Abdulaziz Kamilov. Strategic Partnership between the Republic of Uzbekistan and the Republic of Kazakhstan in the Context of the Region-Wide Development of Central Asia

Abdulaziz KAMILOV

STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIP BETWEEN

THE REPUBLIC OF UZBEKISTAN

AND THE REPUBLIC OF KAZAKHSTAN

IN THE CONTEXT OF THE REGION-WIDE DEVELOPMENT OF CENTRAL ASIA

Today in Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan, we are witnessing and directly participating in the process of updating the centuries-old chronicle of friendship and good-neighbourliness between our countries.

For long, the Uzbeks and Kazakhs have been living in peace and harmony, providing support to each other. Time-tested fraternal relations and a high level of strategic partnership are enriched with new content. Over the past two years, we have managed to achieve significant results in the development of Uzbek-Kazakh relations in various fields and directions.

Due to joint efforts, a completely new atmosphere of political trust has been created. A breakthrough has been achieved in resolving many issues that in the past created obstacles to mutual rapprochement to achieve common interests in the further development and improvement of the well-being of our peoples. Trade, investment, transport, communication, cooperation, production, cultural and humanitarian ties, cross-border and interregional collaboration, interaction in the field of security and joint resistance to modern challenges and threats have been intensified and expanded.

A solid foundation has been created to ensure dynamic development of mutually beneficial and multifaceted cooperation based on the provisions of the agreements on eternal friendship and strategic partnership. The legal framework for bilateral cooperation has been significantly strengthened.

Today, we have all the necessary conditions for fruitful and constructive cooperation – deep mutual understanding at all levels. This was largely facilitated by the mutual visits of the heads of our states, which undoubtedly gave new impetus to further strengthen the strategic partnership.

Each meeting of the heads of Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan is always perceived with great uplift and keen interest, since as part of these meetings the sides exchange views on many issues of mutual interest and reach agreements to further strengthen friendship and cooperation.

At the same time, meetings at the level of ministries and agencies have also become regular and cooperation between regions is actively developing. Border and inter-regional relations are expanding and deepening and new mechanisms for activating economic relations are being developed.

In this context, the First Uzbekistan-Kazakhstan Interregional Cooperation Forum, held with great success last November in Shymkent, marked a significant milestone in bilateral relations. The results of the Forum vividly showed the wide, yet untapped potential of Uzbek-Kazakh economic cooperation.

New approaches and trends in the interaction between our countries have led to the intensification of bilateral trade and economic and investment cooperation. Kazakhstan has a firm position as one of the largest foreign trade partners of Uzbekistan. Significant results have been achieved in the development of mutually beneficial cooperation between our countries in economic, trade, transport, scientific, technical, cultural and humanitarian areas. Bilateral trade in 2018 increased by 47 percent and reached $3.022 billion.

One of the key components of Uzbek-Kazakh relations is the cultural and humanitarian area, which plays an important role in preserving and strengthening inter-ethnic peace and harmony, cultivating a sense of mutual respect, mutual enrichment and further rapprochement of the peoples of our countries. The Year of Uzbekistan in Kazakhstan in 2018 is a vivid example of the development of bilateral cultural ties.

This unique event, organised for the first time in the history of many years of our fruitful cooperation, is a striking example of true fraternal relations between two close nations. We are actively working to organise the Year of Kazakhstan in Uzbekistan this year.

The level of successful and productive interaction achieved over the past two years fully meets the interests of the fraternal peoples of Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan and contributes to ensuring stability and progress throughout the region of Central Asia.

Such a breakthrough was made due to the political will of the heads of our states – Shavkat Mirziyoyev and Nursultan Nazarbayev – aimed at developing good neighbourly relations and strengthening and further deepening regional cooperation and unity of the countries of Central Asia.

Participation by heads of state in the opening ceremony of the Year of Uzbekistan in Kazakhstan. Astana, Astana Opera, March 15, 2018

The President of the Republic of Uzbekistan clearly and precisely defined that the main foreign policy priority of the country is to pursue an open and constructive policy towards its closest neighbours, solving the problems of Central Asia based on equality, mutual consideration of interests and search for reasonable compromises. All these efforts should be aimed at turning Central Asia into a region of stability, security and prosperity.

Achieving these objectives, as well as ensuring sustainable and dynamic development of our entire region, depends largely on how closely and harmoniously the interaction of the Central Asian states is built. In this vein, the partnership of our fraternal countries is important for strengthening regional stability and developing cooperation throughout Central Asia.

This applies not only to political, trade, economic, cultural and humanitarian cooperation, but also to interaction in the fight against major trans-border threats in Central Asia – terrorism, religious extremism, organised crime and drug trafficking.

We should note our close cooperation among international organisations, primarily the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO), United Nations (UN) and others. We highly appreciate the level of mutual support while considering within these organisations the most important issues affecting the interests of Central Asia as a whole.

Among them, of particular importance is the creation of a Central Asian Nuclear Weapon Free Zone (CANWFZ), as well as the announcement of Aug. 29 as the International Day against Nuclear Tests. The global community not only supported the aspirations of the Central Asian countries for a world free of nuclear weapons, but also acknowledged the merits of Kazakhstan in this process, which announced the closure of the test site near Semipalatinsk.

In addition, Uzbekistan supported the bid of Kazakhstan for non-permanent membership in the UN Security Council, as well as its initiative under the chairpersonship in the Security Council on organising a ministerial debate in 2018 on Building Regional Partnerships in Afghanistan and Central Asia as a Model for the Security-Development Nexus.

In this context, I would also like to note the joint implementation of the initiative of President Mirziyoyev in organising regular consultative meetings of the heads of Central Asian states, which is historical in its significance for Central Asia. This initiative was fully supported by President Nazarbayev and at the suggestion of the head of Kazakhstan, the first such meeting was held on March 15, 2018 in Astana.

It should be emphasised that this format is a good platform for the countries of the region to maintain a regular confidential dialogue and develop coordinated approaches on topical regional issues. The practical implementation of this initiative was made possible thanks to the strong commitment of the Central Asian states to the idea of common interests and responsibility for the future of the peoples of the region.

The adoption of the UN General Assembly resolution titled “Strengthening regional and international cooperation to ensure peace, stability and sustainable development in the Central Asian region" in June 2018 was of utmost significance. This decision was an important step in the development of Central Asia as a common, consolidated region, states of which are capable of jointly solving common problems and ensuring the prosperity of its multi-million population.

The countries of Central Asia also became co-authors of the UN General Assembly Enlightenment and Religious Tolerance resolution adopted in December2018. The resolution is aimed at promoting peace, mutual respect, tolerance and integration, the purpose of which is to strengthen and ensure religious freedom, protect the rights of believers and prevent discrimination.

Today, Central Asia is no longer a periphery of world politics. Every year, the region attracts the increasing attention of the global community and key actors of international relations. This is also facilitated by the growing activity of the countries of the region and their involvement in the discussion and resolution of the most important issues of regional and global politics.

These successes were achieved thanks to the joint efforts and mutual support of the countries of the region, including Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan, to regional initiatives.

In this context, I would like to note similar positions of the leaders of Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan, who consistently advocate for strengthening regional partnership, deepening integration in various sectors of the economy and developing cultural and humanitarian ties.

Today, the process of creating broad opportunities for deepening and building up interregional cooperation and bringing it to a new level is underway. A new page in the centuries-old chronicle of friendship, good neighbourliness, mutual support and cooperation has opened before the states of Central Asia.

All these factors laid the foundation to implement new, major regional economic and political initiatives and strengthen the common interests of the countries of the region in the field of security and sustainable development, as well as the common cultural and civilisational identity of Central Asia.

It should be emphasised that our countries have a firm political will and are ready to work together to keep a trustful, open and constructive dialogue over the whole range of interaction-related issues and to make the necessary efforts to strengthen multi-faceted practical and strategic cooperation in all areas of mutual interest, both at the bilateral and regional levels with the active participation of all Central Asian states.

_______________________________________________

ABOUT THE AUTHOR. Abdulaziz Kamilov – Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

He graduated from the Diplomatic Academy of the USSR Ministry of Foreign Affairs, a postgraduate course at the Institute of Oriental Studies of the USSR Academy of Sciences and has a Ph.D. in history.

He worked in the embassies of the USSR in Lebanon and Syria (1973-1984), USSR Ministry of Foreign Affairs (1984-1988) and Institute of World Economy and International Relations of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR (1988-1991).

From the first days of independence of Uzbekistan, he has worked in the state agencies of the republic: Counsellor at the Embassy of Uzbekistan in Russia (1991-1992); Deputy Chairperson of the National Security Service (1992-1994); First Deputy Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs (1994-2003) and National Foreign Affairs Advisor to the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

He served as Rector of the University of World Economy and Diplomacy (1998-2003) and Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the Republic of Uzbekistan to the USA (Canada and Brazil concurrently) (2003-2010).

His last position was First Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Uzbekistan (2010-2012).

He has the diplomatic rank of Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary. He speaks Arabic and English. He was awarded orders and commemorative medals.

Created at : 29.03.2019, 10:15, Updated at : 29.03.2019, 10:15

Абдулазиз Камилов. Стратегическое партнерство Республики Узбекистан и Республики Казахстан в контексте общерегионального развития Центральной Азии

Абдулазиз КАМИЛОВ

СТРАТЕГИЧЕСКОЕ ПАРТНЕРСТВО

РЕСПУБЛИКИ УЗБЕКИСТАН

И РЕСПУБЛИКИ КАЗАХСТАН

В КОНТЕКСТЕ ОБЩЕРЕГИОНАЛЬНОГО РАЗВИТИЯ ЦЕНТРАЛЬНОЙ АЗИИ

Сегодня в Узбекистане и Казахстане мы становимся очевидцами и непосредственными участниками процесса обновления многовековой летописи дружбы и добрососедства между нашими странами.

Испокон веков узбеки и казахи живут в мире и согласии, оказывают поддержку друг другу. Испытанные временем братские взаимоотношения и высокий уровень стратегического партнерства обогащаются новым содержанием. За последние два года нам удалось достичь весомых результатов в развитии узбекско-казахстанских отношений в самых различных сферах и направлениях.

Благодаря совместным усилиям создана совершенно новая атмосфера политического доверия. Достигнут прорыв в решении многих вопросов, которые в прошлом создавали препятствия на пути взаимного сближения во имя достижения общих интересов по дальнейшему развитию и повышению благосостояния наших народов. Активизировались и расширяются торговые, инвестиционные, транспортно-коммуникационные, кооперационно-производственные и культурно-гуманитарные связи, приграничное и межрегиональное сотрудничество, взаимодействие в области обеспечения безопасности и совместного противодействия современным вызовам и угрозам.

Создан прочный фундамент для динамичного развития взаимовыгодного и многопланового сотрудничества на основе положений договоров о Вечной дружбе и Стратегическом партнерстве. Значительно укреплена договорно-правовая база двустороннего сотрудничества.

Сегодня мы имеем все необходимые условия для плодотворного и конструктивного взаимодействия – это глубокое взаимопонимание на всех уровнях. Этому во многом способствовали взаимные визиты глав наших государств, которые, несомненно, придали новый импульс дальнейшему укреплению стратегического партнерства.

Каждая встреча глав Узбекистана и Казахстана всегда воспринимается с огромным духовным подъемом и живым интересом, так как в их рамках стороны обмениваются мнениями по многим вопросам, представляющим взаимный интерес, достигаются конкретные договоренности по дальнейшему укреплению дружбы и сотрудничества.

Встреча Президента Казахстана Нурсултана Назарбаева с Президентом Узбекистана Шавкатом Мирзиёевым в г. Самарканд, (Республика Узбекистан) 21 марта 2018 г.

Вместе с тем, регулярный характер приобрели также встречи на уровне министерств и ведомств, активно развивается сотрудничество между регионами. Расширяются и углубляются приграничные и межрегиональные связи, формируются новые механизмы активизации экономических связей.

В этом контексте значимым событием для двусторонних отношений стал Первый Форум межрегионального сотрудничества между Республикой Узбекистан и Республикой Казахстан, который с большим успехом прошел в ноябре прошлого года в г.Шымкенте. Итоги Форума наглядно показали широкий, еще незадействованный потенциал узбекско-казахстанского экономического сотрудничества.

Новые подходы и тенденции во взаимодействии между нашими странами привели к интенсификации двустороннего торгово-экономического и инвестиционного сотрудничества. Казахстан твердо занимает позицию одного из крупнейших внешнеторговых партнеров Узбекистана. Достигнуты заметные результаты в развитии взаимовыгодного сотрудничества наших стран в сферах экономики, торговли, транспорта, научно-технической и культурно-гуманитарной областях. Двусторонний товарооборот за 2018 год вырос на 47% и достиг 3,022 млрд. долл.

Одним из ключевых компонентов узбекско-казахстанских отношений является культурно-гуманитарная сфера, которая играет важную роль в сохранении и укреплении межнационального мира и согласия, воспитании чувства взаимного уважения, взаимообогащении и дальнейшем сближении народов наших стран. Ярким примером развития двусторонних культурных связей является проведение в 2018 году «Года Узбекистана в Казахстане».

Это уникальное событие, которое было организовано впервые в истории нашего многолетнего плодотворного сотрудничества – яркий пример истинно братских отношений между двумя близкими народами. Нами ведется активная работа по проведению в текущем году в Узбекистане «Года Казахстана».

Достигнутый за последние два года уровень успешного и продуктивного взаимодействия в полной мере отвечает интересам братских народов Узбекистана и Казахстана, способствует обеспечению стабильности и прогрессу во всем регионе Центральной Азии.

Такой прорыв стал возможным благодаря политической воле глав наших государств – Шавката Мирзиёева и Нурсултана Назарбаева, – нацеленной на развитие добрососедских отношений, укрепление и дальнейшее углубление общерегионального сотрудничества и единение стран Центральной Азии.

Президентом Республики Узбекистан было ясно и четко определено, что главным внешнеполитическим приоритетом страны является проведение открытой и конструктивной политики в отношении ближайших соседей, решение проблем Центральной Азии на основе равноправия, взаимного учета интересов и поиска разумных компромиссов. Все эти усилия должны быть направлены на превращение Центральной Азии в регион стабильности, безопасности и процветания.

Достижение этих задач, а также обеспечение устойчивого и динамичного развития всего нашего региона во многом зависит от того, насколько сплоченно и гармонично будет выстроено взаимодействие центрально-азиатских государств. В этом ключе партнерство наших братских стран имеет важное значение для укрепления региональной стабильности и развития сотрудничества во всей Центральной Азии.

Это касается не только политического, торгово-экономического, культурно-гуманитарного сотрудничества, но и взаимодействия в сфере борьбы с основными трансграничными угрозами в Центральной Азии – терроризмом, религиозным экстремизмом, организованной преступностью, наркотрафиком.

Следует отметить наше тесное взаимодействие по линии международных организаций, прежде всего ООН, ШОС, СНГ и др. Мы высоко ценим уровень взаимной поддержки в ходе рассмотрения в рамках этих организаций наиболее важных вопросов, затрагивающих интересы Центральной Азии в целом.

Среди них особую важность представляет создание в Центральной Азии зоны, свободной от ядерного оружия (ЦАЗСЯО), а также объявление 29 августа Международным днем действий против ядерных испытаний. Мировое сообщество не только поддержало чаяния центрально-азиатских стран на появление мира, свободного от оружейного атома, но и признало заслуги в этом процессе Казахстана, объявившего о закрытии испытательного полигона под Семипалатинском.

Кроме того, Узбекистан поддержал кандидатуру Казахстана в непостоянные члены Совета безопасности ООН, а также его инициативу в рамках председательствования в Совете Безопасности по организации в 2018 году дебатов министерского уровня на тему «Построение регионального партнерства в Афганистане и Центральной Азии в качестве модели взаимозависимости безопасности и развития».

В данном контексте хотелось бы также отметить совместную реализацию исторической по своей значимости для Центральной Азии инициативы Президента Узбекистана Ш.Мирзиёева об организации регулярных Консультативных встреч глав государств Центральной Азии. Данная инициатива была всецело поддержана Президентом Казахстана Н.Назарбаевым и по предложению главы Казахстана первая такая встреча состоялась 15 марта 2018 года в г.Астане.

Следует подчеркнуть, что такой формат является хорошей площадкой для поддержания странами региона регулярного доверительного диалога и выработки согласованных подходов по актуальным региональным вопросам. Практическая реализация этой инициативы стала возможной благодаря твердой приверженности центрально-азиатских государств идее общности интересов и ответственности за будущее народов региона.

Событием исторического значения стало принятие в июне 2018 года Генеральной Ассамблеей ООН резолюции «Укрепление регионального и международного сотрудничества по обеспечению мира, стабильности и устойчивого развития в Центрально-азиатском регионе». Это решение явилось важным этапом в становлении Центральной Азии, как единого, консолидированного региона, государства которого способны совместными усилиями решать общие проблемы, обеспечить процветание его многомиллионного населения.

Страны Центральной Азии также стали соавторами принятой в декабре 2018 года резолюции Генассамблеи ООН «Просвещение и религиозная толерантность». Резолюция направлена на продвижение мира, взаимного уважения, толерантности и интеграции, целью которой является укрепление и обеспечение религиозной свободы, защиты прав верующих, недопущение дискриминации.

Сегодня Центральная Азия уже однозначно не является периферией мировой политики. Регион с каждым годом привлекает все большее внимание мировой общественности и ключевых акторов международных отношений. Этому способствует также растущая активность стран региона и их вовлеченность в обсуждение и решение важнейших вопросов региональной и глобальной политики.

Эти успехи были достигнуты благодаря совместным усилиям и взаимной поддержке странами региона, в том числе Узбекистаном и Казахстаном, общерегиональных инициатив.

В данном контексте хотелось бы отметить совпадающую позицию лидеров Узбекистана и Казахстана, последовательно выступающих за укрепление регионального партнерства, углубление интеграции в различных отраслях экономики и развитие культурно-гуманитарных связей.

Сегодня идет процесс формирования широких возможностей для углубления и наращивания межрегионального сотрудничества, его выводу на качественно новый уровень. Перед государствами Центральной Азии поистине открылась новая страница в многовековой летописи дружбы, добрососедства, взаимной поддержки и сотрудничества.

Все это заложило фундамент для реализации новых крупных региональных экономических и политических инициатив, укреплению общности интересов стран региона в области безопасности и устойчивого развития, а также единой культурно-цивилизационной идентичности Центральной Азии.

Следует особо подчеркнуть, что у наших стран есть твердая политическая воля и готовность совместными усилиями продолжить доверительный, открытый и конструктивный диалог по всему спектру взаимодействия, предпринять необходимые усилия для укрепления многопланового практического и стратегического сотрудничества по всем взаимоинтересующим направлениям как на двустороннем, так и на региональном уровнях при активном участии всех государств Центральной Азии.

_________________________________________________

ОБ АВТОРЕ. Абдулазиз Камилов – Министр иностранных дел Республики Узбекистан. Закончил дипломатическую академию МИД СССР, аспирантуру Института востоковедения Академии наук СССР. Кандидат исторических наук.

Работал в посольствах СССР в Ливане и Сирии (1973-1984), МИД СССР (1984-1988), Институте мировой экономики и международных отношений Академии наук СССР (1988-1991)

С первых дней независимости Узбекистана работает в государственных структурах республики: советник посольства Узбекистана в России (1991-1992), заместитель председателя Службы национальной безопасности (1992-1994), первый заместитель, министр иностранных дел (1994-2003), государственный советник Президента Республики Узбекистан по внешнеполитическим вопросам.

1998-2003 годы – Ректор Университета мировой экономики и дипломатии.

2003-2010 годы – Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол Республики Узбекистан в США (Канаде и Бразилии по совместительству).

2010-2012 – Первый заместитель министра иностранных дел Республики Узбекистан.

Имеет дипломатический ранг Чрезвычайного и Полномочного Посла. Владеет арабским и английским языками. Награжден орденами и юбилейными медалями.


Добавлено : 29.03.2019, 10:15, Изменено : 29.03.2019, 10:15