International Exhibitions Bureau

The International Exhibitions Bureau (BIE) was founded in 1928 in order to  overlook the implementation of the provisions of the Paris Convention for international world fairs and issues of their organization. The first World Universal Exhibition was held in London in 1851. Currently, this international organization includes 168 countries. Each country assigns up to 3 representatives to the BIE, the headquarters of which locates in Paris. Kazakhstan became a member of the BIE in 1997.

The BIE is the supreme organ of the General Assembly that meets twice a year. It is attended by delegates appointed by the governments of member states. At the General Assembly the wide range of issues is discussed such as the implementation of the Paris Convention, the admission of new members, the organization's budget, the rules of registration, classification and organization of world fairs as well as the reports of the Secretary General, host countries and BIE executive bodies. The BIE General Assembly also discusses the issues related to the election of President, Vice-President (Chairman), Secretary-General and members of the BIE committees.

The BIE President is elected for two years and he is eligible for re-election for another two years’ period. He is responsible for carrying out the representative  functions of the BIE and holding the meetings of the General Assembly. The current President of the BIE is Ferdinand Nagy (Romania).

The main organizational work is carried out by the Secretariat headed by the BIE Secretary General, who coordinates the work of the BIE executive bodies, prepares meetings of the General Assembly, proceeds applications for the arrangement of exhibitions. He also evaluates submitted projects as well as analyzes the work of the exhibitions passed. Since 1994, the Secretary-General is Vicente Gonzalez Loscertales (Spain).

Vice-Presidents of the BIE are also chairmen of its four structural committees. They are elected for two years and may be re-elected for an additional term of two years.

The structure of the BIE governing bodies consists of the Executive Committee, the Rules Committee, the Administration and Budget Committee and the Information and Communications Committee. Kazakhstan became a member of the Committee on Information and Communications on the 146th BIE General Assembly, held in November 2009. This Committee also involves Monaco (Chairman), Belgium, Mongolia, Philippines, the Dominican Republic, Slovenia, El Salvador and Togo.

The Executive Committee’s general function is the implementation of the General Assembly’s orders. This Committee also proceeds the applications for the arrangement of exhibitions. It includes representatives of 12 countries, elected by the General Assembly. The current chairman of the committee is Jai-Chul Choi (Korea).

The Rules Committee examines the issues in terms of the exhibitions rules and regulations (construction, customs duties, insurance, registration fees, etc.). These issues are then submitted to the General Assembly. In general the Rules Committee is responsible for the creation of the BIE internal legislation. Committee consists of the representatives of 12 states. Its chairman is Steen Christensen (Denmark).

The Administration and Budget Committee monitors organizational and financial issues of the BIE, as well as the formation of the annual budget. This Committee consists of the representatives of 9 states. The Committee’s chairman is Carl B. Roberts (Antigua and Barbuda).

The Information and Communications Committee deals with the issues related to promoting the BIE image and organization of exhibitions. It includes representatives of 9 states. Its chairman is Sophie Sevenoaks (Monaco).

The BIE major activity is to arrange world universal and specialized exhibitions. Universal Exhibition is held every five years without a specific subject, while specialized exhibitions need this subject in order to highlight an exhibition’s theme.

Created at : 4.07.2014, 00:21, Updated at : 4.07.2014, 00:21