IAEA

International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) was established in 1957 as independent intergovernmental organization within the UN system in accordance with decision of the UN as of December 3, 1955. It annually presents report on its activity at the UN General Assembly and, if necessary, to the UN Security Council.

The Republic of Kazakhstan became 121th member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) on February 14, 1994. The Agreement between the Republic of Kazakhstan and the IAEA on application of safeguards in connection with the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (S. Tereshchenko-K. Bliks) was signed in Almaty, and ratified by the Decree of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan No 2344 as of June 19, 1995.

In accordance with the Safeguards Agreement all nuclear activities in Kazakhstan are subject to the IAEA safeguards. The IAEA inspections are conducted regularly in nuclear facilities of Kazakhstan, which is aimed at checks and confirmation of number of nuclear materials and nuclear activities officially put on record by a country.

The Supplementary protocol to the Agreement between Kazakhstan and IAEA on Safeguards was signed on February 6, 2004, and was ratified on February 19, 2007.

Upon the request of Kazakhstan missions of international expert groups took place in 1993 and 1994, which organized by the IAEA to research radiation situation in the territory of former Semipalatinsk nuclear test site. As a result of missions in the IAEA report “Radiological conditions at the Semipalatinsk test site, Kazakhstan: Preliminary Assessment and Recommendations for Further Study" was published in 1998.

In 2008 the NAC Kazatomprom and the IAEA started implementation of joint project called “Accounting and monitoring nuclear materials, physical protection, export and customs control. New methods of identification of nuclear materials."

Kazakhstan actively cooperates with the IAEA within Technical cooperation program – national projects in the field of nuclear knowledge management, improvement of wheat and corn cultivars with application of nuclear and molecular methods, establishment of the department of nuclear medicine in No 2 East Kazakhstan oncological center, introduction of highly effective neutron activation analysis for industrial needs, support of modernization and transfer from the BWR to low enriched uranium fuel and support of radio-environmental monitoring. Moreover, Kazakhstan participates in implementation of almost 50 regional and interregional projects. Cooperation of Kazakhstan and the IAEA within technical cooperation provide acess to modern technologies applicable in various fields.

Modern project jointly with the IAEA on transfer of part of the Semipalatinsk test site to economic turnover was initiated in 2010. Considering significant territory of the test site – exceeding 18.5 thous. square meters, Kazakhstan expects approval of IAEA and international experts of Kazakh assessmentresults on contamination level of the test site for further safe transfer of their part for economic use.

Agreement between the Government of Kazakhstan and the IAEA on Establishment of the IAEA Low Enriched Uranium Bank was signed in August 2015 in Astana.

Created at : 4.12.2013, 19:50, Updated at : 9.05.2014, 00:59

МАГАТЭ

Международное агентство по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ) созданов 1957 году в соответствии с решением ООН от 3 декабря 1955 года в качестве независимой межправительственной организации в системе ООН. Ежегодно представляет доклад о своей деятельности Генеральной Ассамблее и при необходимости – Совету Безопасности ООН.

14 февраля 1994 года Республика Казахстан стала 121 членом Международного агентства по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ). 26 июля 1994 года в Алматы было подписано Соглашение между Республикой Казахстан и МАГАТЭ о применении гарантий в связи с Договором о нераспространении ядерного оружия (С.Терещенко-Х.Бликс), ратифицированное Указом Президента Республики Казахстан № 2344 от 19 июня 1995 года.

В соответствии с Соглашением о применении гарантий вся ядерная деятельность в Казахстане поставлена под гарантии МАГАТЭ. Регулярно проводятся инспекции МАГАТЭ на ядерных объектах Казахстана, целью которых является проверка и подтверждение количества ядерных материалов и ядерной деятельности, официально заявленных страной.

6 февраля 2004 года в Вене был подписан Дополнительный протокол к Соглашению между Казахстаном и МАГАТЭ о применении гарантий, который был ратифицирован 19 февраля 2007 года и вступил в силу 9 мая 2007 г.

По просьбе Казахстана в 1993 и 1994 годах были проведены миссии международных экспертных групп, организованных МАГАТЭ, для исследования радиационной ситуации на территории бывшего Семипалатинского ядерного испытательного полигона. По результатам миссий в 1998 году опубликован отчет МАГАТЭ "Радиологические условия на Семипалатинском испытательном полигоне Казахстана: Предварительные оценки и рекомендации по последующему исследованию".

В 2008 году АО «НАК «Казатомпром» и МАГАТЭ приступили к реализации совместного проекта «Учет и контроль ядерных материалов, физическая защита, экспортный и таможенный контроль. Новые методы идентификации ядерных материалов».

Казахстан активно сотрудничает с МАГАТЭ в рамках программы Технического сотрудничества - осуществляется реализация национальных проектов в области управления ядерными знаниями, улучшения сортов пшеницы и кукурузы с использованием ядерных и молекулярных методов, создания отделения ядерной медицины в Восточно-казахстанском онкологическом центре №2, внедрения высокоэффективного нейтронно–активационного анализа для промышленных нужд, поддержке модернизации и перевода реактора ВВР-К на низкообогащенное урановое топливо, а также поддержке радиоэкологического мониторинга. Кроме того, Казахстан участвует в реализации почти 50 региональных, а также межрегиональных проектов. Сотрудничество Казахстана с МАГАТЭ в рамках технического сотрудничества предоставляет доступ к современным технологиям, применяемым в различных областях жизнедеятельности.

В 2010 году начат совместный с МАГАТЭ проект по передаче части территории Семипалатинского испытательного полигона в хозяйственный оборот. Принимая во внимание значительную территорию, занимаемую полигоном - более 18.5 тыс. кв. км, перед Казахстаном стоит задача подтверждения представителями МАГАТЭ и международными экспертами казахстанских данных проведения оценки зараженности земель СИП для последующей безопасной передачи их части в хозяйственное пользование.

В августе 2015 года в Астане было подписано Соглашение между Правительством РК и МАГАТЭ о создании Банка низкообогащенного урана МАГАТЭ в Республике Казахстан.

Добавлено : 4.12.2013, 19:50, Изменено : 9.05.2014, 00:59