Kazakh-American Cooperation Discussed In Astana

ASTANA, December 10-11, 2018 - As part of the visit to Astana, the Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for South and Central Asia, Alice Wells, met with the First Deputy Prime Minister of Kazakhstan, co-chairman of the Kazakhstan-US High-Level Working Group on Economic Cooperation, Askar Mamin, and the Foreign Minister Kairat Abdrakhmanov.

During the talks, Alice Wells conveyed congratulations to President of Kazakhstan, Nursultan Nazarbayev, from US President Donald Trump on the occasion of the upcoming Independence Day of Kazakhstan. The head of the American delegation commended “good progress” in the implementation of the agreements reached at the highest level following the official visit of the head of state to the United States. The representative of the US Department of State congratulated the Kazakh side on the successful two-year membership of Kazakhstan in the UN Security Council. She assessed Kazakhstan's peacekeeping mission under the auspices of the UN in Lebanon as “an important step, which once again underlines the leading role of Kazakhstan in the region”. The American diplomat stressed that Washington welcomed the expanded strategic partnership with Astana and intended to maintain strong and stable relations with both Kazakhstan and Central Asia as a whole.

On December 11, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary Wells co-chaired a regular review meeting of the Enhanced Strategic Partnership Dialogue (ESPD) between Kazakhstan and the United States. Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Yerzhan Ashikbayev, co-chaired the meeting from the Kazakh side.

The main purpose of the meeting of the bilateral Commission was to take stock of the joint work of both sides in 2018 and determine the prospects for further enhancement of strategic partnership between the two countries, including the schedule of bilateral meetings in 2018.

The event's agenda covered a wide range of issues, including cooperation in global and regional security, combating transnational threats, including terrorism, drug trafficking, money laundering, cybercrime, non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, trade, economic and investment cooperation, strengthening regional trade relations in Central Asia, particularly through the Trade and Investment Framework Agreement, interaction within international trade organizations, and cooperation in human and humanitarian dimensions.

The ESPD mainly discussed the implementation of the agreements reached following the official visit of President Nazarbayev to the United States in January 2018. The joint Commission participants noted the importance of further deepening business partnership in diversification of Kazakhstan's economy, in particular, in such areas as digitalization, the aerospace industry, agribusiness, health care, and finance, including the Astana International Financial Center.

The sides considered the possibility of enhancing the US Generalized System of Preferences, which would increase Kazakh exports to the United States. They underlined the importance of revitalizing the work of the bilateral Commission on scientific and technical cooperation. An agreement was reached to continue effective cooperation within the WTO, as well as the work of Kazakhstan with the OECD.

In the cultural and humanitarian sphere, the American side expressed its readiness to assist in the implementation of the head of state's initiative to promote trilingualism in Kazakhstan by sending English language teachers and organizing relevant courses in the country.

Created at : 11.12.2018, 19:15, Updated at : 11.12.2018, 19:15

​Казахстанско-американское сотрудничество обсуждено в Астане

АСТАНА, 10-11 декабря 2018 года - В рамках визита Первого заместителя Помощника Государственного секретаря по делам Южной и Центральной Азии Элис Уэллс в Астану состоялись ее встречи с Первым заместителем Премьер-Министра РК – сопредседателем казахстанско-американской Рабочей группы высокого уровня по экономическому сотрудничеству Аскаром Маминым и Министром иностранных дел Кайратом Абдрахмановым.

В ходе переговоров Э. Уэллс передала поздравления в адрес Президента Казахстана Нурсултана Назарбаева от Президента США Дональда Трампа по случаю наступающего дня Независимости Казахстана. Глава американской делегации отметила «хороший прогресс» в реализации договоренностей, достигнутых на высшем уровне по итогам официального визита Главы государства в США. Представитель Государственного департамента США поздравила казахстанскую сторону с успешными итогами двухлетнего членства Казахстана в Совете Безопасности ООН. Оценила миротворческую миссию Казахстана под эгидой ООН в Ливане как «важный шаг, который ещё раз подчеркивает лидирующую роль РК в регионе». Американский дипломат подчеркнула, что Вашингтон высоко ценит расширенное стратегическое партнерство с Астаной и намерен поддерживать крепкие и стабильные взаимоотношения как с Казахстаном, так и с Центральной Азией в целом.

11 декабря Э. Уэллс приняла участие в качестве сопредседателя очередного обзорного заседания Комиссии по расширенному стратегическому партнерству (КРСП) между Казахстаном и США. С казахстанской стороны сопредседателем выступил заместитель Министра иностранных дел Ержан Ашикбаев.

Основной целью заседания двусторонней Комиссии было подведение итогов совместной работы обеих сторон в 2018 году и определение перспектив дальнейшего расширения стратегического партнерства между двумя странами, включая график двусторонних встреч в 2018 году.

Повестка дня мероприятия охватила широкий круг вопросов, включая взаимодействие в сфере глобальной и региональной безопасности, борьбы с транснациональными угрозами в том числе с терроризмом, наркотрафиком, отмыванием денег, преступлениями в киберпространстве, нераспространения оружия массового уничтожения, торгово-экономическое и инвестиционное сотрудничество, укрепление региональных торговых связей в Центральной Азии, в частности, по линии Рамочного соглашения по торговле и инвестициям, взаимодействие в рамках международных торговых организаций, сотрудничество в человеческом и гуманитарном измерениях.

Основной акцент работы КРСП был сделан на обсуждение хода реализации договоренностей, достигнутых по итогам официального визита Президента Казахстана Нурсултана Назарбаева в США, состоявшегося в январе 2018 года. Участники совместной Комиссии отметили важность дальнейшего углубления делового партнерства в рамках диверсификации казахстанской экономики, в частности, в таких сферах, как цифровизация, аэрокосмическая промышленность, агропромышленный комплекс, здравоохранение, финансы, включая Международный финансовый центр «Астана».

Стороны рассмотрели возможность расширения Генеральной системы преференций США, что позволит увеличить объемы поставок казахстанских экспортеров в США. Подчеркнута важность активизации работы двусторонней Комиссии по научно-техническому сотрудничеству. Достигнута договоренность о продолжении эффективного взаимодействия в рамках ВТО, а также работы Казахстана с ОЭСР.

В культурно-гуманитарном аспекте американская сторона выразила готовность оказать содействие в реализации инициативы Главы государства по продвижению трехъязычия в Казахстане путем направления преподавателей английского языка и организации соответствующих курсов в нашей стране.

Добавлено : 11.12.2018, 19:15, Изменено : 11.12.2018, 19:15