Kazakhstan and Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization Adopt Joint Statement

NUR-SULTAN, August 29, 2019 – The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Beibut Atamkulov, received the laureate of the Nazarbayev Prize for a Nuclear-Weapon-Free World and Global Security, Executive Secretary of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO), Dr. Lassina Zerbo.

Atamkulov congratulated Dr. Zerbo on the honorary award and noted his personal contribution to advancing the nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation process, his achievements in maintaining the global system of international security and expressed his thanks for the consistent support to Kazakhstan's nuclear disarmament initiatives.

Dr. Zerbo expressed his gratitude to the Kazakh side and personally to First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan - Elbasy Nursultan Nazarbayev for decisive actions aimed at promoting issues related to strengthening international security. Dr. Zerbo further noted the leadership of Kazakhstan in the field of disarmament and non-proliferation and praised cooperation between Kazakhstan and the CTBTO. In addition, he expressed his intention to support the further deepening of interaction in every possible way and to assist in promoting Kazakhstan's anti-nuclear initiatives.

Following the meeting, the Foreign Minister of Kazakhstan and Dr. Zerbo adopted a Joint Statement in support of the early entry into force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty.

Created at : 29.08.2019, 15:35, Updated at : 29.08.2019, 15:35