Investment and trade opportunities of Kazakhstan offered in Saudi Arabia

The Embassy of Kazakhstan to Saudi Arabia, with the support of the Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Riyadh and Asharqia Province, has conducted a Workshop on the prospects of the Kazakh-Saudi cooperation in the field of trade, investment, and tourism held on December 22-23, 2019, in Dammam and Riyadh.

The Kazakh Delegation consisted of H.E. Mr. Berik Aryn, the Ambassador of Kazakhstan to Saudi Arabia,  leadership and representatives of the “KAZAKH INVEST” National Company, the Astana International Financial Center, and different Kazakh travel companies.

The Saudi side was represented by Mr. Abdulhakim Al Khaldi, the Chairman of the Chamber of the Eastern Province (Asharqia), members of the chambers of commerce of Riyadh and Asharqia, more than 80 CEOs and representatives of various Saudi companies, among which are large companies such as Zamil Group, Al Hokair Holding Group, Al Fanar Company, Arab Petroleum Investment Corp., Awad Group, Saudi Fund for Development and others.

Ambassador Berik Aryn, in his welcoming speech, briefed participants on the main economic achievements of Kazakhstan and informed about the ongoing work on the establishment of a favorable business climate for foreign investors.

The Kazakh diplomat highlighted the issues of bilateral relations that have marked this year its 25th Anniversary. He noted that over the years, a constructive political dialogue had been established between the two countries. At the same time, he drew attention to the existing “big gap” in trade and economic cooperation, where in recent years, there has been a drop in the level of mutual trade.

In this regard, he called on Saudi business people to step up work in this direction by participating in various investment projects in Kazakhstan, establishing contacts with Kazakh partners. In this vein, he invited Saudi entrepreneurs to visit Kazakhstan and get a first-hand understanding of the projects and given opportunities.

Members of the Kazakh delegation also made thematic presentations. The “KAZAKH INVEST” officials presented the measures taken by the Government of Kazakhstan to attract investment in various sectors of the country’s economy. They stressed that Kazakhstan maintains all the necessary conditions for foreign investors to conduct a secure and transparent business in the state, such as liberalization of the visa regime, protection of investors’ rights, and reduction of administrative barriers.

They also briefed in detail about the development of the Agro-Industrial Complex of Kazakhstan, including the vast investment opportunities in the field of agriculture.

Besides, Kazakh representatives provided Saudi businessmen with the development of the Islamic finance sector in Kazakhstan as part of the AIFC activities. They mentioned that the Center is an exclusive financial hub not only for Central Asia, Europe, and other regions but also for the countries of the Middle East.

Moreover, Kazakh travel companies introduced tourism opportunities in Kazakhstan. They noted that the country’s tourism cluster has excellent potential for development and can provide almost all types of tourism: from ecological to business tourism.

In general, the Workshop has revived interest among the participants. As an example, one of the participants, the founder of one of the largest Saudi companies, Zamil Group, Mr. Abdulrahman Al-Zamil, praised the steps taken by the leadership and government of Kazakhstan to reform the country’s economy and create favorable conditions for foreign investors. He called on Saudi companies to actively participate in Kazakhstan’s investment projects, and also proposed establishing strategic partnerships in this direction.

Following the presentations, Kazakh and Saudi companies held B2B meetings, during which the Saudi side was apprised of the particular investment projects of Kazakhstan in various fields. The parties agreed to establish contacts for further coordination of joint actions in the areas of Saudi’s interests.

Created at : 24.12.2019, 18:00, Updated at : 24.12.2019, 18:00

В Саудовской Аравии презентовали инвестиционные и торгово-экономические возможности в Казахстане

22-23 декабря 2019 г. в гг. Даммаме и Эр-Рияде при поддержке Посольства РК в Королевстве Саудовская Аравия (КСА) и торгово-промышленных палат Эр-Рияда и провинции Аш-Шаркия состоялся Workshop, посвященный перспективам казахстанско-саудовского сотрудничества в области торговли, инвестиций и туризма.

В двухдневном мероприятии от казахстанской стороны приняли участие Посол Казахстана в КСА Берик Арын, руководители и представители АО НК «KAZAKH INVEST», Международного финансового центра «Астана» и ряда казахстанских туристических компаний. 

Саудовская сторона была представлена Председателем ТПП Восточной провинции А.Альхальди, заместителем председателя ТПП Эр-Рияда,  членами совета директоров обеих палат, а также руководителями и представителями более 80 различных саудовских компаний, в т.ч. таких крупных как «Zamil Group», «Al Hokair Holding Group», «Al Fanar Company», «Arab Petroleum Investment Corp.», «Awad Group», «Saudi Fund for Development» и др.

В своей приветственной речи Б.Арын ознакомил участников с основными экономическими достижениями Казахстана, а также рассказал о проводимой работе по созданию благоприятного бизнес-климата для иностранных инвесторов.

Казахстанский дипломат, касаясь развития двустороннего сотрудничества, отметил, что в этом году исполнилось 25 лет с момента установления дипотношений между двумя странами и за эти годы между двумя странами налажен конструктивный политический диалог. В то же время, он обратил внимание на имеющийся «большой пробел» в торгово-экономическом взаимодействии, где за последние годы наблюдается падение объемов взаимной торговли.

В этой связи он призвал саудовских бизнесменов активизировать работу в данном направлении путем их участия в различных инвестиционных проектах в Казахстане, налаживания контактов с казахстанскими партнерами и т.д. В данном контексте он пригласил саудовских предпринимателей посетить Казахстан и на местах ознакомиться с имеющимися возможностями.

С тематическими презентациями выступили также члены казахстанской делегации. Руководство «KAZAKH INVEST» ознакомило участников с предпринимаемыми Правительством РК мерами по привлечению инвестиций в различные сектора экономики страны. Было отмечено, что создаются все условия для иностранных бизнесменов по ведению легкого и прозрачного бизнеса в Казахстане, как либерализация визового режима, защита прав инвесторов, снижение административных барьеров и т.д.

Подробно было рассказано о развитии агропромышленного комплекса Казахстана, в том числе о больших инвестиционных возможностях в сфере сельского хозяйства. 

Кроме того, казахстанские представители подробно ознакомили саудовских бизнесменов с деятельностью МФЦА и развитием в его рамках сектора исламского финансирования, отметив, что Центр является эксклюзивным финансовым хабом не только для Центральной Азии, Европы и других регионов, но и для стран Ближнего Востока. 

Участникам были также презентованы туристические возможности в Казахстане. Казахстанские туркомпании отметили, что туристический кластер страны имеет большой потенциал для развития и способен предоставить практически все виды туризма: от экологического до делового.

В целом, семинар показал значительный интерес участников к работе с Казахстаном. Так, например, один из выступавших – основатель одной из крупнейших саудовских компаний «Zamil Group» Абдулрахман Замиль высоко оценил принятые правительством Казахстана шаги по реформированию экономики страны и созданию благоприятных условий для иностранных инвесторов. Он призвал саудовские компании к активному участию в инвестпроектах Казахстана, а также предложил установить стратегическое партнерство в данном направлении. 

После завершения семинара между казахстанскими и саудовскими компаниями проведены встречи «B2B», в ходе которых саудовская сторона была ознакомлена с конкретными инвестиционными проектами РК в различных сферах и установлены контакты для дальнейшей координации совместных действий по заинтересовавшим саудовскую сторону направлениям.  

Добавлено : 24.12.2019, 18:00, Изменено : 24.12.2019, 18:00