Berik Aryn. Religious Freedom: Kazakhstan’s Civilisational Choice

Berik ARYN

RELIGIOUS FREEDOM: KAZAKHSTAN'S CIVILISATIONAL CHOICE

Today Kazakhstan, with its unique historical and cultural conditions, distinctive social development and specific character of religious sphere, is implementing its own model of state-religion relations.

The principle of freedom of religion is reflected in the Civil Code, Law on Religious Activities and Religious Associations and other legal acts. The country has created all necessary state legal guarantees to ensure freedom of religion.

The fundamental characteristic of state-religion relations is the constitutional provision on the secular nature of the state.

Kazakhstan is unique in the fact that, thanks to unity and harmony, the country has successfully overcome the difficult path of the historical establishment of its statehood and gained the recognition of the international community.

Sovereignty required the state to be independent in managing economic and political processes, as well as processes in such a delicate and sensitive sphere as religion, with the development of its own model of building state-religion relations.

The close attention of the young state to the religious sphere was due to the development of the religion phenomenon in our region against the background of the collapse of the atheistic system of the USSR at the end of the 20th century.

Visit to the Holy Dormition Cathedral. Astana, 7 January 2019

Throughout modern history, the course towards promotion and consolidation of the policy of interfaith and inter-ethnic harmony, announced by the President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev at the dawn of independence, has shaped the key meaning of Kazakhstan's state policy in the field of religion – unity of the nation in the name of development, stability and a safe future; long-term strategy for the spiritual modernisation of society and verified goals for the regulation of the religious sphere and focused policy to achieve them.

The country's main law regulates the area of the exercise of freedom of religion or spread of religious beliefs in order to protect the public order, security, life, health, morality, rights and freedoms of citizens.

According to Article 14 of the Constitution of Kazakhstan, “everyone shall be equal before the law and court. No one shall be subject to any discrimination for reasons of origin, social, property status, occupation, sex, race, nationality, language, attitude towards religion, convictions, place of residence or any other circumstances." Article 22 of the Constitution of the Republic of Kazakhstan clearly states: “Everyone shall have the right to freedom of conscience."

President Nazarbayev, speaking in 1993 with the report titled “Our focus is consolidation, social progress and social partnership," stressed that “Kazakhstan is a secular state; this principle is enshrined in the Constitution." At the same time, he emphasised that “Kazakhstan will not be a state professing religious principles in domestic and foreign policy and, moreover, there can be no talk of creating parties on religious platforms."

One of the first legal acts after Kazakhstan gained independence was the Law on Religious Freedom and Religious Associations (1992), which outlined the basic principles of the young state's religious policy. The law created equal and favourable conditions for denominations to exercise their functions, providing them with ample opportunities for activities. It established the equality of all religions before the law and the right of citizens to determine their attitude to religion.

The main result of the law was the creation of effective legislative foundations that led to the absence of interfaith conflicts in Kazakhstan's society and a positive image of the country in the world community as the initiator of unique inter-religious dialogue platforms of a global scale.

In 1993, at the initiative of President Nazarbayev, the Constitution introduced a provision prohibiting the activities of public and religious organisations proclaiming or practicing religious intolerance.

This provision is reflected in Article 53 of the 1995 Constitution, but with a broader wording. In addition, the text of the new Constitution includes an article against the propaganda and advocacy of religious supremacy.

A number of provisions were introduced into the Civil Code concerning the activities of missionaries, foreign leaders of religious associations and religious educational institutions, which should be agreed on with the state agencies of the country (Article 109).

The Decree of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan on measures to prevent and suppress manifestations of terrorism and extremism (Feb. 10, 2000) outlined the task for state agencies to exercise strict supervision over the prevention of the radicalisation of the religious conscience of citizens and the undermining of interfaith and inter-ethnic harmony in society.

Thus, from the first years of independence, Kazakhstan has officially adhered to a policy of non-interference in the religious sphere, but at the same time coordinates the processes in the sphere of freedom of religion by adopting a set of laws in the political and legal area.

In general, the benevolent position of the state in religious matters created prerequisites for a significant increase in religious associations in the state. An analysis of the situation of that period suggests that the existing network of religious societies covered all regions, cities and most districts of the state and was represented by religious groups that are traditional and non-traditional for our country (Baha'i, Jesus Christ's Church, New Life Church, Society for Krishna Consciousness, Sun Bok Ym, Unification Church and various missions).

In fact, as of Jan. 1, 2011, the number of religious associations grew more than six times and amounted to 4,551, while the number of denominations and faiths reached 46. This diversity of denominational space could not but affect the change in the nature of state-religion relations. In addition, the renaissance of religion and religious culture was accompanied by the scale of mosques, temples and other religious buildings being constructed. The number of believers among of the population increased proportionally.

As a result, according to domestic experts, “absolutisation of the principle of freedom of religion, embodied in extremely democratic religious legislation, to a certain extent caused the young state's vulnerability to new challenges and threats - starting from the penetration of pseudo-religious extremism and terrorism into Kazakhstan and ending with the erosion of traditional values and religious identity of the people."

In these conditions, the demands of society are being updated for the strengthening control over the observance of legislation in religious matters, more active participation of the state in the processes in the religious field, mediation functions between religious organisations and the state, studying the needs of believers to exercise their religious freedoms and elimination of existing hotbeds of tension and conflict situations on denominational grounds.

These factors necessitated the adoption by the Parliament of the country in October 2011 of a new Law on Religious Activities and Religious Associations, defining a new strategic line of the state in the sphere of state-religion relations and ensuring religious freedom regulating religious activities and the functioning of religious associations.

The law was developed taking into account the interfaith situation in the country based on the experience of advanced European secular states and is aimed at strengthening tolerance and harmony in Kazakhstan's society.

The preamble separately mentions Hanafi Islam and Orthodox Christianity and their special role in the history of Kazakhstan. This is done with the aim of identifying certain priorities in the religious policy of the state, which, being secular, nevertheless cannot abstract itself from addressing relevant problems of the strategically important sphere. Thus, the religious holidays Eid al-Adha and Orthodox Christmas are days off in the country.

The law helped to update and improve the regulatory framework (14 additional legal acts) in religious affairs, create the necessary legal conditions for the operation of religious associations, determine the list of documents for registration and develop requirements for the charter of a religious association and the basis and modalities for religious expert review.

As part of implementing the provisions of the law, religious associations were successfully re-registered that ensured the structuring and systematisation of the denominational space of the country, as well as obtaining the most accurate data on the number of religious associations and their religious affiliation that helped to systematise the number of denominations and faiths from 46 to 18.

The re-registration that was completed on Oct. 25, 2012 showed that the number of religious associations and their subsidiaries decreased to 3,088. A decline in the number of religious associations by one-third was due to associations that could not justify their legitimacy for various reasons. Re-registration of pseudo-religious organisations and a number of religious associations that submitted false information in the constituent documents was not allowed.

The 2011 law reflected the practical need for a multi-ethnic society to increase the active participation of the state in religious processes, allowing it to prevent abuses of freedom and threats to the individual, society and the state. Great importance is attached to the regulation of the legal framework for the activities of religious organisations and foreign missionaries.

The law does not divide religions into traditional and non-traditional, small or major. No religion is official or compulsory. The state is equally respectful to believers of all denominations and people of atheistic beliefs.

The legal framework helps to define the basic principles of state policy in ensuring freedom of religion – these are the principle of neutrality, the principle of tolerance and the principle of parity.

The principle of neutrality implies non-interference of the state in the internal affairs of religious associations and of religious associations in the activities of the state and society.

The principle of tolerance means respecting the secular values of the state and religious persuasions of the believing part of the population.

The principle of parity determines equality before the law of all religious associations and representatives of different faiths.

In addition to the law, there are currently 14 legal acts regulating various issues of religious activity, religious expert review, distribution of religious literature, missionary activity, construction of religious buildings, etc.

An important element of the state's efforts in the field of religion is cooperation and open dialogue with religious associations.

The state regularly takes measures to explain legal provisions to religious associations and ensures a constructive interaction of their implementation. Active efforts are underway to involve non-government organisations (NGOs), the expert community and religious leaders to study the religious situation and develop recommendations for improving the religious affairs policy of the state.

The Ministry of Information and Social Development, as an authorised state body of the country in religious affairs, prioritises the further improvement of Kazakhstan's model of interaction between the state and religion and the promotion of the policy of freedom of religion. It is based on the Concept of State Policy in the Religious Sphere for 2017-2020.

The activity of 3,720 religious associations and their subsidiaries representing 18 denominations, officially registered in 2018, is an indicator of the success and effectiveness of the religious affairs policy of the state.

Traditionally, the biggest faiths in numerical terms are still Hanafi Madhhab Islam and Orthodox Christianity. There are also Catholic and Protestant denominations, Judaic, Buddhist and other communities.

The leaders of religious associations of Kazakhstan are actively engaged in socio-cultural events aimed at strengthening civil peace and spiritual harmony. They are part of the Assembly of the People of Kazakhstan and advisory bodies at the central and local levels.

Kazakhstan clearly demonstrates to the world that religion plays a crucial role in maintaining stability and harmony within the country and strengthening national unity based on universal human values and that various religions and denominations can coexist and develop harmoniously based on full mutual understanding and mutual respect.

In order to ensure full respect for the constitutional right to freedom of religion, the state takes preventive measures to identify and remedy any violations of the law in this area and to restore the violated rights of believers, regardless of their religious affiliation, as well as attempts to use religion, religious symbols and religious identity for the purposes of stirring up sectarian strife and discord.

The state relies on universally accepted international human rights instruments to maintain freedom of religion; therefore, our regulatory framework is consistent with the basic principles underlying the international standards adopted by the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) and several other international organisations, as well as the experience of developed democracies of the world.

The UN, OSCE, Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) and other major international organisations welcomed the effectiveness of Kazakhstan's model of ensuring civil peace and harmony.

Kazakhstan's model of interfaith harmony was commended by Pope John Paul II during his visit to the country in 2001, as well as by influential spiritual leaders of world and traditional religions – participants of the I-VI Congresses of Leaders of World and Traditional Religions in Astana.

It is also important that according to opinion polls, the adopted legislative measures enjoy the full support of the population that has a positive effect on the religious situation in the country.

A significant contribution to the promotion of a positive image of the country as liberal in relation to religion is made by its active cooperation and exchange of experience with major international human rights organisations and the diplomatic corps, including the embassies of Great Britain, the United States, European Union (EU) countries in Kazakhstan, the OSCE Centre in Astana, the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights' Regional Office for Central Asia and the UN Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Religion or Belief.

Moreover, there are a number of comments from experts of the United States Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF) regarding the expert assessment of religious literature imported into the country and the use of the Law on Terrorism and Religious Extremism to “combat religious dissent and political opposition." They also point to the vagueness in the Kazakh legislation of the definitions of “extremism" and “incitement to social discord," which, in their opinion, leads to an “excessive restriction" of the freedom of religion. There are proposals to cancel the registration procedure for religious associations and missionaries, demanding that some religious communities be given legal status.

Despite criticism from Western partners, Kazakhstan is the most liberal country in the former Soviet Union in terms of religious tolerance and religious freedom.

Recommendations of international human rights organisations are observed at the proper level, opinions of the UN Special Rapporteurs on Freedom of Religion or Belief are taken into account and the role of the Congress of Leaders of World and Traditional Religions held in Astana becomes stronger.

During the visit of Minister of Social Development of the Republic of Kazakhstan Darkhan Kaletaev to the USA in July 2018, a Working Expert Group was created consisting of representatives of concerned authorities of Kazakhstan, the U.S. State Department and the USCIRF, where the sides will exchange views on the regulation of religious affairs, ensuring freedom of religion, and set out the position of our country regarding the criticism of the American side. The first meeting of the Working Group is scheduled for spring 2019 in Astana.

Summarising the above, I would like to conclude that the Republic of Kazakhstan, in its civilisational choice of its own policy of religious freedom, follows the path of enduring values of all humanity – dialogue and accord, harmony of interests, peaceful constructive life, welfare and prosperity.

___________________________________________

ABOUT THE AUTHOR. Berik Aryn is a former Vice Minister of Social Development of the Republic of Kazakhstan. He has been working in responsible civil service positions in Kazakhstan since 2006.

He has held the posts of Deputy Head of the Office of the Senate of the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan; Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the Arab Republic of Egypt with concurrent accreditation in the Kingdom of Morocco, People's Democratic Republic of Algeria and Republic of Tunisia and Permanent Representative of the Republic of Kazakhstan to the League of Arab States.

He has the diplomatic rank of Envoy Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Second Class. He speaks Arabic and English.

He has state and international awards including the Kurmet Order (2012) and commemorative medals.

Created at : 29.03.2019, 17:40, Updated at : 29.03.2019, 17:40

Берик Арын. Свобода вероисповедания: цивилизационный выбор Казахстана

Берик АРЫН

СВОБОДА ВЕРОИСПОВЕДАНИЯ:

ЦИВИЛИЗАЦИОННЫЙ ВЫБОР КАЗАХСТАНА

Казахстан, обладая уникальными историко-культурными условиями, самобытностью общественного развития и спецификой религиозной сферы, сегодня реализует собственную модель государственно-конфессиональных отношений.

Принцип свободы вероисповедания отражен в Гражданском кодексе, Законе «О религиозной деятельности и религиозных объединениях» и иных нормативных правовых актах. В стране созданы все необходимые государственно-правовые гарантии обеспечения свободы вероисповедания.

Основополагающей характеристикой государственно-конфессиональных отношений является конституционная норма о светском характере государства.

Феномен Казахстана заключается в том, что благодаря единству и согласию страна достойно прошла непростой путь исторического становления своей государственности и обрела признание международного сообщества.

Суверенитет предоставил республике необходимость самостоятельного управления не только экономическими и политическими процессами, но и процессами в такой тонкой и деликатной сфере как религиозная, с выработкой собственной модели выстраивания государственно-конфессиональных отношений.

Пристальное внимание молодого государства к религиозной сфере было обусловлено активизацией феномена религии в нашем регионе на фоне обрушения в конце ХХ века атеистической системы СССР.

Курс на продвижение и упрочение политики межконфессионального и межэтнического согласия, объявленный Президентом Казахстана Нурсултаном Назарбаевым на заре независимости, на протяжении всей современной истории формировал ключевой смысл государственной политики Казахстана в сфере религии – это единение нации во имя развития, стабильности и безопасного будущего, наличие долгосрочной стратегии духовной модернизации общества, выверенных целей по регулированию религиозной сферы и целенаправленной политики по их достижению.

Основной Закон страны законодательно регулирует сферу осуществления свободы вероисповедания или распространения религиозных убеждений в целях охраны общественного порядка и безопасности, жизни, здоровья, нравственности, прав и свобод граждан.

Согласно статье 14 Конституции Казахстана «все равны перед законом и судом. Никто не может подвергаться какой-либо дискриминации по мотивам происхождения, социального, должностного и имущественного положения, пола, расы, национальности, языка, отношения к религии, убеждений, места жительства или по любым иным обстоятельствам». А в статье 22 Конституции РК четко закреплено: «Каждый имеет право на свободу совести».

Президент Казахстана Нурсултан Назарбаев, выступая в 1993 году с докладом «Наши ориентиры – консолидация, общественный прогресс и социальное партнерство», подчеркнул, что «Казахстан – государство светское, этот принцип закреплен в Конституции». При этом он особо отметил, что «Казахстан не будет государством, исповедующим религиозные принципы во внутренней и внешней политике, и, тем более, не может быть речи о создании партий на религиозных платформах».

Одним из первых законодательных актов после обретения Казахстаном независимости стал Закон «О свободе вероисповедания и религиозных объединениях» (1992 год), обозначивший базовые принципы конфессиональной политики молодой республики. Закон создал равные и благоприятные условия для реализации конфессиями своих функций, предоставив им широкие возможности для деятельности. Установил равенство всех религий перед законом, право граждан определять свое отношение к религии.

Главным результатом действия Закона стало создание эффективных законодательных основ, приведших к отсутствию межконфессиональных конфликтов в казахстанском обществе, формированию в мировом сообществе позитивного имиджа страны как инициатора уникальных межрелигиозных диалоговых площадок мирового масштаба.

В 1993 году по инициативе Президента Республики Казахстан Нурсултана Назарбаева в Конституцию внесено положение, предусматривающее запрет на деятельность общественных и религиозных организаций, провозглашающих или на практике реализующих религиозную нетерпимость.

Данное положение нашло свое отражение в статье 53 Конституции 1995 года, но с более широкой формулировкой. Также в текст новой Конституции внесена статья, направленная против пропаганды и агитации религиозного превосходства.

В Гражданский кодекс были внесены ряд положений, касающихся деятельности миссионеров, зарубежных руководителей религиозных объединений и духовных учебных заведений, которые должны быть согласованы с государственными органами республики (статья 109).

Указ Президента Республики Казахстан «О мерах по предупреждению и пресечению проявлений терроризма и экстремизма» (10 февраля 2000 года) обозначил перед госорганами задачи по осуществлению строгого надзора за недопущением радикализации религиозного сознания граждан, подрыва межконфессионального и межэтнического согласия в обществе.

Таким образом, с первых лет независимости Казахстан официально придерживается курса политики невмешательства в религиозную сферу, но при этом координирует процессы в сфере свободы вероисповедания путем принятия свода законов политико-правового порядка.

В целом, благожелательная позиция государства в религиозном вопросе создала предпосылки для значительного увеличения религиозных объединений в республике. Анализ обстановки того периода говорит о том, что существующая сеть религиозных обществ охватывала все области, города и большинство районов республики и представлена как традиционными, так и нетрадиционными для нашей страны религиозными объединениями (церковь «Новая жизнь», Сун Бок Ым, общества сознания Кришны и веры Бахаи, церковь «Объединения», церковь Иисуса Христа, различные миссии).

Фактически, по состоянию на 1 января 2011 года, количество религиозных объединений выросло более чем в 6 раз и составило 4 551, число же конфессий и деноминаций достигло 46. Такое многообразие конфессионального пространства не могло не влиять на изменение характера государственно-конфессиональных отношений. К тому же ренессанс религии и религиозной культуры сопровождался масштабностью возводимых мечетей, храмов и других культовых сооружений. Пропорционально возрастала численность верующей части населения.

В итоге, по оценке отечественных экспертов, «абсолютизация принципа свободы вероисповедания, воплощенная в крайне демократичном религиозном законодательстве, в определенной степени стала причиной уязвимости молодого государства перед новыми вызовами и угрозами – начиная от проникновения в Казахстан псевдорелигиозного экстремизма и терроризма и заканчивая эрозией традиционных ценностей и религиозной идентичности народа».

В этих условиях актуализируются запросы общества на усиление контроля за соблюдением законодательства по вопросам религии; более активном участии государства в процессах, протекающих на религиозном поле; исполнение посреднических функций между религиозными организациями и государством; изучение потребностей верующих по реализации их религиозных свобод; устранение существующих очагов напряженности и конфликтных ситуаций на конфессиональной почве.

Эти факторы обусловили необходимость принятия Парламентом страны в октябре 2011 года нового Закона «О религиозной деятельности и религиозных объединениях», определяющим новую стратегическую линию государства в сфере государственно-конфессиональных отношений и обеспечении свободы вероисповедания, регулирующим сферу религиозной деятельности и функционирования религиозных объединений.

Закон разрабатывался с учетом межконфессиональной ситуации в стране с опорой на опыт передовых европейских светских государств и направлен на укрепление толерантности и согласия в казахстанском обществе.

В «Преамбуле» отдельно упомянуты ислам ханафитского направления и православное христианство, их особая роль в истории Казахстана. Это сделано с целью обозначить определенные приоритеты в религиозной политике государства, которое, будучи светским, тем не менее, не может позволить себе самоустраниться от решения актуальных проблем стратегически важной сферы. Так, религиозные праздники Курбан-айт и православное Рождество в республике являются нерабочими днями.

Принятие Закона позволило обновить и совершенствовать нормативную базу (еще дополнительно 14 НПА) в сфере религии, создать необходимые правовые условия для функционирования религиозных объединений, определения перечня документов для регистрации и выработки требований к Уставу религиозного объединения, основания и порядка проведения религиоведческой экспертизы.

В рамках реализации положений Закона была успешно проведена процедура перерегистрации религиозных объединений, что обеспечило структурирование и систематизацию конфессионального пространства республики, получение наиболее точных данных о количестве религиозных объединений и их вероисповедной принадлежности, позволившая систематизировать численность конфессий и деноминаций с 46 до 18.

По итогам завершившейся 25 октября 2012 года перерегистрации численность религиозных объединений и их филиалов снизилась до 3088. Сокращение религиозных объединений на треть произошло за счет объединений, не сумевших по ряду причин обосновать свою легитимность. Не допущена перерегистрация псевдорелигиозных структур и ряда религиозных объединений, представивших недостоверные сведения в учредительных документах.

Закон 2011 года практически отразил потребность полиэтноконфессионального общества в более активном участии государства в процессах, протекающих на религиозном поле и позволяющих предотвратить злоупотребления свободой и не допустить угрозы личности, обществу и государству. Важное значение придано регулированию правового поля для деятельности религиозных организаций и иностранных миссионеров.

Закон не делит религии на «традиционные» и «нетрадиционные», «малые» или «крупные». Никакая религия не устанавливается в качестве государственной или обязательной. Государство равно уважительно относится к верующим всех конфессий и людям атеистических убеждений.

Законодательная база способствует определению базовых принципов государственной политики в области обеспечения свободы вероисповедания –это принцип нейтралитета, принцип толерантности и принцип паритета.

Принцип нейтралитета подразумевает невмешательство государства во внутренние дела религиозных объединений, а религиозных объединений – в деятельность государства и общества.

Принцип толерантности означает уважительное отношение к светским ценностям государства и религиозным убеждениям верующей части населения.

Принцип паритета обусловливает равенство перед законом всех религиозных объединений и представителей различных вероисповеданий.

Помимо Закона, в настоящее время действуют 14 нормативных правовых актов, регулирующих различные вопросы религиозной деятельности, религиоведческой экспертизы, распространения религиозной литературы, осуществления миссионерской деятельности, строительства культовых зданий и т.д.

Важным элементом работы государства в сфере религии является формат сотрудничества и открытый диалог с религиозными объединениями. Государство на постоянной основе проводит мероприятия по разъяснению представителям религиозных объединений положений законодательства и организует конструктивное взаимодействие их реализации. Активно ведется работа по привлечению НПО, экспертного сообщества, представителей духовенства к изучению религиозной ситуации и выработке рекомендаций по совершенствованию государственной политики в сфере религии.

Приоритетом Министерства информации и общественного развития как уполномоченного государственного органа республики в сфере религии является дальнейшее совершенствование казахстанской модели взаимодействия государства и религии, продвижение политики свободы вероисповедания. Его основу составляет Концепция государственной политики в религиозной сфере на 2017-2020 годы.

Показателем успешности и эффективности государственной политики в области свободы вероисповедания в республике является деятельность официально зарегистрированных в 2018 году 3 720 религиозных объединений и их филиалов, представляющих 18 конфессий.

Традиционно самыми многочисленными среди религий по-прежнему являются ислам ханафитского мазхаба и православное христианство. Имеются также католические и протестантские конфессии, иудейские, буддистские и другие общины.

Руководители религиозных объединений Казахстана активно участвуют в социально-культурных мероприятиях, направленных на упрочение гражданского мира и духовного согласия. Входят в состав Ассамблеи народа Казахстана, консультативных органов на центральном и местном уровнях.

Казахстан наглядно демонстрирует миру, что религия выполняет важнейшую роль в сохранении стабильности и согласия внутри страны, укреплении общенационального единства на универсальных общечеловеческих ценностях, а различные религии и конфессии могут сосуществовать и гармонично развиваться на основе полного взаимопонимания и взаимоуважения.

В целях неукоснительного обеспечения соблюдения конституционного права на свободу вероисповедания государством принимаются превентивные меры по выявлению и устранению любых нарушений законности в данной сфере, восстановлению нарушенных прав верующих, независимо от их вероисповедной принадлежности, а также попыток использования религии, религиозных символов и религиозной идентичности в целях разжигания межконфессиональной вражды и розни.

VI Съезд лидеров мировых и традиционных религий.

Астана, 10-11 октября 2018 г.

Государство в своей деятельности по поддержанию свободы вероисповедания опирается на общепризнанные международные акты в области прав человека, поэтому наша нормативная база соответствует основным принципам, лежащим в основе международных стандартов, принятых ОБСЕ и рядом других международных организаций, а также опыту развитых демократических государств мира.

Казахстан имеет положительные оценки эффективности действующей в стране модели обеспечения гражданского мира и согласия со стороны ООН, ОБСЕ, ОИС и других крупных международных организаций.

Высокую оценку сложившейся в Казахстане модели межконфессионального согласия дали Папа Римский Иоанн Павел Второй во время посещения страны в 2001 году, а также авторитетные духовные иерархи мировых и традиционных конфессий – участники I-VI Съездов лидеров мировых и традиционных религий в г.Астана.

Важно и то, что согласно социологическим опросам, принимаемые законодательные меры пользуются всемерной поддержкой населения, что положительно сказывается на религиозной ситуации в стране.

Весомый вклад в продвижение позитивного имиджа страны как либеральной по отношению к религии, вносит ее активное сотрудничество и обмен опытом с представителями крупных международных правозащитных организаций, дипломатического корпуса, в том числе с посольствами США, Великобритании, стран ЕС в Казахстане, Центра ОБСЕ в г.Астане, Регионального отделения по Центральной Азии Управления Верховного комиссара ООН по правам человека, Специальным докладчиком ООН по вопросам религий и убеждений.

Вместе с тем, имеется ряд замечаний со стороны экспертов Комиссии США по международной религиозной свободе (USCIRF) касательно проведения экспертизы на ввозимую в страну религиозную литературу, использования Закона о терроризме и религиозном экстремизме для «борьбы с религиозным инакомыслием и политической оппозицией». Также указывается на расплывчатость в казахстанском законодательстве определения понятий «экстремизм» и «подстрекательство к социальной розни», что, по их мнению, ведет к «чрезмерному ограничению» свободы религии. Имеются предложения по отмене процедуры регистрации религиозных объединений и миссионеров с требованием придания правового статуса некоторым религиозным общинам.

Несмотря на критику западных партнеров, Казахстан является наиболее либеральной страной на постсоветском пространстве по уровню терпимости к религиям и обеспечению свободы вероисповедания.

Рекомендации международных правозащитных организаций соблюдаются на должном уровне, учитываются мнения спецдокладчиков ООН по свободе религий и убеждений, на постоянной основе ведется работа по усилению роли Съезда лидеров мировых и традиционных религий, проводимого в Астане.

Согласно достигнутой в ходе визита Министра общественного развития РК Дархана Калетаева в США в июле 2018 года создана Рабочая экспертная группа в составе представителей заинтересованных органов Казахстана, Госдепартамента США и USCIRF, в рамках которой стороны будут обмениваться мнениями по вопросам регулирования религиозной сферы, обеспечения свободы вероисповедания, а также излагаться позиция нашей страны относительно критики американской стороны. Проведение первого заседания Рабочей группы планируется весной 2019 г. в Астане.

Резюмируя вышеизложенное, хотелось бы в заключение отметить, что Республика Казахстан в своем цивилизационном выборе собственной политики свободы вероисповедания идет по пути непреходящих ценностей всего человечества – диалога и согласия, гармонии интересов, мирной созидательной жизни, благополучия и процветания.

_________________________________________

ОБ АВТОРЕ. Берик Арын – экс-Вице-министр общественного развития Республики Казахстан.

Работает на ответственных должностях государственной службы Казахстана с 2006 года. Занимал должности Заместителя руководителя Аппарата Сената Парламента РК, Чрезвычайного и Полномочного Посла Республики Казахстан в Арабской Республике Египет, по совместительству – в Королевстве Марокко, Алжирской Народной Демократической Республике и Республике Тунис, Постоянного Представителя Республики Казахстан при Лиге Арабских Государств.

Имеет дипломатический ранг Чрезвычайного и Полномочного посланника II класса. Владеет арабским и английским языками. Обладает государственными и международными наградами: Орден «Құрмет» (2012) и юбилейные медали.

Добавлено : 29.03.2019, 17:40, Изменено : 29.03.2019, 17:40