Kazakhstan - Oman

The diplomatic relations between the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Sultanate of Oman were established on April 27, 1992.

The Embassy of Kazakhstan to Oman opened on December 10, 2009. The Ambassador of the Republic of Kazakhstan to Oman since 2019 is Nazhmedin Mukhametali.

The Embassy of Oman in Astana opened in August 2006. The Ambassador of Oman to Kazakhstan since 2014 is Sheikh Saeed bin Mohammed bin Ali al-Barami.

Today the legal base of two countries consists of 7 documents.

Official contacts between Kazakhstan and Oman have started by intensive exchange of high level visits. The Prime Minister of Kazakhstan Sergei Tereshchenko visited Muscat in early 1992. Additionaly on the same year the Deputy Prime Minister of Kazakhstan K.Abdullayev also visited Oman.

The remarkable event of bilateral relations was in 1997, when the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan N.Nazarbayev visited Oman for the first time. The Leader of Kazakhstan met with the Sultan of Oman H.M. Qaboos ben Saeed. During the visit, the sides have signed the Joint Memorandum on Mutual Understanding and Protocol on Consultations between Ministries of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan and Oman.

On September 24-27, 1998 the Minister of national economy of Oman Ahmad bin Abdel Nabi Makki visited Almaty. He met the President of Kazakhstan N. Nazarbayev and Prime Minister of the Republic of Kazakhstan N. Balgimbayev.

In December 2001 the President of Kazakhstan N. Nazarbayev awarded the Sultan of Oman H.M. Qaboos ben Saeed the Order of Dostyk the 1st degree.

On September 4-6, 2004 the State Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman Youssef Ben Alawi visited Astana. The Omani Minister met the President N. Nazarbayev, the Foreign Affairs Minister K. Tokayev and Mayor of Astana O. Shukeyev.

On March 15-16, 2008 there was the second official visit of the President of Kazakhstan N. Nazarbayev to Muscat, during which the Joint Memorandum on exemption of holders of diplomatic passports from visa requirements between the Sultanate of Oman and the Republic of Kazakhstan, Memorandum on cooperation in the field of education and science between the Sultanate of Oman and the Republic of Kazakhstan and the Agreement on cooperation between Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Republic of Kazakhstan and Oman Chamber of Commerce and Industry have been signed.

On June 28-30, 2011 in Astana the Omani delegation headed by the State Minister of Foreign Affairs Youssef Ben Alawi took part in the 38th Meeting of Foreign Ministers` Council of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation.

In May 2014, the Deputy Minister of Oil and Gas of Oman S. Al Oufi visited Astana within the framework of participation in the annual Astana Economic Forum. The Omani delegate had a meeting with Minister of oil and gas of Kazakhstan U. Karabalin, during which the issues concerning the implementation of current joint projects and prospects of further expansion of cooperation in oil and gas industry have been raised.

In addition, in the framework of the Astana Economic Forum there was a meeting of the President of "MB Holding Company" M. Barwani with Prime Minister of Kazakhstan K.Massimov, Deputy Prime Minister - Minister of Industry and New Technologies A. Issekeshev, Minister of Foreign Affairs Y. Idrisov.

10-11 June, 2015 the V Congress of the leaders of world and traditional religions was attended by the Deputy Minister of Endowments and Religious Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman Sheikh Dr. Kahlan Nabhan Al-Kharusi.

The Omani delegation headed by Deputy Minister of Oil and Gas S.Al-Oufi participated in X KAZENERGY Eurasian Forum "New energy horizons: Prospects of cooperation and investments" hosted in Astana on September 29 - October 1, 2015.

17-18 February 2016 Vice Minister of agriculture of Kazakhstan
Y. Kusherbaev made a working visit to Muscat. During the bilateral meetings with the head of the Ministry of agriculture and fisheries and the Ministry of foreign Affairs of Oman he discussed the issues of accession of Omanі side to the Charter of the Islamic organization for Food Security in Astana, as well as prospects of mutually beneficial cooperation of the parties in the agricultural sector.

Politically Oman supports Kazakhstan's foreign policy initiatives.

In particular, Oman supported the candidacy of Astana to host EXPO-2017, and the candidacy of Kazakhstan to the world heritage Committee of UNESCO for the period 2013-2017.

In its turn, Kazakhstan supported the commitment of Oman to become a member of the UNESCO Executive Board from the group of Arab States for the period 2015-2019.

In addition, Oman was one of the first member of GCC countries which officially announced its support to Kazakhstan's candidacy for non-permanent members to the UN Security Council for 2017-2018.

The Sultanate of Oman was among the first Arab States which established economic relations with Kazakhstan at the early years of independence. During these years Oman provided a grant of financial assistance in the form of a grant for $ 10 million USD. For the period from 2005 to 1st half of 2015 the gross inflow of direct investments from Oman to Kazakhstan amounted to 253.2 million USD.

According to Committee of Statistics of the Ministry of national economy of Kazakhstan, during the 11 months of 2015, the trade turnover between our countries reached 322,9 thousand USD, including export 306,7 thousand USD and import – 16,3 thousand USD. (In 2014 the trade turnover amounted at 707.8 thousand USD, including export 522,6 thousand USD, import – 185,2 thousand USD).

The main products exported from Kazakhstan to Oman – grain, steel coil, tubular products and etc.

Oman's state oil company "Oman Oil" is involved in the development of the "Pearl" abd "Funga" oil fields in the Kazakh sector of the Caspian Sea in Mangystau region. In each of these projects the share of the Omani company is 20%.

The students from Kazakhstan study at International Maritime College in Sohar in the field of shipping, electoromechanics and radiotechnics on sea vessels.

At the invitation of the omani side, in March 2012, Astana Symphony Orchestra`s performance was presented at the Concert Hall of "Ritz Carlton Al Bustan Palace" hotel in Muscat.

In February, 2013 the concerts of creative teams from Kazakhstan - national ensemble "Sazgen Sazy" and "Saltanat" dance group within the festival "Magic nights of Central Asia" hold the music performance at the Royal Opera House in Muscat

In the period from January 14 to February 14, 2016 the folk dance ensemble “Shalkyma" of State Philharmonic of Astana took part in the annual Muscat Festival.

"Astana" cycle team has been successfully performing since 2012 in annual international competition "Tour of Oman".

Created at : 4.12.2013, 11:27, Updated at : 20.05.2019, 17:30

Сотрудничество Республики Казахстан с Султанатом Оман

Дипломатические отношения между Республикой Казахстан и Султанатом Оман были установлены 27 апреля 1992 г.

Посольство РК в Омане открыто 10 декабря 2009 г. Послом РК в Омане является Нажмедин Мухаметали.

Посольство Омана в Астане открыто в августе 2006 года. Посол Омана в РК с 2014 года – Шейх Саид Мохаммед бин Али Аль-Барами.

На сегодняшний день договорно-правовую основу двух стран составляет 7 документов.

Официальные контакты между Казахстаном и Оманом начались с интенсивного обмена визитами на высоком уровне. В начале 1992 г. Глава Правительства РК С.Терещенко совершил визит в Маскат, в том же году в Омане побывал заместитель Премьер-Министра РК К.Абдуллаев.

Значительным событием в двухсторонних отношениях стал первый официальный визит Президента РК Н.Назарбаева в Оман в сентябре 1997 г.
В ходе визита Глава государства провел переговоры с Султаном Кабусом бен Саидом. Были подписаны основополагающие документы - Совместный меморандум о взаимопонимании между Султанатом Оман и Республикой Казахстан и Протокол о консультациях между министерствами иностранных дел.

24-27 сентября 1998 г. в Алматы находился с визитом Министр национальной экономики Омана Ахмад бен Абдель Наби Макки. Он был принят Президентом РК Н.Назарбаевым, Премьер-Министром РК Н.Балгимбаевым.

В декабре 2001 г. Президент РК Н.Назарбаев наградил Султана Кабуса бен Саида Орденом «Достык» 1-ой степени.

4-6 сентября 2004 г. состоялся визит Государственного министра Султаната Оман по иностранным делам Юсефа бен Алауи в Астану. Оманский министр был принят Президентом Н.Назарбаевым, провел переговоры с Министром иностранных дел К.Токаевым, встретился с Акимом г.Астана О.Шукеевым.

15-16 марта 2008 г. состоялся второй официальный визит Президента РК Н.Назарбаева в Маскат, в ходе которого были подписаны: Совместный меморандум об освобождении владельцев дипломатических паспортов от визовых требований между Султанатом Оман и Республикой Казахстан, Меморандум о сотрудничестве в области образования и науки между Султанатом Оман и Республикой Казахстан и Соглашение о сотрудничестве между Торгово-промышленной палатой Республики Казахстан и Оманской торгово-промышленной палатой.

28-30 июня 2011 г. в Астане делегация Омана во главе с Государственным Министром иностранных дел Юсуфем бен Алауи приняла участие в 38-м Совещании Министров иностранных дел Организации Исламского Сотрудничества.

В мае 2014 г. Заместитель министра нефти и газа С.Аль Ауфи в рамках участия на ежегодном Астанинском экономическом форуме провел встречу с Министром нефти и газа РК У.Карабалиным, в ходе которой были затронуты вопросы, касающиеся реализации действующих совместных проектов, а также перспективы дальнейшего расширения сотрудничества в нефтегазовой отрасли.

Кроме того, в рамках проведения Астанинском экономическом форуме были организованы встречи известного оманского бизнесмена, президента «МБ Холдинг Компани» М.Баруани с Премьер-Министром РК К.Масимовым, Заместителем Премьер-Министра - Министром индустрии и новых технологий А.Исекешевым, Министром иностранных дел Е.Идрисовым.

10-11 июня 2015 г. в работе V Съезда лидеров мировых и традиционных религий принял участие заместитель главного муфтия Султаната Оман Кахлян аль Харуси.

Оманская делегация во главе с Заместителем министра нефти и газа С.Аль Ауфи приняла участие в работе Х Евразийского Форума KAZENERGY «Новые горизонты энергетики: перспективы сотрудничества и инвестиций», который прошел с 29 сентября по 1 октября 2015 года в Астане.

17-18 февраля 2016 года состоялся рабочий визит Вице-министра сельского хозяйства РК Е.Кошербаева в Маскат. В ходе двусторонних встреч с руководством министерства сельского хозяйства и рыбных ресурсов и министерства иностранных дел Омана были обсуждены вопросы присоединения оманской стороны к Уставу Исламской организации по продовольственной безопасности в Астане, а также перспективы взаимовыгодного сотрудничества сторон в аграрной сфере.

В политическом плане Оман в целом оказывает поддержку важным внешнеполитическим инициативам Казахстана.

В частности, Оман поддержал кандидатуру Астаны на проведение ЭКСПО-2017, а также оказал поддержку кандидатуре Казахстана в продвижении в Комитет всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО на период 2013-2017 гг.

В свою очередь, Казахстан поддержал стремление Омана стать членом Исполнительного совета ЮНЕСКО из группы арабских государств на период 2015-2019 гг.

Кроме того, Оман одним из первых стран-членов ССАГПЗ официально объявил о своей поддержке кандидатуры РК в непостоянные члены Совет Безопасности ООН на 2017-2018 гг.

Султанат Оман был в числе первых арабских государств, установивших с Казахстаном экономические отношения на заре независимости. В 1998 году в рамках безвозмездной помощи Казахстану оманская сторона выделила 10 млн. долл. США на строительство дворца “Салтанат Сарайы" в Астане.

За период с 2005 года по 1 полугодие 2015 года валовый приток прямых инвестиций из Омана в Казахстан составил 253,2 млн. долл. США.

По данным Комитета статистики Министерства национальной экономики РК, за 11 месяцев 2015 года товарооборот между нашими странами составил 322,9 тыс долл. США из них экспорт – 306,7 тыс. долл., импорт – 16,3 тыс. долл. (В 2014 году товарооборот составил 707,8 тыс долл. США, из них экспорт – 522,6 тыс. долл., импорт – 185,2 тыс. долл).

Основные товары, экспортируемые из Казахстана в Оман – зерно, сталь в рулонах, трубная продукция и др.

Оманская государственная нефтяная компания «Оман Ойл» участвует в освоении нефтяного месторождения «Жемчужина» в казахстанском секторе Каспийского моря и месторождения «Дунга» в Мангистауской области. В каждом из этих проектов доля оманской компании составляет 20%.

Вмеждународном морском колледже в г.Сохар обучаются студенты из Казахстана по специалностям судоходства, электоромеханики и радиотехники на морских судах.

По приглашению оманской стороны в марте 2012 года состоялось выступление Астанинского симфонического оркестра на сцене концертного зала отеля «Ритц Карлтон Аль Бустан Палас» в Маскате.

В феврале 2013 года в Королевском оперном театре в Маскате состоялись концерты творческих коллективов из Казахстана – национального ансамбля «Сазген Сазы» и танцевальной группы «Салтанат» в рамках фестиваля «Волшебные ночи Центральной Азии».

В период с 14 января по 14 февраля 2016 года ансамбль народных танцев «Шалкыма» Государственной филармонии г. Астаны принял участие в ежегодном Маскатском фестивале.

Велокоманда «Астана» с 2012 года успешно выступает в ежегодных международных соревнованиях «Тур Омана».

Добавлено : 4.12.2013, 11:27, Изменено : 20.05.2019, 17:30