Entry visa information and rules for obtaining visa

Announcement on the extension of visa-free travel to Kazakhstan from January 1, 2017 for the citizens of 45 countries including Japan, can visit Kazakhstan without visa for up to 30 calendar days.

List of countries exempted from visa requirements:

1. Australia

2. Austria

3. Belgium

4. Bulgaria

5. Canada

6. Chile

7. Croatia

8. Cyprus

9. Czech Republic

10. Denmark

11. Estonia

12. Finland

13. France

14. Germany

15. Greece

16. Hungary

17. Iceland

18. Ireland

19. Israel

20. Italy

21. Japan

22. Latvia

23. Lithuania

24. Luxembourg

25. Malaysia

26. Malta

27. Mexico

28. Monaco

29. Netherlands

30. New Zealand

31. Norway

32. Poland

33. Portugal

34. Republic of Korea

35. Romania

36. Singapore

37. Slovakia

38. Slovenia

39. Spain

40. Sweden

41. Switzerland

42. Turkey

43. United Arab Emirates

44. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

45. United States of America

We also inform that the internal affairs bodies of the Republic of Kazakhstan exercise the issuance of "business" category single entry visas for a period of up to thirty calendar days based upon the application for extension of a stay in the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan exceeding thirty calendar days for business purposes.


To obtain a visa, all applicants are required to submit the following documents:

1.Original and a copy of passport

2. One color or black-white 3x4 size photo, which should be stapled to the marked space in the upper right-hand corner of the Application Form

3. A Written form (or Recommendation Letter) with a request to issue a visa, including a trip purpose

4. A completed visa Application form (sample is here)

Visas fees:

- single visa and its extension (except for tourist and transit visas) – 80$

- multiple visa and its extension (except for tourist and transit visas) – for 1 year 200$

- tourist visa (single) – 60$

- tourist visa (multiple) – 90$

- transit visa (single) – 20$

- transit visa (multiple) – 90$

Visa expenses for non-Japanese citizens should be paid by the following bank transfer to the Embassy of Kazakhstan in Japan:

Beneficiary's name: Embassy of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Beneficiary's account number: 3903002

Bank account: The Bank of Tokyo –Mitsubishi UFJ, LTD.,

Shibuya – Meijidori Branch

(Swift code: BOTKJPJT)

  • Attention:

The following documents are not accepted:

  • A photocopy of passport;
  • A passport without at least two clear pages for visa issuing. (Your passport must be valid for at least 90 days longer than the validity of the requested visa);
  • Application forms sent by fax or e-mail;
  • Application forms sent by postal forms without self-addressed envelope with prepaid postage or completed express mail;
  • Any documents sent to Honorary Consulate in Osaka, Nagoya, Fukuoka. (Honorary Consulates in Osaka, Nagoya, Fukuoka do not accept any documents on Consular Issues);
  • Application forms filled in incorrectly or inadequately.
  • Embassy of the Republic of Kazakhstan is not responsible for any loss or delays incurred for shipments consigned to delivery services

    Selection of visas for foreign citizens wishing to visit Kazakhstan (you will be directed to the site of the MInistry of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan)

    The Republic of Kazakhstan is introducing a procedure for obtaining a single entry visa for foreigners in electronic format from January 1, 2019. Foreigners can enter/exit the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan using a valid electronic visa only through the checkpoints of international airports of Astana and Almaty. Tourist electronic visas are issued to citizens of 117 states, business and medical treatment visas - 23 states (Japan is not included).

    Created at : 16.03.2017, 17:00, Updated at : 16.03.2017, 17:00