​Factsheet on the Astana Process

OVERVIEW

President of Kazakhstan, Nursultan Nazarbayev, initially offered Astana as a venue that could be used to progress ceasefire talks between opposing sides in Syria. To date, there have been four rounds of Syrian peace talks in Astana in 2017, with a fifth taking place on July 4-5 2017. The contribution of the Astana talks to resolving the conflict through diplomatic dialogue have been recognised by the United Nations and numerous world leaders. The Astana process is complementary to the Geneva one, with both aiming to work in tandem to ensure a peaceful and stable solution to the conflict in Syria.

  • January 23-24, 2017 (First Meeting)

This meeting was arranged with the intention of strengthening the ceasefire signed on December 30, 2016. These were indirect talks between Syrian armed rebel factions and representatives of the Syrian government, supported by Russia, Iran and Turkey, with UN delegation acting as intermediary, as well as US delegation as an observer. These talks are credited as being the first to include both the Syrian government and an armed opposition.

Outcome

The guarantor states agreed to establish a tripartite mechanism to monitor the ceasefire in Syria; expressed their readiness to cooperate in combating ISIS and An-Nusra; agreed to hold meetings on the Astana platform on specific issues.

UN Envoy to Syria, Staffan de Mistura, stated that Kazakhstan “has already shown its efforts for the resolution of the most difficult situations in the international arena … [and] Kazakhstan's non-permanent membership in the UN Security Council will represent an additional opportunity to help resolve the Syrian conflict".

  • February 15-16, 2017 (Second Meeting)

These talks involved the three guarantor countries – Russia, Iran and Turkey – as well as representatives from the Syrian government and armed Syrian opposition groups, with the United Nations, the US and Jordan as observers.

Outcome

The guarantor states agreed to establish a Joint Monitoring Group, the results of which would be reported to the UN; agreed on a draft provision on reconciled areas in Syria; discussed a draft provision on the exchange of prisoners.

  • March 14-15, 2017 (Third Meeting)

The meeting was attended by representatives of Russia, Turkey and Iran, as well as the Syrian government delegation. Delegations of the UN, the US and Jordan participated as observers.

Outcome

The guarantor states reviewed the current state of ceasefire in Syria and the situation in reconciled areas; discussed a provision on the working group on the exchange of detained and imprisoned persons as well as prospects for establishing a working group on Syrian Constitution and creating a single map indicating positions of terrorist groups such as ISIS and Jabhat an-Nusra and locations of the armed opposition groups. They also addressed the issue of demining the UNESCO World Heritage sites in Syira.

  • May 3-4, 2017 (Fourth Meeting)

The fourth meeting of the Astana talks included delegations from Russia, Iran and Turkey, and representatives of the Syrian government and Syrian armed opposition. A delegation from the United States, United Nations and Jordan all participated as observers.

Outcome

The guarantor states signed a Memorandum on the creation of de-escalation zones in Syria. According to the Memorandum, the de-escalation areas in Idlib, Homs, eastern Ghouta, as well as Deraa and Al-Quneitra would be created with the aim to put a prompt end to violence, improve the humanitarian situation and create favourable conditions to advance political settlement of the conflict in the Syrian Arab Republic.

Delegations of the guarantor states – Iran, Russia and Turkey – adopted a Joint Statement, reaffirming their commitment to the sovereignty, independence, unity and territorial integrity of Syria. They also expressed their conviction that the solution of the Syrian conflict is possible only through political means.

  • July 4-5, 2017 (Fifth Meeting)

The fifth meeting is taking place in Astana on July 4-5, 2017.

Created at : 4.07.2017, 16:45, Updated at : 4.07.2017, 16:45

​Краткая справка об Астанинском процессе

ОБЩАЯ ИНФОРМАЦИЯ

Президент Республики Казахстан Н.А.Назарбаев заявил о готовности предоставить Астанинскую площадку для проведения переговоров о прекращении боевых действий между противоборствующими сторонами в Сирии. С января по май 2017 года в Астане состоялись четыре международные встречи по сирийскому урегулированию. В настоящее время в Астане проходит пятая встреча. Вклад Астаны в урегулирование конфликта посредством дипломатического диалога признан Организацией Объединенных Наций и многочисленными мировыми лидерами. Астанинский процесс дополняет Женевский, и оба призваны обеспечить мирное и стабильное разрешение сирийского конфликта.

  • 23-24 января 2017 г. (Первая встреча)

Встреча преследовала цель укрепить режим прекращения огня, соглашение о котором подписано 30 декабря 2016 года. В ее рамках состоялись косвенные переговоры между вооруженной оппозицией и правительством Сирии при содействии России, Ирана и Турции. Делегация ООН выступила посредником, делегация США участвовала в качестве наблюдателя. Это были первые переговоры, в которых участвовали как сирийское правительство, так и вооруженная оппозиция.

Результаты

Страны-гаранты договорились о создании трехстороннего механизма контроля за соблюдением прекращения огня в Сирии; выразили готовность к сотрудничеству в борьбе с ДАИШ/ИГИЛ и Ан-Нусрой; договорились проводить встречи на Астанинской площадке по конкретным вопросам.

Специальный представитель Генерального секретаря ООН по Сирии Стаффан де Мистура заявил, что Казахстан «уже продемонстрировал усилия для разрешения самых сложных ситуаций на международной арене ... [и] непостоянное членство Казахстана в Совете Безопасности ООН является еще одной возможностью для способствования разрешению конфликта в Сирии».

  • 15-16 февраля 2017 г. (Вторая встреча)

В переговорах участвовали страны-гаранты – Россия, Иран и Турция, представители сирийского правительства и вооруженной сирийской оппозиции. ООН, США и Иордания выступили в качестве наблюдателей.

Результаты

Страны-гаранты достигли договоренностей о создании подотчетной ООН совместной рабочей группы по мониторингу соблюдения режима прекращения огня; согласовали проект положения о районах, присоединившихся к перемирию; обсудили проект положения об обмене заключенными.

14-15 марта 2017 г. (Третья встреча)

Во встрече приняли участие представители России, Турции и Ирана, а также делегация сирийского правительства. Делегации ООН, США и Иордании выступили в качестве наблюдателей.

Результаты

Страны-гаранты рассмотрели текущее состояние режима прекращения огня и ситуацию в районах, присоединившихся к перемирию; обсудили положение о рабочей группе по обмену заключенными, перспективы создания рабочей группы по сирийской конституции и создание единой карты с указанием позиций террористических групп, таких как ДАИШ/ИГИЛ и Фронт ан-Нусра, и мест дислокации вооруженных оппозиционных групп. Также был рассмотрен вопрос о разминировании объектов Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО в Сирии.

  • 3-4 мая 2017 г. (Четвертая встреча)

В переговорах участвовали делегации России, Ирана и Турции, а также представители сирийского правительства и вооруженной сирийской оппозиции. Делегации ООН, США и Иордания выступили в качестве наблюдателей.

Результаты

Страны-гаранты подписали Меморандум о создании зон деэскалации в Сирии. Согласно документу, зоны деэскалации будут созданы в провинциях Идлиб, Хомс, Восточная Гута, а также Дераа и Кунейтра с целью скорейшего прекращения насилия, улучшения гуманитарной ситуации и создания благоприятных условий для политического урегулирования конфликта в Сирийской Арабской Республике.

Делегации стран-гарантов – Ирана, России и Турции – приняли Совместное заявление, в котором подтвердили приверженность суверенитету, независимости, единству и территориальной целостности Сирии. Они также выразили убежденность в том, что решение сирийского конфликта возможно только политическим путем.

  • 4-5 июля 2017 г. (Пятая встреча)

Пятая встреча в Астане начала свою работу 4 июля 2017 года.

Добавлено : 4.07.2017, 16:45, Изменено : 4.07.2017, 16:45