Sushma Swaraj. Kazakhstan and India: New Horizons for Cooperation

H.E. Sushma SWARAJ,

Minister of External (Foreign) Affairs of India

Kazakhstan and India: New Horizons for Cooperation

President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev (right) meets with

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi (left) July. 8, 2015 in Astana. (Akorda.kz)

I visited Astana in the salubrious weather of August and was warmly received by H.E. Kairat Abdrakhmanov, Minister of Foreign Affairs, and by Prime Minister H.E. Bakytzhan Sagintayev. Before meeting them, I had an interaction with the Indian community, all of whom singularly praised the warmth and hospitality of the Kazakh people. The small Indian community is happy and feels welcomed in Kazakhstan.

It is in this background of warmth that India-Kazakhstan friendship has flourished. Historically, Central Asia and India have interacted for more than 2,000 years. Buddhist monks travelled to China through Central Asia and established Buddhism there. The carvings of Buddha, important Buddhist teachers and Sanskrit Shlokas at Tamgaly Tas in the Almaty region stand witness to the rich cultural contact between the two countries. The Sakas and Kushans came from this region to India. The Mughals had strong Central Asia connections and one of the famous Kazakhs known for his work “Tarikh-e-Rashidi," Mirza Muhammad Haidar Dughlati, is buried in Srinagar, the capital of the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir. His grave was recently restored with the help of the Kazakh Embassy and Archeological Survey of India.

Official visit of Minister of External (Foreign) Affairs of India Sushma Swaraj (center right) to Kazakhstan. The joint photo was taken after meeting with the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan Kairat Abdrakhmanov (center left) Aug. 3 in Astana.

India and Kazakhstan established diplomatic relations soon after Kazakhstan became independent. Since 2009, we have been strategic partners. Our interactions are multi-faceted, some aspects of which were captured in my bilateral interactions during the visit. In recent times, the bonds of friendship between the two countries have grown stronger by recent bilateral exchanges including the two visits of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, a bilateral visit in 2015 and a second visit in 2017 to attend the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Summit. We are looking forward to receiving President Nursultan Nazarbayev in India in the near future.

One strong aspect of our interaction has been defence cooperation. It currently comprises military-technical cooperation, military education and training, joint exercises, bilateral visits, joint sports and adventure activities and a Youth Exchange Programme between the National Cadet Corps of India and Voenni Kafaedra (Cadet Corps) of Kazakhstan. Prabal Dostyk, the joint counter terrorism exercise of the two forces, started in 2016. This year, we have upgraded this joint exercise from a platoon to a company level and rechristened it KAZIND.

We are on course to implement the historic joint deployment of Kazakh army personnel with the Indian contingent in the United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon (UNIFIL). India stands solidly committed to assist the UN in the maintenance of international peace and security with a proud history of UN peacekeeping dating back to its inception in the 1950s. India has contributed nearly 195,000 troops, the largest number from any country, participated in more than 49 missions and 168 Indian peacekeepers have made the supreme sacrifice while serving in UN missions. India has also provided and continues to provide eminent force commanders for the UN. India is the second largest troop contributor with 7,676 personnel deployed in 10 out of 16 active UN peacekeeping missions, of which 760 are police personnel. The first all-women contingent in peacekeeping mission, a Formed Police Unit from India, was deployed in 2007 to the UN Operation in Liberia (UNMIL).

A number of Kazakh army personnel benefit from our capacity building courses held under the Indian Technical and Economic Cooperation (ITEC) programme. In 2018, there has also been participation in each other's defence expositions. India will also likely actively cooperate with Central Asian countries in tackling two of the big problems affecting our contiguous regions, terrorism and drug trafficking.

The India-Kazakhstan Inter Governmental Joint Commission on Trade, Economic, Scientific, Technical, Industrial and Cultural Cooperation, established in 1993 and headed by the Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas on the Indian side and by the Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources on the Kazakh side, has been meeting regularly and has so far held 13 sessions. It has formed a number of joint working groups in different areas, including trade and economic cooperation, connectivity, information technology and space cooperation among others. As a result, trade between the two countries reached $1 billion last year. We feel there is potential to further increase. Currently, lack of direct overland connectivity is affecting movement of goods and both countries are working on improving this situation. India has recently joined the Ashgabat Agreement and the Transports Internationaux Routiers (International Road Transport or TIR) convention and has been promoting the International North South Transportation Corridor (INSTC). While Kazakhstan wants access to the Indian Ocean, which will open up vast and dynamic markets of South and Southeast Asia for Kazakh goods, improved access to Central Asia would also mean that India can access the transportation routes to Russia and European countries.

Central Asian countries are also important for India from the viewpoint of energy and mineral resources security. Kazakhstan already supplies uranium and crude oil to India and we are interested in procuring other mineral resources to meet the requirements of the fast-growing Indian economy. The oil and gas pipeline from Central Asia to South Asia will further integrate the two regions. The Turkmenistan-Afghanistan-Pakistan-India (TAPI) pipeline project will bring natural gas from Turkmenistan to India. Kazakhstan, which has shown interest in joining the project, could also use this route to transport its own natural gas to India. India is also a ready market for agricultural products and manufactured goods from the Central Asian region.

What has amazed me are the great cultural links that Indian films and serials have established between India and the region. In each interaction, Bollywood films were recalled. Each generation has its own favorite film and actors. The favorite films of the region are not different from ours. People in Kazakhstan appear to have appreciated the family-oriented films and dramas from India that mirror the region's own traditions and culture. The news that shooting of a Bollywood film was likely near Almaty was greeted with joy by people, with some of them dreaming of having a real-life glimpse of their favorite Bollywood idols! This cultural similarity is a result of centuries of interaction between the Central Asian region and India. It is in this milieu of cultural similarity and geographical proximity that relations between India and Central Asia have flourished and attained new heights.

Kazakhstan was one of the co-sponsors of the UN General Resolution declaring June 21 as the International Day of Yoga in 2014 and since then, Yoga Day has been observed in many cities of Kazakhstan. This year, the Indian Embassy had a week-long yoga programme combining the celebration of 20 years of Astana with 70 years of India's independence with the theme “Astana @20 and India @70." A new city of republican significance Shymkent was added to the yoga calendar of the Embassy this year and I was informed that the programme there ended with the participants playing with gulal (coloured powder), thus combining yoga with the Indian festival of Holi!

Many Kazakhs avail themselves of scholarships offered by the Indian Council of Cultural Relations for graduate and post-graduate courses and capacity building courses under the Indian Technical and Economic Cooperation programme. I have heard that these courses are highly commended and India will be ready to expand this interaction by offering more slots and tailor-made courses as per the requirement of Kazakhstan. Recently, 25 English teachers from schools of different regions of Kazakhstan were trained at the English and Foreign Language University of Hyderabad. This has been well appreciated and we hope to continue this course for the English teachers for the next few years. On the other hand, we acknowledge the contribution of Kazakhstan in imparting medical education to some of our students. Currently, there are around 3,200 of Indian students studying at various universities of the country.

Swami Vivekanand Cultural Centre in Astana, which is the cultural wing of the Embassy, also offers classes in Indian dance, music, yoga and Hindi language. The Centre for Indian Classical Dance in Almaty run by Akmaral Kainazarova, who was trained at Kalakshetra, the famous dance academy of India, runs courses in classical and contemporary dance, yoga and Hindi. Similarly, Al Farabi Kazakh National University of Almaty, which has a Department of Indology, offers specialisation in Indian studies and classes in Hindi. A school in Almaty named after Mahatma Gandhi hosts an annual Mahatma Gandhi chess tournament. On Oct. 2, we will start several programmes commemorating the 150th anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi, the father of our nation and the leader of our freedom struggle, an inspirational figure for the whole world. Many of these programmes will also be hosted in Kazakhstan, where he is held equally in high esteem.

There is a good bilateral flow of tourists. While tourists from Kazakhstan are likely to visit the Golden Triangle of Delhi, Agra and Jaipur and admire the Taj Mahal, the monument of eternal love, and the beaches of Goa and Kerala, tourists from India delight in viewing the snowcapped mountains of Tien Shan, which reminds them of our own Himalayas. With easing of visa regimes from both sides, tourism is likely to increase in the coming years.

Kazakhstan is a young nation, yet it has made its mark in the international arena and is playing a constructive role in many world processes and bodies. India is one of the founding members of the Conference of Interaction and Confidence-Building Measures in Asia (CICA), an Organisation that embodies the vision of Kazakhstan and President Nazarbayev of promoting peace, security and stability in Asia. It is not a coincidence that the move to establish CICA was backed by an equally visionary personality of India, the late Atal Behari Vajpayee, who participated in the first CICA summit held in Almaty in 2002. It is also apt that India was welcomed as an observer and member of SCO in 2005 and 2017, respectively, when Kazakhstan held its chairpersonship. In 2017-2018, Kazakhstan became the first country from the Central Asia region to become a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council, where its work is being appreciated by one and all.

In 20 years, Kazakhstan has built a splendid capital, Astana, which is now hosting major world events and a number of initiatives such as the Congress of the Leaders of World and Traditional Religions, the Astana Economic Forum and Astana talks on Syria. India was happy to participate in EXPO 2017. All these achievements in a short span of time are, in no small measure, due to the visionary leadership and the great talent of the people of Kazakhstan. India will continue to strengthen and deepen relations with Kazakhstan in the years to come.

Created at : 21.12.2018, 11:05, Updated at : 21.12.2018, 11:05

Сушма Сварадж. Казахстан и Индия: новые горизонты сотрудничества

Ее Превосходительство

г-жа Сушма СВАРАДЖ,

Министр внешних (иностранных) дел Индии

Казахстан и Индия: новые горизонты сотрудничества

Премьер-министр Казахстана Бакытжан Сагинтаев встретился с Министром иностранных дел Сушмой Сварадж. Астана, 3 августа 2018 г. (primeminister.kz)

Я посетила Астану в условиях благоприятной погоды в августе и была тепло принята Министром иностранных дел РК Кайратом Абдрахмановым и Премьер-министром РК Бакытжаном Сагинтаевым. Перед тем как встретиться с ними, я пообщалась с индийской общиной, все представители которой особо похвалили теплоту и гостеприимство казахстанского народа. Небольшая индийская община счастлива и чувствует, что ей рады в Казахстане.

Именно в атмосфере тепла процветает дружба между Индией и Казахстаном. Исторически Центральная Азия и Индия взаимодействовали более 2000 лет. Буддийские монахи путешествовали в Китай через Центральную Азию и основали там буддизм. Резные изображения Будды, виднейших буддийских учителей и санскритских шлоков в Тамгалы-Тас в Алматинской области свидетельствуют о богатых культурных контактах между двумя странами. Саки и кушаны пришли из этого региона в Индию. У моголов были тесные связи с Центральной Азией, и один из знаменитых казахов, известный своей работой «Тарих-и-Рашиди», Мирза Мухаммад Хайдар Дулати похоронен в Сринагаре, столице индийского штата Джамму и Кашмир. Его могила была недавно реставрирована при содействии казахстанского посольства и Археологической службы Индии.

Официальный визит Министра иностранных дел Индии г-жи Сушмы Сварадж в Казахстан. Встреча в МИД РК. Астана, 3 августа 2018 г.

Индия и Казахстан установили дипломатические отношения вскоре после того, как Казахстан обрел независимость. С 2009 года мы являемся стратегическими партнерами. Наше взаимодействие многогранно, и некоторые его аспекты были охвачены в ходе моих двусторонних встреч во время визита. В последнее время дружеская связь между нашими странами усилилась в результате недавних двусторонних мероприятий, включая два визита Премьер-министра Индии Нарендры Моди – двусторонний официальный визит в 2015 году и второй визит в 2017 году для участия в саммите ШОС. Мы с нетерпением ожидаем, что в ближайшее время Индию посетит Президент Нурсултан Назарбаев.

Одним из существенных аспектов нашего взаимодействия является сотрудничество в области обороны. В настоящее время оно включает военно-техническое сотрудничество, военное образование и обучение, совместные учения, двусторонние визиты, совместные спортивные и развлекательные мероприятия, а также Программу молодежного обмена между Национальным кадетским корпусом Индии и Военной кафедрой (кадетский корпус) Казахстана. Совместные контртеррористические учения двух сил «Прабал Достык» начались в 2016 году. В этом году мы модернизировали данные совместные учения от уровня взвода до уровня бригады и переименовали их в KAZIND.

Мы намерены осуществить историческое совместное развертывание персонала казахстанской армии с индийским контингентом во Временных силах Организации Объединенных Наций в Ливане (ВСООНЛ). Индия твердо привержена оказанию помощи ООН в поддержании международного мира и безопасности, гордясь своей историей миротворческой деятельности в рамках ООН, относящейся к началу основания государства в 1950-х годах. Индией были направлены почти 195 тыс. военнослужащих – наибольшее число по сравнению с какой-либо другой страной, – участвовавших в более чем 49 миссиях ООН, а 168 индийских миротворцев пожертвовали своими жизнями во время службы. Наша страна также предоставила и продолжает предоставлять выдающихся командиров для сил ООН. Индия предоставляет второй по величине контингент в количестве 7 676 сотрудников, дислоцированных в 10 из 16 активных миротворческих миссий ООН, из которых 760 человек являются полицейскими. В 2007 году в рамках операции ООН в Либерии (МООНЛ) был развернут первый женский контингент для миссии по поддержанию мира, сформированный полицейской группой из Индии.

Многие казахстанские военнослужащие извлекают пользу из наших курсов по укреплению потенциала, проводимых в рамках Программы индийского технического и экономического сотрудничества (ITEC). В 2018 году стороны также участвовали в оборонных выставках обеих стран. Индия также будет активно сотрудничать со странами Центральной Азии в решении двух крупных проблем, затрагивающих наши смежные регионы, – терроризм и незаконный оборот наркотиков.

Совместная Межправительственная казахстанско-индийская комиссия по торгово-экономическому, научно-техническому, промышленному и культурному сотрудничеству, созданная в 1993 году и возглавляемая Министром нефти и природного газа с индийской стороны и Министром энергетики и минеральных ресурсов с казахстанской стороны, регулярно проводит свои встречи. На сегодняшний день прошло уже 13 заседаний Комиссии. В рамках Комиссии сформирован ряд совместных рабочих групп в различных областях, включая торгово-экономическое сотрудничество, систему связи, информационные технологии, космическое сотрудничество и другие. В результате, торговля между двумя странами в прошлом году достигла 1 млрд. долл. Мы считаем, что есть потенциал для дальнейшего роста. В настоящее время отсутствие прямой сухопутной связи влияет на передвижение товаров, и обе страны работают над улучшением этой ситуации. Недавно Индия присоединилась к Ашхабадскому соглашению и Конвенции МДП («Международные дорожные перевозки», Transports Internationaux Routiers) и продвигает международный транспортный коридор Север-Юг (МТК «Север-Юг»). Казахстан хочет получить доступ к Индийскому океану, который откроет огромные и динамичные рынки Южной и Юго-Восточной Азии для казахстанских товаров. Улучшение доступа к Центральной Азии также будет означать, что Индия может получить доступ к транспортным маршрутам в Россию и европейские страны.

Страны Центральной Азии также важны для Индии с точки зрения безопасности в области энергетики и минеральных ресурсов. Казахстан уже поставляет уран и сырую нефть в Индию, и мы заинтересованы в приобретении других минеральных ресурсов для удовлетворения потребностей быстрорастущей индийской экономики. Нефтегазовый трубопровод, идущий из Центральной Азии в Южную Азию, будет способствовать дополнительной интеграции двух регионов. Проект трубопровода ТАПИ будет поставлять природный газ из Туркменистана в Индию. Казахстан, который проявил интерес к присоединению к проекту, также мог бы использовать этот маршрут для транспортировки собственного природного газа в Индию. Наряду с этим, Индия открыта для сельскохозяйственной продукции и промышленных товаров из региона Центральной Азии.

Меня поразили большие культурные связи, которые установились между Индией и регионом через индийские фильмы и сериалы. На каждой встрече вспоминались фильмы из Болливуда. У каждого поколения есть свой любимый фильм и актеры. Любимые фильмы региона не отличаются от наших. Люди в Казахстане, по-видимому, оценили семейные фильмы и драмы из Индии, которые отражают традиции и культуру региона. Известие о том, что съемки болливудского фильма, скорее всего, будут проходить недалеко от Алматы, было встречено людьми с радостью, некоторые из которых мечтали увидеть вживую любимых болливудских кумиров! Это культурное сходство является результатом многовекового взаимодействия между центральноазиатским регионом и Индией. Именно в этой среде культурного сходства и географической близости отношения между Индией и Центральной Азией процветают и достигают новых высот.

Казахстан был одним из соавторов резолюции Генеральной Ассамблеи ООН по объявлению 21 июня Международным днем йоги в 2014 году, и с тех пор День йоги отмечается во многих городах Казахстана. В этом году индийское посольство провело недельную программу йоги, объединив празднование 20-летия Астаны с 70-летием независимости Индии в рамках темы «Астана @20 и Индия @70». Еще один город республиканского значения, Шымкент, был добавлен в этом году в календарь йоги Посольства, и мне сообщили, что программа закончилась тем, что участники разбрасывали гулал (цветной порошок), таким образом совмещая йогу с индийским праздником Холи!

Многие казахстанцы пользуются стипендиями, предлагаемыми Индийским советом по культурным связям для бакалавриата, магистратуры и курсов повышения квалификации в рамках программы индийского технического и экономического сотрудничества. Я слышала, что эти курсы высоко оценены, и Индия будет готова расширять это взаимодействие, предлагая больше мест и специализированных курсов в соответствии с требованиями Казахстана. Недавно 25 преподавателей иностранного языка из школ разных регионов Казахстана прошли обучение в Университете английского и иностранных языков Хайдарабада. Это было высоко оценено, и мы надеемся продолжить этот курс для преподавателей английского языка в течение следующих нескольких лет. В то же время, мы признаем вклад Казахстана в предоставлении медицинского образования для некоторых наших студентов. В настоящее время около 3200 наших студентов учатся в различных университетах страны.

Культурный центр им. Свами Вивекананда в Астане, который является культурным крылом Посольства, также предлагает занятия по индийскому танцу, музыке, йоге и хинди. Центр индийского классического танца в Алматы под руководством Акмарал Кайназаровой, обучавшейся в знаменитой танцевальной академии Индии Калакшетра, проводит курсы классического и современного танца, йоги и хинди. Аналогичным образом Казахский национальный университет имени Аль-Фараби, где есть кафедра индологии, предлагает специализацию в индийских исследованиях и занятия на хинди. Школа в Алматы, названная в честь Махатмы Ганди, проводит ежегодный шахматный турнир им. Махатмы Ганди. Со 2 октября 2018 года мы начнем несколько программ, посвященных 150-летию Махатмы Ганди, отца нашей нации и лидера нашей борьбы за свободу, вдохновляющей фигуры для всего мира. Многие из этих программ также будут организованы в Казахстане, где он в равной степени высоко уважаем.

Существует хороший двусторонний поток туристов. В то время, как туристы из Казахстана могут посетить «золотой треугольник» (Дели, Агра и Джайпур) и полюбоваться Тадж-Махалом, памятником вечной любви, пляжами Гоа и Кералы, туристы из Индии наслаждаются видом заснеженных гор Тянь-Шаня, которые напоминают им о наших Гималаях. С ослаблением визовых режимов с обеих сторон туризм, вероятно, увеличится в ближайшие годы.

Казахстан – молодое государство, тем не менее он уже обладает высоким авторитетом на международной арене и играет конструктивную роль во многих мировых процессах и органах. Индия является одним из основателей Совещания по взаимодействию и мерам доверия в Азии (СВМДА) – организации, которая воплощает в себе видение Казахстана и его Президента Нурсултана Назарбаева по продвижению мира, безопасности и стабильности в Азии. Не случайно, что идея создания СВМДА была поддержана столь же дальновидной личностью Индии, покойным Аталом Бихари Ваджпаи, который участвовал в первом Саммите СВМДА в Алматы в 2002 году. Кроме того, так вышло, что Индия стала наблюдателем и членом Шанхайской организации сотрудничества в 2005 и 2017 годах, когда Казахстан председательствовал в этой организации. В 2017-2018 годах Казахстан стал первой страной из региона Центральной Азии, которая стала непостоянным членом Совета Безопасности Организации Объединенных Наций, где его работа ценится всеми и каждым.

За 20 лет Казахстан построил великолепную столицу – Астану, в которой сейчас проводятся крупные мировые события и ряд инициатив, таких как Съезд лидеров мировых и традиционных религий, Астанинский экономический форум и Астанинские встречи по Сирии. Индия была рада принять участие в ЭКСПО-2017. Все эти достижения за короткий промежуток времени в немалой степени обусловлены дальновидным руководством и большим талантом людей Казахстана. Индия продолжит укреплять и углублять отношения с Казахстаном в последующие годы.

Добавлено : 21.12.2018, 11:05, Изменено : 21.12.2018, 11:05