Shavkat Sabirov. New Media in Kazakhstan: Analysis and Development Trends

Shavkat SABIROV

New Media in Kazakhstan: Analysis and Development Trends

The knowledge society and the digital economy of Kazakhstan are tightly connected to the most important component – information space, which represents the major factor of economic development of the country. The rapid development of the media environment results in changes that take place in a short period and are measured by a few days or weeks. New opportunities for communication, exchange of information and business development fundamentally change not only the society, but the whole structure of the state. New media technologies have become a crucial factor of influence on the social, economic, political and cultural lives of millions of people.

Kazakhstan's information space is evolving dynamically and progressively, especially in comparison with other Central Asian countries. The following result was due to the emergence of a huge digital gulf in the development of access to public services, the Internet and the subsequent rise in its use. The gap in technologic capacity and the quality of broadband in the era of the digital world leads, apart from everything else, to the emergence of substantial differences among population, society and business.

The main drivers of the digital society growth of Kazakhstan are the following:

1. The digitalisation of the electronic government and public online services, which turned out to be a stimulus for the society to use the new technologies.

2. The massive use of bank technologies in everyday life, which inevitably leads to electronic paid services development.

3. The economic expansion of the state facilitates the emergence of business and society directions.

4. The high level of Internet penetration and its availability for citizens of the country.

5. The population growth in Kazakhstan.

The intensive increase in the use of the new technologies took place due to the drivers of the information space, which eventually led to the application of new technologies in daily life, monetisation and commercialisation of information domains, emergence of new and modern methods of communication and extending the audience due to mobile devices. The high birth rate consequently resulted in the youth space emergence in the media consumption of the country.

Clearly, the active development of the information space resulted in the growing convergence of the information and communication technologies sector and media systems, which fuses traditional and new media flows of information. Convergence emerged as a phenomenon in the modern information nature on several levels, starting with information integration and communication technologies up to business technologies and consumers, users and technologies of corporate applications. The new creation models and information delivery from the user to the biggest information resource enable the instant publication of materials in the new media and social networks. The development of the digital market of Kazakhstan influences the quality of the content and its delivery, business promotion and advertising, marketing and telecommunications, along with the interplay of government and society.

The deliberation of the media consumption in Kazakhstan 15 years ago was irrelevant, since the majority of Kazakh people paid little attention to the local news, whereas Russian content was more in need. Starting in 2010, however, the Kazakh media online space formation has begun. This period has created new media, new inform agencies appeared and the young network of domestic opinion leaders emerged in the information space. Nowadays, the average Kazakh Internet user starts his/her office hours by browsing local news and hence demonstrates its participation in media consumption. On the other hand, the Kazakh media market constantly continued to be put under pressure by both foreign media agencies and the repeatedly changing political agenda.

The analysis of media consumption in Kazakhstan in past and current years shows that a steady “consumer society" of media content was forged. According to the data taken from Mediametrics Kazakhstan (mediametrics.kz), the website of the analytics of news products, Kazakhstan generates more than 40,000 news articles monthly within the 11-million audience consumption of page views. The evaluation and analysis of data is based on the demand rate of Kazakh media on the World Wide Web. This analysis implies data about the quantity of users from the global web switching to Kazakh websites, along with the fixation of the main social networks, searching systems and other exterior sources of information that those visitors use. This performance is recorded on 190 Kazakh websites, which allows consolidating data on each user from the exterior source in the specific period. In this particular article, we examine 46 sources of the external transitions among which are Android, Facebook, Google, GoogleAPIs, Google News, LentaInform, Mediametrics, Odnoklassniki, Twitter, Vkontakte, Yandex, Yandex News, Yandex Zen and others.

The following table demonstrates overall rates for the Central Asian states since they shaped the media domain in the region. As it can be seen from the table, Kyrgyzstan generates about 12,000 news articles, Uzbekistan about 6,000 and Tajikistan around 1,000 materials.

Country

Quantity of news

Quantity of transitions

Kazakhstan

43,304

10,288,099

Kyrgyzstan

11,951

729,405

Uzbekistan

5,987

503,661

Tajikistan

1,113

8,118

Table 1 – Data for Central Asian countries

According to the statistics, Kazakhstan generated 509,600 news articles along with 136,037,166 switches of Internet users from the World Wide Web to Kazakh sources.

Kazakhstan releases 40,000 news articles on average and about 10-11 million transitions (tables 1 and 2). Notable peak values of Kaznet performance were due to the tragic events in Almaty and Karaganda, which took place in July 2018 and January 2019, respectively. The in-depth analysis of the statistical data shows that the first 2,000 news articles generate more than 95 percent of the transitions. Sometimes, the TOP-100 index of news materials attracts roughly 40 percent of the users.

Table 1

Table 2

The popularity of the Facebook social network in Kazakhstan is a well-known myth. It is easy to dispel the myth just by analysing the shares of media consumption in the country. On average, the share of Facebook social network media consumption constitutes less than 5 percent (table 3), whereas the main pillar of Kazakh media market is represented by the Google searching system with a share of 80 percent. The social networks of Kazakhstan serve more like communication tools for people rather than a media content exchange platform. Moreover, well-known applications like Telegram and WhatsApp also represent a serious competition to the social networks in the communication domain. Unfortunately, the politicisation of Facebook in Kazakhstan is extraordinarily high and sometimes borders on dangerous tension.

Table 3

Internet portals like tengrinews.kz and zakon.kz with an 80-percent share of transitions from external links, serve as the main providers of information.

The last two years are notable for the rise of popularity of the regional online mass media that boomed in the dimension of users' attraction. Regional new media constitute 48 percent of the overall quantity of media resources. The websites of the state's various regions demonstrate remarkable growth and popularity among their users. The media consumption of the country is reflected in the interest in local news articles.

The growth of media content in the state language is also undoubted. On certain days and weeks, the articles written in the Kazakh language are consistently in the lead among the most popular news.

As a result, we can say that the media space of Kazakhstan stands on its own two feet, since users actively use information online services and the audience itself instantly reacts to the occurring events not only in the country, but in the whole world.

___________________________________________

ABOUT THE AUTHOR. Shavkat Sabirov – President of the legal entity Internet Association of Kazakhstan. He graduated from Tomsk State University of Control Systems and Radioelectronics. He has more than 25 years of work experience in the IT sector in addition to vast knowledge and experience in the regulation of the Internet and cyber security, telecommunications and Internet business domains. He also managed the work of the transport information system in Almaty (Asu-GorodGAI). Sabirov, while working as an executive of the expert commission, participated in the establishment of the information and analysis system of the committee of financial monitoring of the Ministry of Finance of Kazakhstan and creation of the system of electronic money. Currently, Sabirov is supervising the analytical system of online statistics of new media in Kazakhstan.

Sabirov acts as an expert in the international events of the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe, United Nations, Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers and RIPE (Réseaux IP Européens) Network Coordination Centre, along with the work of the executive of the accredited organisation to the United Nations Economic and Social Council with special consultative status. He is currently the member of the National Scientific council to the Government of Kazakhstan and the member of Public Council on issues of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Created at : 13.06.2019, 12:00, Updated at : 13.06.2019, 12:00

Шавкат Сабиров. Новые медиа Казахстана: анализ и тренды развития

Шавкат САБИРОВ

Новые медиа Казахстана: анализ и тренды развития

Информационное общество и цифровая экономика Казахстана сегодня не могут существовать отдельно от главной ее составляющей – информационного пространства, которое и является основным фактором экономического развития страны. Медийная среда стремительно развивается, а изменения часто происходят за очень короткое время и измеряются несколькими днями или неделями. Принципиально новые возможности для коммуникаций, информационного обмена и развития бизнеса меняют не только общество, но и само государственное устройство. Новые медийные технологии стали решающим фактором влияния на социальную, экономическую, политическую и культурную жизнь миллионов людей.

В Центральной Азии информационное поле Казахстана развивается наиболее динамично и прогрессивно по сравнению с другими странами. Основными драйверами роста цифрового общества Казахстана стали:

- цифровизация «электронного» правительства и государственные онлайн-услуги, которые стимулируют общество к использованию новых технологий;

- массовое использование банковских технологий в повседневной жизни обязательно приводит к развитию электронных платных услуг;

- экономическое развитие страны, которое способствует развитию новых направлений в бизнесе и обществе;

- высокий уровень проникновения Интернета и его доступность для жителей страны;

- рост населения в Казахстане.

Драйверы развития информационного общества способствовали активному росту использования новых технологий в повседневной жизни, монетизации и коммерциализации информационной сферы, созданию новых и современных методов коммуникаций, расширению аудитории за счет мобильных устройств. Высокая рождаемость, в свою очередь, позволила создать молодежную среду в медиапотреблении страны.

Безусловно, что активное развитие информационной среды привело к растущей конвергенции отрасли информационно-коммуникационных технологий (ИКТ) и медийных систем, в которой происходит слияние традиционных и новых медийных информационных потоков. Конвергенция вошла как явление в современную информационную природу на многих уровнях – от интеграции информационных и коммуникативных технологий до бизнес-технологий и потребителей, конечных пользователей и технологий корпоративных приложений. Новые модели создания и доставки информации от пользователя до крупнейшего информационного ресурса обеспечивают мгновенную публикацию материалов в новых медиа и социальных сетях. Развитие цифрового рынка Казахстана влияет на качество контента и его доставку, продвижение бизнеса и рекламы, маркетинг и телекоммуникации, а также на взаимодействие между государством и обществом.

Еще 15 лет назад не было смысла говорить о медиапотреблении в стране, поскольку казахстанцы мало интересовалось отечественными новостями и, в основном, был более востребован русскоязычный контент на вебсайтах России. Однако с 2010 года началось активное построение казахстанского медийного онлайн-пространства. В этот период начинают создаваться новые медиа, появляются информагентства, формируется первый пул молодых отечественных лидеров мнения в информационном поле. Сегодня казахстанский среднестатистический интернет-пользователь начинает свой рабочий день с местных новостей и тем самым демонстрирует свое участие в медиапотреблении. С другой стороны, казахстанский медиарынок постоянно подвергается давлению как со стороны зарубежных медийных агентств, так и со стороны неоднократно изменяющейся политической повестки.

Анализ медиапотребления в Казахстане в прошлом и текущем годах показывает, что в Казахстане сформировалось устойчивое «общество потребителей» медиаконтента. По данным портала аналитики новостных материалов «Медиаметрикс Казахстан» (mediametrics.kz) в месяц в Казахстане создается более 40,000 новостных материалов при месячной аудитории потребления на уровне 11 млн. просмотров. Оценка и анализ данных производится на основе показателей востребованности казахстанских медиаресурсов во всемирной паутине. Это подразумевает информацию о количестве пользователей из глобальной сети, переходящих на казахстанские вебсайты, а также фиксацию основных социальных сетей, поисковых систем и других информационных внешних (для Казахстана) источников, которые данные пользователи посещают. Информация фиксируется на 190 казахстанских вебсайтах и позволяет агрегировать данные по каждому пользователю из внешних источников в определенный промежуток времени. В настоящей статье рассматриваются 46 источников внешних переходов, среди которых Android, Facebook, Google, GoogleAPis, LentaInform, Mediametrics, News.Google, News.Yandex, Odnoklassniki, Twitter, Vkontakte, Yandex, Zen.Yandex и другие.

Для справедливости в таблице ниже указаны общие показатели для стран Центральной Азии, которые формируют медийное пространство региона. Как видно из таблицы, Кыргызстан формирует около 12 тысяч новостных материалов, Узбекистан около 6 тысяч и чуть более 1 тысячи Таджикистан.

Страна

Количество новостей

Количество переходов

Казахстан

43,304

10,288,099

Кыргызстан

11,951

729,405

Узбекистан

5,987

503,661

Таджикистан

1,113

8,118

Таблица 1- Данные по странам Центральной Азии

Так, например, в 2018 году в Казахстане было произведено 509,600 новостных материала при 136,037,166 переходах интернет-пользователей на казахстанские новости из глобальной сети.

Средние показатели для Казахстана – это около 40 тысяч новостных материалов в месяц и около 10-11 млн. переходов (рисунки 1 и 2). Характерные пиковые значения в июле 2018 и январе 2019 связаны с двумя трагическими событиями в г. Алматы и в г. Караганде.

Рис. 1. Количество новостных статей с января 2018 – апрель 2019 года.

Рис.2. Количество переходов на новостные материалы с января 2018 по апрель 2019 года

Более глубокий анализ статистических данных показывает, что первые 2000 новостей формируют более 95% переходов, а в некоторых месяцах ТОП-100 новостей привлекает около 40% пользователей.

Давно известный миф – популярность социальной сети Facebook в Казахстане. Этот миф легко развеять, если рассмотреть доли медийного потребления страны. В среднем доля в медиапотреблении социальной сети Facebook составляет менее 5% (рисунок 3), в то время как основную составляющую для казахстанского медиарынка представляет поисковая система Google с долей более 80%. Социальные сети Казахстана сегодня выступают больше как средства коммуникации для людей, чем площадка для обмена медийным контентом. Кроме этого, конкуренцию соцсетям в коммуникации составляют известные мессенджеры в виде Whatsapp и Telegram. К сожалению, политизация Facebook в Казахстане чрезвычайно высока и порой граничит с опасным напряжением.

Рис.3

Основными поставщиками информации выступают, как правило, интернет-порталы tengrinews.kz и zakon.kz с общей долей более 80% переходов пользователей из внешних источников.

За последние два года отмечается растущая популярность региональных онлайн-СМИ, которые за прошедшее время сделали огромный рывок с точки зрения привлечения пользователей. Региональные новые медиа занимают сегодня 48% от общего количества медийных ресурсов. Вебсайты регионов страны показывают очень хороший рост и популярность среди пользователей. Медиапотребление показывает интерес к локальным новостным материалам.

Безусловен рост контента и на государственном языке. В некоторые дни и недели материалы на казахском языке стабильно лидируют среди самых популярных новостей.

Таким образом, можно заключить, что медиапространство Казахстана прочно стоит на «ногах», так как пользователи активно используют информационные онлайн услуги, а аудитория молниеносно реагирует на происходящие события не только в стране, но и в мире.

____________________________________________

ОБ АВТОРЕ. Шавкат Сабиров – Президент Объединения юридических лиц «Интернет Ассоциации Казахстана». Окончил Томский университет систем управления и радиоэлектроники (Россия). Имеет более 25 лет опыта работы в ИТ-индустрии и обширные знания и опыт в области регулирования Интернета и кибербезопасности, в области телекомуникаций и интернет-бизнеса. Руководил проектами информационной транспортной системы г. Алматы «АСУ-ГородГАИ». В качестве председателя экспертной комиссии принимал участие в создании информационно-аналитической системы и системы электронных денег Комитета по финансовому мониторингу Министерства финансов Республики Казахстан. В настоящее время руководит аналитической системой онлайн-статистики новых медиа Республики Казахстан.

Выступает в качестве эксперта в международных мероприятиях ОБСЕ, ООН, ICANN, RIPE NCC, а также в качестве руководителя аккредитованной организации при ЭКОСОС ООН со специальным консультативным статусом. В настоящее время является членом Национального Научного Света при Правительстве Республики Казахстан, членом Общественного Совета Министерства иностранных дел Республики Казахстан.

Добавлено : 13.06.2019, 12:00, Изменено : 13.06.2019, 12:00