подписи в поддержку онлайн петиции Проекта ATOM («Abolish Testing - Our Mission» - «Отмена испытаний - наша миссия») и состоялось активное обсуждение данной проблематики с чешскими участниками и иностранными дипломатами
Добавлено : 12.09.2017, 22:25, Изменено : 12.09.2017, 22:25