​Kairat Abdrakhmanov: Kazakh-British relations demonstrate high dynamics and reached the level of strategic partnership

The Minister of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan, Kairat Abdrakhmanov, held a meeting in Astana on May 24 with the Permanent Under-Secretary of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office of the United Kingdom, Sir Simon MacDonald.

The Foreign Minister expressed his sincere sympathy to the families of the victims of the terrorist attack in Manchester and handed over a letter of condolences from the President of Kazakhstan, Nursultan Nazarbayev, to the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, Theresa May. The Minister noted that Kazakhstan firmly and resolutely condemns terrorism in all its forms and manifestations and stands for the consistent and practical cooperation of the entire international community in the fight against this evil.

During the meeting, the sides discussed the current state and prospects of bilateral and multilateral cooperation on a wide range of issues. The diplomats positively evaluated the results of the joint work on implementing the agreements reached during President Nazarbayev's visit to London in November 2015.

Kazakhstan's foreign policy attaches considerable attention to the British track, which is demonstrated by strong partnerships not only at the highest level, but also between businesses, academic circles and governmental bodies of the two states. The two countries are driven by a mutual desire to further strengthen partnership in bilateral and multilateral formats.

The sides touched upon the preparation for the EXPO 2017 international exhibition, which will launch in Astana on 10 June. The British side reaffirmed its readiness to participate in the exhibition at a high level, noting that it is an excellent opportunity for London to show the world its latest technological and innovative developments in the field of energy.

“We will be happy to welcome a representative of the British delegation this summer in Astana and are looking forward to the wide and productive participation of British companies in the exhibition,” Mr. Abdrakhmanov noted. The British pavilion at the EXPO 2017 will be one of the largest and will be presented in the form of a yurt.

“One of the main areas of Kazakhstan's foreign policy is attracting foreign investment and supporting domestic exporters. In this regard, it is necessary to consider diversifying bilateral cooperation from the traditionally dominant spheres of oil, gas and mining industry to agriculture, healthcare and technological innovation,” Mr. Abdrakhmanov emphasized, noting the importance of taking into account the forthcoming UK exit from the European Union in the process of planning further bilateral trade and economic cooperation.

The Minister also proposed the establishment of a regular exchange of experience between the two foreign ministries in order to disseminate best practices and enhance the diplomats' professionalism.

The meeting also appraised the role of the Astana Process on Syria, which the global community considers as an important and real chance to end the violence in the country, in addition to the main UN-led Geneva talks.

The sides also discussed Kazakhstan's activities in the UN Security Council and its preparation for the chairmanship in the main UN political body in January 2018. The head of the Kazakh foreign ministry noted the country's responsible approach and intentions to further promote regional interests of Central Asian countries, focusing on assistance in stabilizing the situation in Afghanistan.

Created at : 25.05.2017, 09:50, Updated at : 25.05.2017, 09:50

​К.Абдрахманов: казахстанско-британские отношения демонстрируют высокую динамику и вышли на уровень стратегического партнерства

24 мая с.г. в Астане Министр иностранных дел Казахстана Кайрат Абдрахманов провел встречу с Постоянным секретарем Министерства иностранных дел и по делам Содружества Великобритании Сэром Саймоном Макдональдом.

Казахстанский дипломат высказал слова искреннего сочувствия семьям погибших и пострадавшим от взрывов на стадионе «Манчестер Арена» и передал собеседнику письмо Президента Казахстана Нурсултана Назарбаева Премьер-Министру Великобритании Терезе Мэй с выражениями соболезнования. Было отмечено, что Казахстан твердо и решительно осуждает терроризм в любых формах и проявлениях и выступает за последовательное и практическое сотрудничество всего международного сообщества в борьбе с этим злом.

В ходе встречи собеседники рассмотрели состояние и перспективы двустороннего и многостороннего сотрудничества по широкому спектру вопросов. Дипломаты позитивно оценили результаты совместной работы по реализации договоренностей, достигнутых в ходе визита Президента Н. Назарбаева в Лондон в ноябре 2015 года.

Британскому вектору во внешней политике Казахстана уделяется значительное внимание, свидетельством чего являются крепкие партнерские связи не только на высшем уровне, но и между деловыми кругами, академическими сообществами и ведомствами двух государств. Двумя странами движет обоюдное стремление к дальнейшему укреплению партнерства в двустороннем и многостороннем форматах.

Во время беседы была затронута тема подготовки к международной выставке «ЭКСПО-2017», которая откроется в Астане менее чем через месяц. Британская сторона вновь подтвердила готовность принять участие в выставке на высоком уровне, отметив, что это прекрасная возможность для Лондона продемонстрировать миру самые последние технологические и инновационные разработки в области энергетики.

«Будем рады приветствовать представительную британскую делегацию этим летом в Астане и надеемся на широкое и продуктивное участие британских компаний в работе выставки», ­– отметил К. Абдрахманов. Как известно, британский павильон на «ЭКСПО–2017» будет одним из самых крупных и будет выполнен в форме юрты.

«Одним из основных направлений казахстанской внешней политики является привлечение иностранных инвестиций и поддержка отечественных экспортеров. В этой связи необходимо рассмотреть вопросы диверсификации двустороннего сотрудничества с традиционно доминирующей сферы нефти и газа, горнорудной промышленности в направлении сельского хозяйства, здравоохранения, технологических инноваций», – подчеркнул К. Абдрахманов, также отметив важность учета фактора предстоящего выхода Великобритании из Европейского Союза при планировании дальнейшего двустороннего торгово-экономического сотрудничества.

Министр также предложил наладить регулярный обмен опытом между двумя внешнеполитическими ведомствами в целях распространения лучшей практики и повышения профессионализма дипломатов.

В ходе беседы высоко оценена роль Астанинского процесса по Сирии, который мировое сообщество воспринимает как важный и реальный шанс на прекращение насилия в этой стране в дополнение к основным Женевским переговорам под эгидой ООН.

Собеседники также обсудили деятельность Казахстана в Совете Безопасности ООН и подготовку республики к председательству в главном политическом органе ООН в январе 2018 года. Глава внешнеполитического ведомства РК отметил ответственный подход страны, которая намерена и далее продвигать региональные интересы стран Центральной Азии, акцентируя внимание на содействии в стабилизации ситуации в Афганистане.

Добавлено : 25.05.2017, 09:50, Изменено : 25.05.2017, 09:50