Kazakhstan addressed the UNSC consultations on Middle East

Astana, September 26, 2017 – Kazakh delegationtook part in the UN Security Council consultations on the Middle East, including the Palestinian question. NickolayMladenov, UN Special Coordinator briefed the meeting on the peace process in the Middle East.

During the public part of the briefing, Kairat Umarov, Permanent Representative of Kazakhstan to the United Nations urged the sides to come back to the negotiations table to achieve peaceful, fair and robust settlement of the conflict in accordance the international law.

According to the statement, the leaders of Israel and Palestine must undertake specific measures enabling them to maintain the possibility of peaceful coexistence of both states and to strengthen prospects of achieving peace based on inalienable right of Palestinians to statehood and right of Israel to security.

Kazakhstan called the Palestinian and Israeli sides to demonstrate political will to reach the historical peace agreement on the basis of “Two States for Two Peoples” principle through strengthening the relationships of peace, security and development. This includes promotion of confidence-building measures in the field of development, which is the second pillar of the UN.

Kazakh delegation proposed to revive the works of the Middle East Quartet (the US, Russia, UN and EU). Moreover the delegation also drew the attention of the community of nations to the fragile situation and prevailing insecurity in the Gaza Strip. Kazakhstan welcomed the recent diplomatic efforts of the United States, Russia and Egypt to bring this situation to peace.

Created at : 26.09.2017, 15:00, Updated at : 26.09.2017, 15:00

Казахстан выступил на консультациях в СБ ООН по Ближнему Востоку

АСТАНА, 26 сентября 2017 года – Делегация Казахстана приняла участие в консультациях Совета Безопасности ООН по положению на Ближнем Востоке, включая вопрос Палестины. На заседании был заслушан брифинг Спецкоординатора ООН по мирному процессу на Ближнем Востоке Николая Младенова.

Постоянный Представитель Казахстана при ООН Кайрат Умаров, выступивший на открытой части брифинга, призвал стороны вернуться за стол переговоров для достижения мирного, справедливого и прочного урегулирования конфликта в соответствии с нормами международного права.

Лидеры Израиля и Палестины должны предпринять конкретные шаги, которые позволят сохранить возможность мирного сосуществования двух государств и укрепят перспективы достижения мира на основе неотъемлемого права палестинцев на государственность и права Израиля на безопасность, сказано в заявлении.

Казахстан призвал палестинскую и израильскую стороны продемонстрировать политическую волю к достижению исторического мирного соглашения по принципу «два государства для двух народов» путем укрепления отношений мира, безопасности и развития. В том числе, и через продвижение мер доверия в сфере развития, являющегося «вторым столпом» ООН.

Казахстанская делегация предложила возродить работу ближневосточного «квартета» (США, РФ, ООН и ЕС). Она также обратила внимание международного сообщества на нестабильную и напряженную обстановку в секторе Газа. Казахстан приветствовал недавние дипломатические усилия США, России и Египта по разрешению данной проблематики.

Добавлено : 26.09.2017, 15:00, Изменено : 26.09.2017, 15:00