Islamic Organization for Food Security presented in Jakarta

JAKARTA, August 1-2, 2019 - The Acting Director General of the Islamic Organization for Food Security (IOFS) Yerlan Baidaulet visited Indonesia.

During the visit, with the assistance of the Embassy of Kazakhstan, negotiations with Dr. Agung Hendriadi, Director General of the Agency for Food Security of the Ministry of Agriculture of Indonesia, Dr. Alwi Shihab, Special Envoy of the President of the Republic of Indonesia to the Middle East and the OIC, Prof. Ir. Sukoso, Head of the Halal Product Assurance Organizing Agency (BPJPH), Mr. Mukti Sardjono, Executive Director of the Indonesian Palm Oil Association (GAPKI) and Indonesian Logistics Bureau (BULOG) were organized.

During the meetings, Y. Baidaulet informed the Indonesian side about the goals and objectives of the IOFS, which was created on the initiative of the First President of Kazakhstan – Elbasy Nursultan Nazarbayev, invited the Indonesian side to join the Organization, as well as to take part in the 2nd session of the IOFS General Assembly, which will take place on August 27-29, 2019 in Jeddah.

Y. Baydaulet noted that the activities of the Organization are aimed at providing member states with expertise and technical know-how on sustainable agriculture, rural development, food security and biotechnology, assessment and monitoring of food security in the IOFS member states, and the development and implementation of a common agricultural policy.

The Organization will solve the problems of providing the population of Islamic countries with economically more affordable food, based on their natural and climatic conditions and geographical location, creating the most advantageous transport and logistics routes to minimize the cost of food supplies to the OIC member countries, stabilizing food prices through formation and management of joint food funds. The IOFS will also implement humanitarian programs based on relevant requests from the OIC General Secretariat.

Dr. Hendriadi, Director General of Indonesian Agency for Food Security noted that for Indonesia, which has the 4th largest population in the world, the issue of ensuring food security is very relevant and shared Indonesian experience in this sphere. A. Hendriadi welcomed the efforts of Kazakhstan to promote the IOFS and informed that the Indonesian side will consider the issue of joining the Organization, as well as participation in the 2nd session of the IOFS General Assembly as an observer.


The initiative to create the IOFS within the framework of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation was proposed by the First President of Kazakhstan – Elbasy N.Nazarbayev in 2011 at the 38th session of the OIC Council of Ministers of Foreign Affairs.

The IOFS was established on April 28, 2016 at the 7th session of the OIC Ministerial Conference on Food Security and Agricultural Development and the inauguration session of the IOFS General Assembly. The headquarters of the Organization is located in the capital of Kazakhstan Nur-Sultan city. Currently, it comprises of 33 states of the Islamic world. The official languages of the Organization are Arabic, English and French.

Created at : 2.08.2019, 15:35, Updated at : 2.08.2019, 15:55

В Джакарте презентована Исламская организация по продовольственной безопасности

ДЖАКАРТА, 1-2 августа 2019 года – Исполняющий обязанности Генерального директора Исламской организации по продовольственной безопасности (ИОПБ) Ерлан Байдаулет посетил Индонезию.

В рамках визита при содействии Посольства Казахстана были организованы переговоры с Генеральным директором Агентства по продовольственной безопасности Министерства сельского хозяйства Индонезии Агунгом Хендриади, Специальным посланником Президента РИ по сотрудничеству со странами Ближнего Востока и ОИС Альви Шихабом, главой Агентства по гарантии качества продукции халал Индонезии (BPJPH) проф. Сукосо, исполнительным директором Индонезийской ассоциации производителей пальмового масла (GAPKI) Мукти Сарджоно и руководством Логистического бюро Индонезии (BULOG).

В ходе встреч Е.Байдаулет ознакомил индонезийскую сторону с целями и задачами ИОПБ, созданной по инициативе  Первого Президента Казахстана – Елбасы Нурсултана Назарбаева, пригласил индонезийскую сторону присоединиться к Организации, а также принять участие во 2-й сессии Генеральной ассамблеи ИОПБ, которая состоится 27-29 августа т.г. в г.Джидда. 

Е.Байдаулет отметил, что деятельность Организации  направлена на предоставление государствам-членам экспертных знаний и технических ноу-хау по устойчивому ведению сельского хозяйства, развитию сельских регионов, продовольственной безопасности и биотехнологий, оценку и мониторинг продовольственной безопасности в государствах-членах ИОПБ, а также разработку и осуществление общей сельскохозяйственной политики.

Организация будет решать задачи по обеспечению населения исламских стран экономически более доступным продовольствием, исходя из их природно-климатических условий и географического положения, созданию максимально выгодных транспортно-логистических маршрутов, позволяющих минимизировать затраты по поставкам продовольствия в страны – члены ОИС, стабилизации цен на продовольствие за счет формирования и управления совместными продовольственными фондами. ИОПБ также будет осуществлять гуманитарные программы на основании соответствующих запросов от Генерального секретариата ОИС.

В свою очередь, Генеральный директор Агентства по продовольственной безопасности РИ А.Хендриади отметил, что для Индонезии, занимающей 4-е место по численности населения в мире, вопрос обеспечения продовольственной безопасности является весьма актуальным и информировал об опыте Индонезии в данной сфере. А.Хендриади положительно оценил усилия Казахстана по продвижению ИОПБ и сообщил, что индонезийская сторона рассмотрит вопрос вступления в Организацию, а также участия во 2-й сессии Генеральной ассамблеи ИОПБ в качестве наблюдателя.

Инициатива о создании ИОПБ в рамках Организации Исламского Сотрудничества была предложена Первым Президентом Казахстана – Елбасы Н.Назарбаевым в 2011 году на 38-й сессии Совета министров иностранных дел ОИС.

ИОПБ учреждена 28 апреля 2016 года на 7-й сессии Министерской конференции ОИС по продовольственной безопасности и развитию сельского хозяйства и учредительной сессии Генеральной ассамблеи ИОПБ. Штаб-квартира Организации находится в Нур-Султане. В настоящее время в ее состав входят 33 государства Исламского мира. Официальными языками Организации являются арабский, английский и французский.

Добавлено : 2.08.2019, 15:35, Изменено : 2.08.2019, 15:55